LibGuides: Public Management Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences
*Lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*Covers social science

*Covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1984, and full-text since 1994
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases

Welcome to the Research Guide for Public Management

Public Management Resources for Research

Annual Reviews (Current Editions & Electronic Back Volume Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bio-medical, Physical, and Social Sciences (including Economics)
*content spans the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences (including economics)

*Recent editions of Annual Reviews (2009-2019) are provided as well as editions from the Annual Reviews Electronic Back Volume Collection (EBVC).

*Content dates range from 1932-2019
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.
Science Direct College Edition Journal Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals covering Social Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Science, and Engineering
*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences
*Lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*Covers social science

*Covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1984, and full-text since 1994
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All sub disciplines of sociology
*Features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus

*Contains informative abstracts for more than 590 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895

*Contains full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals

*Also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers
WestlawNext (Campus Research) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legal subjects, including laws and cases
NOTE: Pop-up blockers may need to be disabled for downloading and printing

*Includes federal and state laws and court cases

*Covers laws, cases, and other legal materials

*Includes federal cases 1789 to present; Tenn cases 1945 to present

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of Electronic Books on various subjects
*The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection is comprised of all the electronic titles from the publisher ABC-CLIO for which Austin Peay State University has purchased access.

*The "Search" option in the upper-left enables you to search through the text in all the listed volumes.

*You can also can click on any individual title to browse the contents or conduct a search.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects
*premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources

*covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects

*covers items published from 1980-present
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects
*contains indexing for 8,200 publications

*contains full text for more than 4,650 titles

*PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over 100 journals
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic citations from 13,000 journals
*ArticleFirst contains bibliographic citations describing items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals.

*Subjects Covered: Most subjects

*Dates Covered: 1990 to present
Cambridge University Press Journals (Full Collection) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 400 full-text, peer-reviewed journals from a wide range of subject areas
Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of high-quality academic content across Cambridge Core. They currently publish more than 420 peer-reviewed academic journals.

As one of the largest and most prestigious academic publishers in the world, CUP is widely respected as a global leader in publishing in subjects as diverse as astronomy, Shakespeare studies, economics, mathematics and politics. Reflecting the latest research from a broad sweep of subjects, their content is accessible worldwide – both in print and online.

Cambridge Core provides access to unique, scholarly content published by Cambridge University Press, in one user-friendly and fully searchable online platform.
APSU authors can publish their articles Open Access at no cost in Cambridge gold and hybrid journals. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information.
College (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High School and college level research on all topics with multimedia
Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current issues and news topics
CQ Researcheris an award winning publication that’s been around for more than 90 years. It provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research

*contains articles reviewing the history, statistics, and pro/con viewpoints of current-interest topics

*covers a wide variety of topics and the Issue Tracker feature allows you to track the progress of an issue through several decades

*articles published 1923 to present
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Search more than 130 million publications and 12 million datasets – contextualized with linked funding, publications, patents, clinical trials, and policy documents
Dimensions is a citation index that can be used as an alternative resource to Web of Science. Dimensions is a linked research knowledge system that re-imagines discovery and access to research. Developed by Digital Science in collaboration with over 100 leading research organizations around the world, Dimensions brings together grants, publications, citations, alternative metrics, clinical trials, patents and policy documents to deliver a platform that enables users to find and access the most relevant information faster, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy. It contains:

Powerful search features: Full-text search and dedicated filters for researchers, source titles, categories, Open Access, and more. With just one click you can access millions of Open Access publications.

Analytical views: These support the understanding of research trends and research activities. Citation-based indicators and Altmetric Attention Scores also help you to evaluate the impact of the research you view

With a free account you can also: Export data, create favorites, save and organize your research references with the ReadCube Papers, Link publications to your ORCID record, and more
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
All Subjects
*links to journals with free full-text articles

*covers all subjects

*covers articles from the mid-1990's to the present
Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic Book Collection containing over 134,000 titles as of October 2016. All titles can be viewed online and most downloaded to PC, iOS, or Android.
*Formerly known as ebrary, eBook Central (Academic Complete) is a collection of around 134,000 electronic books provided by Felix G. Woodward Library. The content for this collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and all the titles within this collection can be searched simultaneously. Access is provided to these titles through the link above as well as through the Austin Library Catalog.

Most eBook Central titles include unlimited access and can be downloaded by chapter in PDF format or in full through Adobe Digital Editions or apps for iOS and Android. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebrary for more info.

Around 300 titles may have limited access and only allow 1 user to open the the book at a time (download option not available). Follow the guidelines at the bottom of this text for these titles*.

*There is no time limit for reading a limited ebrary book. However, if another user wants to use the book and places it in their queue, it will be passed on to the next user in the queue after 15 minutes of inactivity. (Being active means turning pages, doing full-text searches, making notes, etc).
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Academic Collection, TBR subject collections, and titles formerly in NetLibray COMBINED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 161,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.

*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
Records for over 350,000 doctoral theses from UK institutions (many full text)
A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. The database contains more than 350,000 records, some dating back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects (Encyclopedias & Reference)
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.

*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles on wide range of topics
One-stop source for magazine and journal articles covering general interest topics along with reference, newspaper, and audio content. With millions of articles available, Gale General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

*General OneFile lists citations and summaries of most articles and entire text of many articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. All subjects are covered.

*Periodicals included are:

social science journals
humanities journals
science and technology journals
national news periodicals
general interest magazines
The New York Times
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, and theses on any subject
Use this link to access Google Scholar and links to "Search for Full Text at APSU Library" will be available in the search results.

Features of Google Scholar:

*Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place
*Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications
*Locate the complete document through your library or on the web
*Keep up with recent developments in any area of research
*Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A collaborative partnership of major research institutions and libraries worldwide. It is a shared digital repository of library books and journals converted from print owned by research institutions. Materials in these collections span over several centuries and cover hundreds of languages.
The HathiTrust Digital Library started with the collection of the University of Michigan Library, which was digitized by the Google Books Project. Since then the Digital Library has grown to include collections digitized from other partner libraries and research institutions as well as collections from other digital projects like the Internet Archive.

Full-text access and downloading is available for those items in the public domain, including:

US federal government documents
The following are in the public domain, giving full access:
*Works published in the U.S. prior to 1926
*Works Published outside the U.S. before 1876 (for non-U.S. users, before 1873)
*U.S. federal government documents
*Works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder

The number of works in the HathiTrust Digital Library is large and ever-increasing.

Guest users can download public domain works in their entirety that do not have download restrictions (e.g., works digitized by Internet Archive and certain other organizations, or works that have been opened with a Creative Commons license). Guest users can only download works one page a time if they do have download restrictions (e.g. a work that was digitized by Google). Download format options include PDF; EPUB; Text (.txt); Text (.zip); Image (jpg).

There is significant overlap of volumes in HathiTrust and Google Book Search, and if a work is "full view" in HathiTrust, it is possible that the work can be downloaded from Google Book Search. If you are unable to download a full-view book from HathiTrust, you can select the “Find in Google Books” link to check their website for download options. Google Books has their own copyright policies, so we cannot guarantee that the book will be available for download on their website.
Ingenta This link opens in a new window
All subjects
*Lists citations and summaries from over 18,000 English language periodical articles

*Covers all subjects

*Articles from 1988 to date

*Most articles available by fax at your own expense, or free from another library using the ILL service
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Lens Scholarly Works This link opens in a new window
Discovery and analytics tools providing access to a global corpus of scholarly literature metadata with citation indexing,
The Lens is a citation index that can be used as an alternative resource to Web of Science. A Lens patent search is also available.

Lens serves over 200 million scholarly records, compiled and harmonised from Microsoft Academic, PubMed and Crossref, enhanced with OpenAlex and UnPaywall open access information, CORE full text and links to ORCID. The full scholarly citation graph is provided for the first time as an open public resource.

With over 20 years of development, supported by prominent philanthropic organizations, The Lens ingests, cleans, aggregates, normalizes and serves over 225+ million scholarly works, 127+ million global patent records, and more than 370+ million patent sequences, with rich metadata including the people and institutions that generate this knowledge and the linkages between them, drawn from diverse data sources.
Middle School (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research designed for Junior High and middle school students in grades 6-8
Gale’s Research In Context is a cross-disciplinary resource targeted to Middle Schoolers and supportive to the other ends of the K-12 spectrum spanning literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. Students in grades 6 to 8 will benefit from an interface that delivers the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users combined with the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.
Newsstream: US Southeast This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia
US Southeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scanned, fully searchable pages and article images of The New York Times from 1851 to 4 years from current year. Additional year of content added annually.
The most recent articles from the New York Times (up to present) are available in HTML format through Gale Academic OneFile. This database offers full-page images and article images from the New York Times dating back to 1851 (called New York daily times, 1851-1857). Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. It provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

It also allows searching using the Times Index 1851-1993. Please click on "Topics" tab within the interface.

KNOWN AS “AMERICA’S NEWSPAPER” for more than a century, The New York Times has also commanded international readership. The
world news and personal stories captured by this Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper for nearly 170 years are available online from ProQuest so
researchers anywhere can browse and search the digitized pages of this definitive record of the day.

From the digitized pages of The New York Times explore the:
• Arrival of immigrants to America’s shores
• Rise and fall of global financial markets
• Introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and
medical innovations
• Causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s to the war on terrorism in
this century
• From Beijing to Bangalore, nearly 30,000 graduate works spanning 40
countries have referenced The New York Times since 2000 in the ProQuest
Dissertations & Theses Global database, citing critical findings from its pages
on topics as diverse as music, management, anthropology, computer science,
military history, and more

Curriculum Focus:
• Culture
• Economics
• History
• Human Development
• International Studies
• Journalism
• Media Studies
• Political Science
• Science and Technology
• Sports
OmniFile Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects
*Provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources

*Retrospective coverage as far back as 1982, full-text since 1994

*Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
Online Books Page This link opens in a new window
All subjects
*Website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. It lists over 30,000 free books on the Web.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
Full-text graduate-level theses and dissertations
*OATD is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

*The full text of all papers lives on the original hosting site, usually the repository of the university that granted the degree.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple viewpoints on controversial topics
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pop culture 1980 to present
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, or liberal arts courses.

*Gale InfoTrac PowerPack collection that provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course.

*The date range for this database is 1980 to present.
Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Journals on Current events,
Sports, Science and Health.
Chosen by public library search results, titles are
compiled by what users are searching for
most. Six hundred of the more than 1,000 titles
are recommended in Bowker’s Magazines for
Libraries.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social sciences, arts, humanities
*Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

*Updated continually.
ProQuest Publicly Available Content Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vetted coverage of quality scholarly open access sources including journals, theses, dissertations, and preprints
Most content in Publicly Available Content Database was already included in ProQuest Central and other ProQuest databases. Open access journals in ProQuest databases have been identified primarily based on inclusion in DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) or ROAD. Content from publishers or sources known to be fully publicly available is also included (for example, all titles in ProQuest databases from fully open access publishers such as Hindawi are included, although not every title has yet been listed in DOAJ).

Non-journal content including dissertations, working papers/preprints and conference proceedings are included. However, non-scholarly source types, such as government documents and news, are not included.

In addition, records from preprint repositories such as arXiv have been added to Publicly Available Content Database, with links out to the full text; these records are not in any other ProQuest databases.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.
Springer Nature Online Journals (LYRASIS Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals from science related fields, philosophy, and business
The Springer eJournal collection includes over 2500 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.
APSU is one of the 120 institutions the are participating in the transformative agreement between Springer Nature and Lyrasis. This means means that authors affiliated with APSU are eligible to publish their articles open access with fees covered in hybrid journals across the Springer Nature portfolio. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information.
Tennessee Electronic Library Databases (TEL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases provided by TEL
*Free versions of TEL databases available at http://tntel.tnsos.org
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia
*World Book Online provides access to the following sections:

Early Learning,

World Book Kids,

World Book Discover,

World Book Student,

World Book Advanced,

World Book Timelines,

World Book EBooks,

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search libraries around the world
*WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries near your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many kinds of digital content.

*This edition of WorldCat, provided through OCLC FirstSearch, enables users to search multiple terms in specific fields (title, author, subject, etc.) and limit by characteristics such as format, date, or audience level.

A free version is available at http://www.worldcat.org/
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search multiple library databases, the APSU library catalog, and the WorldCat.org index for journal articles, books, ebooks, government documents, manuscripts, maps, audiovisual materials, and music scores.
WorldCat Discovery is a search system that helps researchers find resources available at APSU Library and in libraries worldwide through a single search. It offers search results similar to what can be found in Google Scholar, but it has more advanced searching features and customized options for APSU library holdings. Features of the service include:

*Single entry point for searching many library databases at once, including the APSU Library catalog (Austin)
*Searches also include results from the WorldCat central index of over 3 billion journal articles and 40 million eBooks (along with many other types of content).
*Results can be limited to only contain materials with print and electronic full-text available from APSU library
*Ability to limit searches by date, source type, subject, and content provider
*Option to limit search results for peer reviewed articles
*The WorldCat provider (OCLC) works with more than 370 publishers and content partners from around the world, including ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale, and Elsevier.

Subject Librarian

Nancy Gibson

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 318

931-221-6166

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Law, Leadership, Political Science, Public Management, Social Work, Sociology

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request