Military Studies Research Guide: Article Databases

The Civil War Primary Source Documents collection, drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, is comprised of over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections, and focuses on the War as it was fought from both Northern and Southern perspectives.

Invaluable primary resources include letters, diaries, administrative records, photographs and illustrations. Personal accounts appear in various scrapbook journals and family portraits, and strategic initiatives are evident in maps featuring details of troop movements and local landmarks.

Highlights include the papers of David Cronin, a famous soldier and artist, soldiers' diaries chronicling daily life and experiences as prisoners of war, Union Defense Committee records and Confederate Army records.

Content Includes:
*Over 110,000 pages from over 400 individual collections
*Extensive correspondence from both the Confederate and Union troops, societies and individuals and their families
*Diaries from soldiers on the field and civilians on the home-front
*Hand-drawn illustrations, maps, and engineering notebooks
*Military content from both the army and navy, from the front lines to hospitals and prisons
*Letters and first person accounts from such well-known leaders as Ulysses S. Grant, as well as accounts from individual soldiers and sailors

This collection features over 12,000 world history titles to meet the content needs of students in their research. Titles encompass a variety of subjects, including Medieval History, History of Music, History of Science, History of the World, History of the Caribbean & West Indies, History of the Holocaust, Law in History, History of Philosophy, History of Africa, Art History, History of Technology & Engineering, History of Business & Economics, History of the Middle East, History of Latin America, History of Canada, History of Asia, History of Religion, History of Europe, History of the Military and History of the United States.

*Download options are available on your personal computer for transfer to a mobile device. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks

Orderly Books were the controlling document of day-to-day life in the military, most notably during the Revolutionary War. It offers access to Orderly Books found nowhere else and contains handwritten volumes documenting military orders, movements and engagements by brigade, regiment, company and other specific military units between 1748 and 1817. The content in Orderly Books provides detailed accounts of troops’ daily lives, documenting everything from court martial cases to the price of necessities charged by locals.

Content Includes:
*Over 30,000 pages of original primary source material from two hundred handwritten volumes
*Original images, fully transcribed and keyword-searchable

Subjects Include:
*Both sides of the American Revolutionary War
*The French and Indian War
*The War of 1812
*The early frontier
*Other various military deployments throughout the young United States

*premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources

*covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects

*covers items published from 1980-present

*contains indexing for 8,200 publications 

*contains full text for more than 4,650 titles 

*PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over 100 journals

Cambridge University Press publishes a wide range of high-quality academic content across Cambridge Core. They currently publish more than 420 peer-reviewed academic journals.

As one of the largest and most prestigious academic publishers in the world, CUP is widely respected as a global leader in publishing in subjects as diverse as astronomy, Shakespeare studies, economics, mathematics and politics. Reflecting the latest research from a broad sweep of subjects, their content is accessible worldwide – both in print and online.

Cambridge Core provides access to unique, scholarly content published by Cambridge University Press, in one user-friendly and fully searchable online platform.

APSU authors can publish their articles Open Access at no cost in Cambridge gold and hybrid journals. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information. 

*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 161,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.

*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks

*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics

*Provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources 

*Retrospective coverage as far back as 1982, full-text since 1994

*Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.

*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.

The Springer eJournal collection includes over 2500 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.

APSU is one of the 120 institutions the are participating in the transformative agreement between Springer Nature and Lyrasis. This means means that authors affiliated with APSU are eligible to publish their articles open access with fees covered in hybrid journals across the Springer Nature portfolio. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information. 

*World Book Online provides access to the following sections:

Early Learning, 

World Book Kids, 

World Book Discover, 

World Book Student, 

World Book Advanced, 

World Book Timelines, 

World Book EBooks, 

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos