Skip to main content

Music Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Music Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Department of Music develops critical thinking in music and provides training at the undergraduate and graduate levels for careers in performance and music education. Degrees are offered in three major concentrations: Music Performance, Music Education, and Liberal Studies. Graduate courses are offered in music literature, theory, conducting, instruction, composition, ensembles, and education.  Music courses are also offered as part of the general education core.

Accrediting body:

The APSU Department of Music is a fully-accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Music.

Degrees offered:

Bachelor of Music: Music Education (Choral/K-12 General Music) Concentration
Bachelor of Music: Music Education (Instrumental/K-12 General Music) Concentration
Bachelor of Music: Guitar Performance Concentration
Bachelor of Music: Instrumental Performance Concentration
Bachelor of Music: Keyboard Performance Concentration
Bachelor of Music: Vocal Performance Concentration
Bachelor of Music: Composition Concentration
Bachelor of Science: Liberal Studies Concentration
Bachelor of Arts: Liberal Studies Concentration

Graduate Performance Certificate

Master of Music  (M.M.)
Concentrations: Music Education, Music Education Concentration (Initial Licensure), Choral Conducting, Instrumental Conducting, Vocal Performance, Instrumental Performance

Undergraduate minors include: Minor in Music and Arts Entrepreneurship Minor

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • Musicology / Analysis
  • Keyboard
  • Instrumental
  • Band / Jazz / Instrumental Conducting
  • Vocal / Choral Conducting
  • Music Education (including dissertations for graduate research)
  • Music Appreciation
  • Ethnomusicology

Focus Areas:

  • Ethnomusicology
  • Music Education
  • Music Technology (monitor for recent developments)

Related Subject Areas

  • Education
  • Psychology / Counseling (Music Therapy)
  • Technology
  • Business (Recording Industry)
  • Theatre (Opera)

Languages:

The majority of items will be purchased in English , but there are some vocal pieces collected in German, French, and Latin

Geographical Emphasis:

United States and Europe; as well as regions studied in the area of ethnomusicology (ex: Africa, Caribbean, South Asia).

Chronological Emphasis:

Pre 1900 to present

Noted Publishers:

Harrassowitz, Theodore Front Music, and A-R Editions, Inc.

Preferred Dates of Publication:

2008 to present

Types of Resources:

Monographs, scores, reference materials, videos

Notes and Other Considerations:

  • May purchase scores with older imprints as needed.
  • Literature about popular music is collected at a general level; it is not currently a major component  of the Music Department curriculum.

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews Online, Resources for College Libraries, Online Resources for Music Scholars, and Gramaphone for recordings

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
M1-5000 Music (General)  
M6-175.5 One solo instrument 3
M177-990 Two or more solo instruments, chamber music 3
M1000-1366 Orchestral Music, Band 3
M1495-1853 Secular vocal, choral. Songs 3
M1999-2199 Sacred vocal , orations, hymns, liturgy 3
ML1-3930 Literature on Music (General)  
ML55-89 Librettos. Texts. Scenarios 3
ML93-96.5 Aspects of the field of music as a whole 3
ML100-109 Dictionaries. Encyclopedias 2
ML112.8-158.8 Bibliography 2
ML159-458 History & Criticism of Music, Biography 3
ML459-1380 Instrumental (History and Criticism) 3
ML1400-3275 Vocal history & criticism 3
ML3400-3776 Dance, popular and national music history & criticism 2
ML3800-3923 Philosophical and societal aspects of music. Physics and acoustics of music. Physiological and Psychological aspects of music. 3
ML3928-3930 Literature for children 1
MT1-960 Musical instruction and study  
MT40-67 Composition. Elements and techniques of music 3
MT68 Improvisation. Accompaniment. Transposition 3
MT70-74 Instrumentation and orchestration 3
MT90-146 Analysis and appreciation of musical works 3
MT150 Audio-visual aids 1
MT155 Music theory for children 3
MT170-810 Instrumental techniques 3
MT820-915 Singing and vocal technique 3
MT918-948 School music 3
MT955-960 Musical Theater 2

 

Contact Information

Department of Music

Library Liaison:
Michael Hooper

Faculty Representative:
Dr. Ann Silverberg

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

Music Liaison

Michael Hooper's picture
Michael Hooper
Contact:
Library 117
931-221-7092

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.