LibGuides: English 1020: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Key Resource Try These First!

Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and ebooks from the Gale Virtual Reference Library can be searched individually or simultaneously from within this database.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.

*Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline

*Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Literature biography, criticism, and journal articles
*Information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more

*Access to full text articles and abstracts published in more than 260 academic literary journals

*Provides access to literary criticism once contained in the Contemporary Literary Criticism database

*5000+ Work Overviews, consisting of plot summaries and explications of prominent works

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Search Strategy

How to begin?

What is the title of the literary work (e.g., poem)?
Who is the author of the work that you wish to research?
What is the theme or other aspect of literature about which you plan to write?

Once you know the above information, then you are ready to search the article database Literature Resource Center.

For example, you might be interested in writing about how music contributes to The Tempest by William Shakespeare. This is exactly what Andrew Green did in his article entitled "Sound and music in The Tempest: Andrew Green discusses the contribution of music to the impact of The Tempest" that was published in The English Review, volume 13, issue 1, September, 2002.

Search terms to use in the database include "music" and "Tempest" and "Shakespeare."

Check out the Purdue OWL Online Writing Lab Literature Topics and Research for more information and examples about the literature research writing process.

Literature Resources for Research

Artemis (Gale) Literary Resources
Cross searches Literature Resource Center along with other Gale literature databases, including Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Author Series, and MLA Bibliography.
more...less...
LitFinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, MLA INternational Bibliography, and ebooks from the Gale Virtual Reference Library can be searched individually or simultaneously from within this database.

*Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline

*Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes

Additional Features of the Artemis Search interface include:

Term Clusters: See topics that commonly occur in relation to your search term. Term Clusters help uncover hidden connections and can be a helpful starting point in the early stages of research.

Term Frequency: See the frequency of your search term(s) in the content over time. This helps link the importance of particular concepts during given periods. Now, users can ask new questions of historical data, e.g., Is there a connection between “bread” and “revolution”?

Search Assist: Detailed subject indexing aids content discovery across collections, drawing connections that simple search and retrieve cannot achieve—revealing related concepts and terms to expand thinking and exploration.

Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Literature
*brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information

*begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights

*collection includes plays by writers of Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian, and Malaysian ancestry

BBC Shakespeare Plays

Streaming video for 37 Shakespeare plays

After clicking on the access link above, click the light blue box labeled "BBC Shakespeare Plays", The " to see a drop down menu containing a list of available videos.

When the BBC first undertook this six-year project, it became the most ambitious undertaking ever attempted on film. This was the first time in the 400 years since they were written that all 37 plays would be preserved on tape. Now they are available to watch online in streaming video. Produced by Cedric Messina and Dr. Jonathan Miller, it includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent. This resource includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent, John Gielgud, Ben Kingsley, Claire Bloom, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York and Derek Jacobi. Closed Captions are available for each video.

Permanent links to each individual video are available below (remote access ready). Click on the title to watch the video:

ALL'S WELL THAT ENDS WELL
Michael Hordern, Pippa Guard

ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA
Jane Lapotaire

AS YOU LIKE IT
Ian Charleson, Angela Down, Celia Johnson

THE COMEDY OF ERRORS
Roger Daltry

CORIOLANUS
Alan Howard, Irene Worth

CYMBELINE
Claire Bloom, Helen Mirren

HAMLET
Derek Jacobi, Patrick Stewart, Eric Porter

HENRY IV PART I
Jon Finch, Anthony Quayle

HENRY IV PART II
Jon Finch, Anthony Quayle

HENRY V
David Gwillim

HENRY VI PART I
Peter Benson, Trevor Peacock

HENRY VI PART II
Peter Benson, Julia Foster

HENRY VI PART III
Peter Benson, Bernard Hill

HENRY VIII
John Stride, Julian Glover

JULIUS CAESAR
Richard Pasco, Keith Michell

KING JOHN
Claire Bloom, Mary Morris

KING LEAR
Michael Hodern, John Shrapnel

LOVE'S LABOUR'S LOST
David Warner, Jenny Agutter

MACBETH
Nicol Williamson, Jane Lapotaire

MEASURE FOR MEASURE
Kate Nelligan

MERCHANT OF VENICE
Warren Mitchell, Gemma Jones

THE MERRY WIVES OF WINDSOR
Ben Kingsley, Richard Griffiths

MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM
Helen Mirren, Peter McEnery

MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING
Robert Lindsay, Cherie Lunghi

OTHELLO
Anthony Hopkins, Bob Hoskins

PERICLES
Mike Gwilym, Amanda Redman

RICHARD II
Derek Jacobi, Sir John Gielgud

RICHARD III
Michael Byrne, Brian Protheroe

ROMEO AND JULIET
Alan Rickman, Sir John Gielgud

THE TAMING OF THE SHREW
John Cleese

THE TEMPEST
Christopher Guard, Michael Hordern

TIMON OF ATHENS
Jonathan Pryce, John Shrapnel

TITUS ANDRONICUS
Eileen Atkins, Trevor Peacock

TROILUS AND CRESSIDA
Anton Lesser, Suzanne Burden|

TWELFTH NIGHT
Alec McCowen, Felicity Kendall

TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA
John Hudson, Joanne Pearce

THE WINTER'S TALE
Jeremy Kemp, Margaret Tyzack

Black Drama This link opens in a new window
1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

*Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print and each play is extensively indexed
Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new window
Literature, African American Studies
*brings together 80,000 pages and an estimated 6,200 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present
*materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors
*Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before
Books & Authors (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Book suggestions, reviews, and author biographies
*Book suggestions for more than 146,000 titles in a continually growing list
*54,000 authors are represented via biographies and other resources
*Locate and read book reviews or see lists of Award Winners in various categories for each year
Cambridge Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference materials related to Shakespeare, including his complete works, historical and contextual information, guides and annotated editions, and multimedia resources.
Cambridge Shakespeare includes:

*The complete bestselling New Cambridge Shakespeare series (41 volumes)
*The New Cambridge Shakespeare: The Early Quartos series (7 volumes)
Shakespeare in Production (14 volumes)
*The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare; over 300 transhistorical, international and interdisciplinary essays on Shakespeare and contexts
*A new version of Emma Smith’s The Cambridge Shakespeare Guide, exclusive to Cambridge Shakespeare
*Multimedia resources for each work, curated by the Folger Shakespeare Library
*The platform will be updated with new content as soon as it is published for no additional cost, ensuring access to the most up-to-date editions

Features & Functionality:

*A curated resource page for each of Shakespeare's works, including:
*A concise guide to the work by Emma Smith
*Introductions
*Annotated edition(s) of the text (New Cambridge Shakespeare, Shakespeare in Production, The Early Quartos)
*Relevant critical essays
*Resources from the Folger Shakespeare Library
*Ability to switch between explanatory, performance-based and textual notes
*User friendly navigation and full-text search
*Ability to toggle notes on and off, presenting an uncluttered and customizable reading experience
*Ability to view and download content in both HTML and PDF formats
*Extensive cross-referencing within and between Shakespeare’s works
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Literary Biographies
*profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights

*contains Dictionary of Literary Biography (vols. 1-347) through 2009

*DLB essays outline the lives and careers of authors in addition to summarizing the critical response to their work
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized materials from the eighteenth century
*contains 26 million pages of text from more than 136,000 titles (155,000 volumes)

*contains Canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles

*contains materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America from 1473-1700
*contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America

*Date range for publications is 1473-1700.

*includes prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources

*Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Films On Demand (TBR Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos on various topics
*32 total videos available
*14 video titles available on various topics from American & British literature

*15 video titles available on various topics from history, religion, and theater

These titles were purchased for APSU by the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) starting in 2005.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Master index to the major literature products published by Gale.
*Gale's Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers.

*It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.

*The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings. You can use Gale's Literary Index as a starting point to locate authors and titles covered in any volumes of the sources list in the help section of this resource.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Online This link opens in a new window
Latin American language, history, culture & politics
*lists journal articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works

*covers topics in Latin American language, history, culture and politics

*covers items published from 1936 to the present
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Humanities
*Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

*The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.

*Coverage dates: Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1984+, “select” Full Text 1994+

*Subjects Covered:
Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Literature biography, criticism, and journal articles
*Information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more

*Access to full text articles and abstracts published in more than 260 academic literary journals

*Provides access to literary criticism once contained in the Contemporary Literary Criticism database

*5000+ Work Overviews, consisting of plot summaries and explications of prominent works
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Poems, stories, and essays
*Contains many full text poems, short stories, and essays

*Contains author biographies, explanations of works and more
international in coverage
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Literature, linguistics, and folklore
*Lists international journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies

*Covers topics in modern language, literature, linguistics and folklore

*Covers items published from 1926 to the present
North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window
Contains over 250 full-text plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century
*Brings together the full text of 200 plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century

*Many of the plays are previously unpublished or hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible.

*Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.

*Begins in the early 1930s and progresses through the 20th century

*The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada
Theatre in Context Collection This link opens in a new window
Theatre history through reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards and scrapbooks,
Formerly titled North American Theatre Online.

Experience the history of the theatre through 40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources that offer a glimpse into the productions of the past.

Theatre in Context Collection helps students of theatre, literature, and history draw connections between the people who brought key productions and dramatic stories to life—from the director, to the actor, to the design team. With Theatre in Context Collection, students can understand the historical significance of certain plays, their popularity, and their role in shaping dialogue outside of the world of theatre—creating a complete picture of life on the historical stage.

The collection includes 40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources, including:

*Essential reference works that catalogue historic performances from the Broadway stage
*Archival playbills that document the major players of the day
*Original designs that allow you to reimagine the set
*Decades worth of periodicals that provide contemporary reactions to performances
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
Literature, Women's studies, History
*Provides the full text of 1,500 plays written from colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada

*Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays

*The database covers the campaign for voting rights, including propaganda plays, as well as the growing crusade for women’s access to higher education and inclusion in various professions
Play Index This link opens in a new window
Theatre, Literature
*Search over 30,000 plays written from antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present

*Includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama

*Search for plays by title; author; subject, style, genre and cast type
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of more than 250 complete plays
*Includes more than 500 hours of streaming video

*Contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries

*Users may browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

APSU Writing Center located in the Library

The Writing Center is located on the main floor of the Library, just past the Research Assistance Desk.

The Center provides FREE writing support to APSU students. Tutors work one-on-one with students on any paper.

APSU Writing Center
Visit the website to schedule an appointment with a tutor or submit a paper for online review.