It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children and Youth Transitions from Foster Care by Joseph A. Ferrari (Editor)
Call Number: HV863 .C45 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This new book provides an overview of the federal foster care system and provisions in federal foster care law that are intended to help prepare youth for adulthood.
Transgender 101 by Nicholas M. Teich
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T45 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Written by a social worker, popular educator, and member of the transgender community, this well-rounded resource combines an accessible portrait of transgenderism with a rich history of transgender life and its unique experiences of discrimination.
This practical handbook provides a wealth of suggestions for all child and family social workers in the early stages of their new career. The book provides a 'route map' to support and guide practitioners through the transitional phase from student to employee;
Videos on Social Work in the Library Collection
Old people driving: a film about the end of the road by Shaleece Haas, Director
Call Number: HE5620 .A24 O43 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Chronicles the adventures of 96-year-old Milton and 99-year-old Herbert as they confront the end of their driving years.
Videos are located on the 2nd floor.
Social Work Research Guide
Welcome to the Woodward Library Research Guide for Social Work. Here you will find links to databases with journal articles, e-books, webpages and even some online videos in the area of Social Work. For more current research information, search article databases. For older background and sometimes more in depth information, use books.
Please contact me or a librarian if you have questions concerning any of the resources provided in this guide. Use the contact information to the right. There is a feedback form at the bottom of the page if you have ideas about resources to add to this guide
You can find social work and social work related materials throughout the library collections using the library call number ranges below.
HN1-995 Social History
HQ1-2044 The Family. Marriage. Women
HT1-1595 Communities, Classes, Races
HV1-9960 Social Pathology, Criminology. Social and Public Welfare
Web-based citation manager for creating bibliographies and storing research citations (including full-text articles)
*RefWorks is bibliographic management software that allows you to import references from online databases, organize your references into folders according to your topics of interest or various assignments, insert references from a variety of formats (MLA and APA) into the body of a research paper, and generate formatted references pages.
*You are required to sign up for an Individual account from RefWorks to use this resource. APSU users are also required to use his or her official APSU e-mail address ending with "@apsu.edu" when signing up for a new account.
Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.