LibGuides: Engineering Technology Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science and Technology
*provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from hundreds of sources

*covers engineering, industrial arts, chemistry, physics, and more

*retrospective coverage as far back as 1983, full-text since 1997
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Computer Science and Applied Sciences such as engineering technology
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.

CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection.

Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Index for peer-reviewed journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and published standards in the areas of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics
APSU does not have a subscription for full-text access to the journals provided in this resource. However, the search index can be used for free and full-text access to open access items will be available. Unavailable materials could be provided in other library databases or requested through inter-library loan.

The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a free search interface that provides access to scientific and technical content from the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology), and other publishing partners. The content of IEEE Xplore is technical in nature and will appeal to researchers working in technical fields, particularly electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science.
Science Direct College Edition Journal Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals covering Social Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Science, and Engineering
*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases

Welcome to the Research Guide for Engineering Technology

Engineering Technology Resources for Research

Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science and Technology
*provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from hundreds of sources

*covers engineering, industrial arts, chemistry, physics, and more

*retrospective coverage as far back as 1983, full-text since 1997
Cabells Journal Directories (Journalytics and Predatory Reports) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly journals with publication information, submission experience data, and peer review indicators. Also included is Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors.
Cabells Journalytics, our searchable database of information and insightful metrics for verified, reputable journals, covers 18 academic disciplines and provides intelligence on more than 11,000 international scholarly publications.

Cabells Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors, currently lists more than 13,000 deceitful publications. Through continued partnerships with major academic publishers, journal editors, scholarly societies, accreditation agencies, and other independent databases,

Cabells provides accurate, up-to-date information about academic journals to more than 750 universities worldwide.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Computer Science and Applied Sciences such as engineering technology
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines.

CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection.

Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals.
eBook Collection: EBSCO (EngineeringCore Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 5,600 ebooks covering general Engineering topics
This subscription collection contains more than 5,600 titles covering general engineering topics such as biotechnology, civil engineering, electrical engineering, energy sciences, industrial safety, material science, optics and photonics, project management, robotics, etc.

With this collection, professionals can broaden their knowledge of the engineering industry to support future decision making, facilitate product design, and implement industry best practices.
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1000 eBooks covering a variety of disciplines in technology, computer science, and engineering
IEEE and John Wiley & Sons, Inc., have partnered to offer online
access to approximately 1,060 eBooks via the IEEE Xplore digital library.
The IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library focuses on content areas that lead today’s
cutting-edge technologies and help set standards for future advancements.

APSU access includes full-text for all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2022 (with more than 67% of titles published since 2007).

The collection of titles includes practical handbooks, introductory and advanced
texts, reference works, and professional books with an emphasis on leading areas of research, such as:
• Aerospace
• Bioengineering
• Communication, networking, and broadcasting
• Components, circuits, devices, and systems
• Computing and processing (includes hardware and software)
• Engineered materials, dielectrics, and plasmas
• Fields, waves, and electromagnetics
• General topics for engineers (math, science, and engineering)
• Geoscience
• Photonics and electro-optics
• Power, energy, and industry applications
• Robotics and control systems
• Signal processing and analysis
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Index for peer-reviewed journals, transactions, magazines, conference proceedings, and published standards in the areas of electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics
APSU does not have a subscription for full-text access to the journals provided in this resource. However, the search index can be used for free and full-text access to open access items will be available. Unavailable materials could be provided in other library databases or requested through inter-library loan.

The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a free search interface that provides access to scientific and technical content from the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology), and other publishing partners. The content of IEEE Xplore is technical in nature and will appeal to researchers working in technical fields, particularly electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.
Science Direct College Edition Journal Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals covering Social Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Science, and Engineering
*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles
SciFinder-n (SciFinder Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains a wide variety of content from journal articles to information on chemical structures, properties, and reactions
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure).

Log-in to SciFinder-n
New Users: Register for a SciFinder Account
You must use an apsu.edu e-mail address and create a username and password. Your account will not be activated until you click on a confirmation link that is sent to your e-mail.
What's in Scifinder?
- Chemical Substances (CAS REGISTRY)
- References (CAplus)
- Reactions (CASREACT)
- Chemical Suppliers (CHEMCATS)
- Regulated Chemicals (CHEMLIST)
- Markush (MARPAT; Substances in patents)
- use the Structure Drawing Editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions
- Created by CAS (a division of the American Chemical Society)
- Serves as an electronic version of Chemical Abstracts providing references from more than 9500 journals
- Contains patents from over 50 patent-issuing organizations
- Contains the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information
The new SciFinder-n interface provides the following features:
- A brand new streamlined interface providing easier navigation and time savings
- Improved reference searching with new relevancy ranking and autosuggest
- Multi-tab browsing and automatic User Login recognition
- Simultaneously explore both text and structure in a single search
- Automatically saves and stores all search history for quick and easy recall
- Includes MethodsNow providing access to step by step synthetic procedures, extracted and summarized
- Includes PatentPak providing access straight to full-text patents and hard-to-find-substances with a single click
- Citation mapping that quickly identifies important research and graphically displaying references
- Updated retrosynthesis planning capabilities
Helpful links for using SciFinder-n:
- Access the SciFinder-n quick start guide for a step-by-step journey into the product
- Watch our video collection of SciFinder-n How-To videos
- Migrate your current saved answers and alerts from the previous interface (SciFinder Web)
Alumni do not qualify for SciFinder access. Any use of SciFinder for commercial purposes under your institution's license is prohibited. Please remember to logout from SciFinder Scholar as soon as you have finished with your research.
Springer Online Journals (LYRASIS Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals from science related fields, philosophy, and business
The Springer eJournal collection includes around 2000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science, technology, and medicine
*Lists citations for millions of articles and full-text from over 200 periodicals

*Covers science, technology, medicine, and humanities

*Contains articles from 1996 to date

Contact Librarian

Scott Shumate

he/him

Email Me

Contact:

Library 118A

931-221-6288

Subjects: Astronomy, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Engineering, Mathematics and Statistics, Mathematics Education, Physics

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request