Biology Research Guide: Article Databases

*provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from hundreds of sources 
*covers agriculture, biology, ecology, botany, zoology, food science, and more
*retrospective coverage as far back as 1983, full-text since 1997

*covers biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science
*indexes over 4,200 journals from 100 countries and includes over 11.3 million records 
*covers items published from 1926-present

*Provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. 

*By 2013, there will be over 2.2 million type specimens available

*Materials are global in scope representing over 160 partners in 47 countries on 5 continents

*provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from hundreds of sources 
*covers agriculture, biology, ecology, botany, zoology, food science, and more
*retrospective coverage as far back as 1983, full-text since 1997

*covers biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science
*indexes over 4,200 journals from 100 countries and includes over 11.3 million records 
*covers items published from 1926-present

*lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*covers science topics including biology, physics, and environment

*covers items published from 1984, summaries since 1984, and full-text since 1994

*Provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. 

*By 2013, there will be over 2.2 million type specimens available

*Materials are global in scope representing over 160 partners in 47 countries on 5 continents

*includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more

*provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records

*The ability to "search for full-text" at Woodward Library is enabled

*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics

*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.

*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles

These pages provide concept definitions and subject overviews for researchers who want to expand their knowledge about scholarly and technical terms.

Each synopsis provides a series of short, authoritative, excerpts from highly relevant book chapters written by subject matter experts in the field.

These topic summaries are derived from Elsevier encyclopedias, reference works and books.

SciFinder-n is the new interface for the most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 52 million article, patent, and conference references, the CAS Registry of 161 million chemical substances (many include property data) & CASREACT database of 126 million chemical reactions and preparations. Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). 

New Users: Register for a SciFinder Account

You must use an apsu.edu e-mail address and create a username and password. Your account will not be activated until you click on a confirmation link that is sent to your e-mail.

What's in Scifinder?

• Chemical Substances (CAS REGISTRY) 
• References (CAplus)
• Reactions (CASREACT)
• Chemical Suppliers (CHEMCATS)
• Regulated Chemicals (CHEMLIST)
• Markush (MARPAT; Substances in patents)
   
• use the Structure Drawing Editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions
• Created by CAS (a division of the American Chemical Society)
• Serves as an electronic version of Chemical Abstracts providing references from more than 9500 journals
• Contains patents from over 50 patent-issuing organizations
• Contains the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information

The new SciFinder-n interface provides the following features:

• A brand new streamlined interface providing easier navigation and time savings
• Improved reference searching with new relevancy ranking and autosuggest
• Multi-tab browsing and automatic User Login recognition
• Simultaneously explore both text and structure in a single search
• Automatically saves and stores all search history for quick and easy recall
• Includes MethodsNow providing access to step by step synthetic procedures, extracted and summarized
• Includes PatentPak providing access straight to full-text patents and hard-to-find-substances with a single click
• Citation mapping that quickly identifies important research and graphically displaying references
• Updated retrosynthesis planning capabilities

Helpful links for using SciFinder-n:

• Access the SciFinder-n quick start guide for a step-by-step journey into the product
• Watch our video collection of SciFinder-n How-To videos
• Migrate your current saved answers and alerts from the previous interface (SciFinder Web)
   

Alumni do not qualify for SciFinder access. Any use of SciFinder for commercial purposes under your institution's license is prohibited. Please remember to logout from SciFinder Scholar as soon as you have finished with your research.

The Springer eJournal collection includes over 2500 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.

APSU is one of the 120 institutions the are participating in the transformative agreement between Springer Nature and Lyrasis. This means means that authors affiliated with APSU are eligible to publish their articles open access with fees covered in hybrid journals across the Springer Nature portfolio. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information.