LibGuides: Education Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education
*lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*covers education topics

*covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1994, and full-text since 1996
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education research and information from journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.

ERIC is the largest education database in the records of the world-containing millions of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.

ERIC lists citations and short summaries of education journal articles and documents, many which contain links to full-text.

Find out how research becomes an ERIC record at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Records.pdf

ERIC covers all education topics and contains items published from 1966 to the present. It contains an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for teacher training and development
*more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary footage of students and teachers in classrooms

*many of the videos in this collection include supplementary materials to aid in their use in classroom discussions and assignments

*Search and browse by grade level; subject; topic; educational theory; and other
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Education Resources for Research

Annenberg Media
Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers
more...less...
*Annenberg Media's multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching method

*Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home

*All Annenberg Media videos are free and exemplify excellent teaching

*Must create an account

Cabells Journal Directories (Journalytics and Predatory Reports) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly journals with publication information, submission experience data, and peer review indicators. Also included is Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors.
Cabells Journalytics, our searchable database of information and insightful metrics for verified, reputable journals, covers 18 academic disciplines and provides intelligence on more than 11,000 international scholarly publications.

Cabells Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors, currently lists more than 13,000 deceitful publications. Through continued partnerships with major academic publishers, journal editors, scholarly societies, accreditation agencies, and other independent databases,

Cabells provides accurate, up-to-date information about academic journals to more than 750 universities worldwide.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational news directed at college and university personnel
*contains daily news and full text for articles appearing in The Chronicle of Higher Education

*articles published from 1989 to present can be searched by keyword

*the ten most recent issues can be browsed as a complete edition through the archive
College (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High School and college level research on all topics with multimedia
Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Education Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 2,800 ebooks covering Education topics
The eBook Education Collection provides titles ranging from introductory texts on education theory and practice for undergraduates to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars in the Education discipline. Also included are support materials for student teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher education classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behavior and dynamics.
Education Collection (ASCD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education and Professional Development eBooks from ASCD
*Collection of 66 electronic books from the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD)

*covers titles that address the ongoing professional development needs of today's educators

*individual chapters can be printed, downloaded, and e-mailed

*citations can be exported in MLA and APA format
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education
*lists citations, summaries, and full-text of journal articles and books

*covers education topics

*covers items published from 1983, summaries since 1994, and full-text since 1996
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for teacher training and development
*more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary footage of students and teachers in classrooms

*many of the videos in this collection include supplementary materials to aid in their use in classroom discussions and assignments

*Search and browse by grade level; subject; topic; educational theory; and other
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college
*Educator's Reference Complete provides access to more than 1,100 periodicals as well as 200 reports from the United States Department of Education.

*In addition, Educator’s Reference Complete provides full-text results for nearly half of the titles cited in ERIC.

*This comprehensive resource covers multiple levels of education
from preschool to college and includes virtually every educational specialty, such
as bilingual studies, health, technology and testing.

*The resource also includes information on issues related to administration, funding and policy in education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education research and information from journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.

ERIC is the largest education database in the records of the world-containing millions of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.

ERIC lists citations and short summaries of education journal articles and documents, many which contain links to full-text.

Find out how research becomes an ERIC record at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Records.pdf

ERIC covers all education topics and contains items published from 1966 to the present. It contains an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms.
Leadership and Management (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
InfoTrac Journals for professional educators
A collection of educational journals covering topics as diverse as 21st century skills, learning disorders, standardized testing, home schooling and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional educator interested in professional development.

*Custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily

*Offers balanced coverage for any professional educator

*Covers health and fitness, school law, drug and alcohol abuse, learning disabilities, sports, arts and humanities, social sciences, and psychology
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reviews of Psychological and educational tests
*Contains information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests

*Covers education, psychology, and other subjects

*Covers tests reviewed from 1985 to present
Middle School (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research designed for Junior High and middle school students in grades 6-8
Gale’s Research In Context is a cross-disciplinary resource targeted to Middle Schoolers and supportive to the other ends of the K-12 spectrum spanning literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. Students in grades 6 to 8 will benefit from an interface that delivers the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users combined with the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
Full-text graduate-level theses and dissertations
*OATD is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

*The full text of all papers lives on the original hosting site, usually the repository of the university that granted the degree.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology
*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 900 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.
Science Direct College Edition Journal Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals covering Social Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Physical Science, and Engineering
*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles
Springer Nature Online Journals (LYRASIS Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals from science related fields, philosophy, and business
The Springer eJournal collection includes over 2500 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.
APSU is one of the 120 institutions the are participating in the transformative agreement between Springer Nature and Lyrasis. This means means that authors affiliated with APSU are eligible to publish their articles open access with fees covered in hybrid journals across the Springer Nature portfolio. See the list of APSU transformative agreements for more information.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Popular teacher and administrator journals
*Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines

*Provides coverage on topics such as assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, teacher education, and more.
Tennessee Electronic Library Databases (TEL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases provided by TEL
*Free versions of TEL databases available at http://tntel.tnsos.org

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.

General Article Databases (All Subjects)
by Michael Hooper Last Updated May 22, 2024 526 views this year

Subject Librarian

Jenny Harris

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 221 (main floor)

Phone: 931-221-7914

Subjects: African American Studies, Education, Women's and Gender Studies

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Citing Sources

How to Cite Your Sources
Information of citing your sources for papers in MLA, APA, Chicago, and other styles

Citation Managers This link opens in a new window
Citation managers allow you to import references from online databases, organize your references into folders, and generate formatted references pages in a variety of formats (MLA and APA).

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.