Theatre and Dance Research Guide: Article Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. It contains more than 530 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals and more than 360 full-text books & monographs. Indexed is 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

*Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print and each play is extensively indexed

APSU subscribes to the core collection and does not receive access to the video or audio versions of plays designated with orange icons. The light gray lock icons represent content that is not available at APSU.

The award-winning Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.

From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.

Unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.

Invaluable contextual and critical background is also provided through access to an expanding range of annotated student editions, scholarly works and practical guides from renowned publishers and imprints such as Faber and Faber, Bloomsbury, Methuen Drama, and Arden Shakespeare.

Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century, American Drama 1714–1915 is the largest electronic collection of American dramatic writing of its kind. It provides literary researchers and historians with a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy exemplified by the work of such playwrights as David Belasco, Clyde Fitch and William Vaughn Moody.

Early landmark texts represented in the collection include Robert Hunter's satire Androboros (1714), the earliest printed American play, and Thomas Godfrey's tragedy The Prince of Parthia (1765), the first American play professionally performed on an American stage. Highlights from the nineteenth century include George Aiken's stage adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin, one of the most popular dramatic works of its period both in America and Europe, The Escape; or, A Leap for Freedom (1857) by William Wells Brown, and The Octoroon (1859), widely recognized as Dion Boucicault's most important American-themed play.

American Drama 1714–1915 provides exhaustive coverage of the printed record of African American drama to 1915, allowing users to cross-search plays by Ira Aldridge, William Wells Brown, F. B. Coffin, Will Marion Cook, Paul Laurence Dunbar, W. E. B. Du Bois, Pauline E. Hopkins, Jesse Shipp and Katherine Davis Chapman Tillman with the complete canon of American drama.

Frequently-studied plays by major dramatists are placed in the context provided by the dramatic writings of lesser-known contemporaries and canonical authors not primarily remembered for their dramatic works, such as Louisa May Alcott and Emma Lazarus.

*brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information

*begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights

*collection includes plays by writers of Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian, and Malaysian ancestry

*streaming video for 37 Shakespeare plays from the BBC
*includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent, John Gielgud,Ben Kingsley,Claire Bloom, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York and Derek Jacobi\
*Closed Captioned available

Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

*Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print and each play is extensively indexed

Cambridge Shakespeare includes:

*The complete bestselling New Cambridge Shakespeare series (41 volumes)
*The New Cambridge Shakespeare: The Early Quartos series (7 volumes)
Shakespeare in Production (14 volumes)
*The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare; over 300 transhistorical, international and interdisciplinary essays on Shakespeare and contexts
*A new version of Emma Smith’s The Cambridge Shakespeare Guide, exclusive to Cambridge Shakespeare
*Multimedia resources for each work, curated by the Folger Shakespeare Library
*The platform will be updated with new content as soon as it is published for no additional cost, ensuring access to the most up-to-date editions

Features & Functionality:

*A curated resource page for each of Shakespeare's works, including:
*A concise guide to the work by Emma Smith
*Introductions
*Annotated edition(s) of the text (New Cambridge Shakespeare, Shakespeare in Production, The Early Quartos)
*Relevant critical essays
*Resources from the Folger Shakespeare Library
*Ability to switch between explanatory, performance-based and textual notes
*User friendly navigation and full-text search
*Ability to toggle notes on and off, presenting an uncluttered and customizable reading experience
*Ability to view and download content in both HTML and PDF formats
*Extensive cross-referencing within and between Shakespeare’s works

This collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.

Contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century

Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Browse by composer, choreographer, genre, performer, ensemble, and role.

APSU subscribes to the core collection and does not receive access to the video or audio versions of plays designated with orange icons. The light gray lock icons represent content that is not available at APSU.

The award-winning Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.

From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.

Unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.

Invaluable contextual and critical background is also provided through access to an expanding range of annotated student editions, scholarly works and practical guides from renowned publishers and imprints such as Faber and Faber, Bloomsbury, Methuen Drama, and Arden Shakespeare.

Drama Texts Collection allows you to search the following Alexander Street Drama Collections simultaneously:

• American Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Asian American Drama
• Black Drama, 3rd Edition
• Contemporary World Drama
• English Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Latin American Drama
• North American Indian Drama, 2nd Edition
• North American Women’s Drama, 2nd Edition
• Twentieth Century Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Twentieth Century North American Drama, 2nd Edition

English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century - the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments - to the early twentieth. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas. In addition to works by major dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, William Wycherley, Oliver Goldsmith, Richard Sheridan, Oscar Wilde and J. M. Synge, English Drama includes the dramatic writings of many more neglected writers long inaccessible in print form.

Covers such topics as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking with emphasis on full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.

(Glee’ dish-uns). A group of professors and instructional technologists with 34 years in academic publishing, the team is best known for its enduring, award-winning Literature and Its Times series (15 vols., published by Gale). For the past eight years, it has been engaged in the development, publication, and field-testing of Gleeditions, a highly endorsed website featuring recommended editions of great literature online.

Gleeditions contains full-text literary works in multiple genres and performance videos:

* Scholarly approved editions of literary classics

• Two e-text collections: Newly Annotated E-texts and Multigenre E-texts

• Two video collections: Shakespeare Videos and Multigenre Videos, featuring premium clips, including alternative performances of the same scene, etc.

• Search site, search text, and user-note taking options

Guided Literary E-text Editions. Interactive, digital editions of great world literature,
annotated for seven literary elements and illuminated by concise, well-illustrated historical context. Also featured on the site is a video library of premium clips. Including dramatic adaptations and readings of great literary works, it covers the site’s e-texts and extends beyond them to other acclaimed literary titles.

*Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

*The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.

*Coverage dates: Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1984+, “select” Full Text 1994+

*Subjects Covered:
Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. It contains more than 530 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals and more than 360 full-text books & monographs. Indexed is 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.

Each journal or series entry provides detailed information, including:

* Publication details, such as publisher, sponsoring organization, ISSN, frequency, and year of first publication

* Editorial policies, such as scope, including subject terms assigned by the directory editor; peer review; average number of readers per manuscript; publication language or languages; acceptance of book reviews, brief notes, abstracts, and advertising; copyright policy; and charges associated with publication

* Contact details for editors, including e-mail addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, and mailing addresses for manuscripts

* Submission requirements, including recommended style and format for article submission, article length, and blind-submission requirements

* Electronic availability, including URLs for article submission and links to open-access online content where available

* Subscription information with full subscription contact information, distributors, subscription rates, and circulation numbers

* Useful statistics, such as the average number of manuscripts of various types submitted to a journal each year and the number published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication

*Lists international journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies

*Covers topics in modern language, literature, linguistics and folklore

*Covers items published from 1926 to the present

APSU Library has acquired the twelve Archives in this collection published as of 2015. They are:

1. Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange (including US State Department Consular & Diplomatic Records, British Foreign Office Political Correspondence regarding Japan, missionary journals and correspondence).

2. British Politics & Society (including coverage of major political figures, working class radicalism, the Oxford Movement, etc.)

3. British Theatre, Music & Literature: High and Popular Culture (including British Playbills, 1754-1882; Drury Lane Theatre Archive)

4. Children's Literature and Childhood (provides a wide range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century)

5. Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest (including Colonial, Foreign, and War Offices Papers on Africa; personal narratives of African exploration)

6. European Literature, 1790-184: The Corvey Collection (includes 18,000 volumes with a particular focus on the British Romantic Era, plus thousands of works in French and German)

7. Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature

8. Photography: The World through the Lens (including The Photographic News from 1858 to 1908 and selections from the Photographic Collection of the British Colonial Office)

9. Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform

10. Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925 (including a collection of American Medical Periodicals from 1797-1900 and a collection of 600 monographs on “Evolution and the Origin of Species”)

11. Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II

12. Women: Transnational Networks (includes manuscripts from the Mary Braddon Archive, manuscript Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and a collection of Quaker Women’s Diaries from the 18th and 19th Centuries)

*Brings together the full text of 200 plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century

*Many of the plays are previously unpublished or hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible.

*Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.

*Begins in the early 1930s and progresses through the 20th century

*The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada

*Provides the full text of 1,500 plays written from colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada

*Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays

*The database covers the campaign for voting rights, including propaganda plays, as well as the growing crusade for women’s access to higher education and inclusion in various professions

*Search over 30,000 plays written from antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present

*Includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama

*Search for plays by title; author; subject, style, genre and cast type

Formerly titled North American Theatre Online.

Experience the history of the theatre through 40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources that offer a glimpse into the productions of the past.

Theatre in Context Collection helps students of theatre, literature, and history draw connections between the people who brought key productions and dramatic stories to life—from the director, to the actor, to the design team. With Theatre in Context Collection, students can understand the historical significance of certain plays, their popularity, and their role in shaping dialogue outside of the world of theatre—creating a complete picture of life on the historical stage.

The collection includes 40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources, including:

*Essential reference works that catalogue historic performances from the Broadway stage
*Archival playbills that document the major players of the day
*Original designs that allow you to reimagine the set
*Decades worth of periodicals that provide contemporary reactions to performances

*Includes more than 500 hours of streaming video

*Contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries

*Users may browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields

Twentieth-Century Drama contains the essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day. The collection's contents range from canonical authors such as George Bernard Shaw, Langston Hughes, Sean O'Casey, Noël Coward, Eugene O'Neill, Harold Pinter, Neil Simon, Tom Stoppard and Thornton Wilder, to off-Broadway experimentation and South African township theatre.

No other electronic collection offers such diversity: Twentieth-Century Drama is a truly global collection, containing an extensive collection of play texts by over 300 principal authors from North America and Canada, Britain and Ireland, India, Africa, Australia and the Caribbean. The collection's breadth of content and powerful search options allow users to open up connections between classic plays such as Bernard Shaw's Saint Joan (1923), Thornton Wilder's Our Town (1938), August Wilson's Ma Rainey's Black Bottom (1984), David Mamet's Speed-the-Plow (1987), Harold Pinter's The Homecoming (1965) or Brian Friel's Dancing at Lughnasa (1990) and less well-known texts drawn from the full range of modern theatrical traditions. Areas such as postcolonial writing, women's theatre, and community theatre are given full representation, and Naturalist, Expressionist and absurdist works appear alongside popular comedies, melodramas, farces and thrillers.

*Contains 2,000 full-text plays from the United States and Canada

*At least 550 of the works have never been published before, in any format – including unpublished plays by major writers and Pulitzer Prize winners

*It contains not only the texts themselves, but also hundreds of playbills, posters, and other ephemera

Understanding Shakespeare is a collaborative project between JSTOR Labs and the Folger Shakespeare Library. It’s a research tool that allows students, educators and scholars to use the text of Shakespeare’s plays to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about them—line by line. Users simply click next to any line of text in a play and relevant articles from the JSTOR archive immediately load.

The corresponding links to articles on JSTOR were created using a suite of textual analysis tools performed on the JSTOR archive. Understanding Shakespeare is a free resource that is open to the public. The Folger Digital Texts are free to use for all non-commercial uses. Each article title links to the full-text on the main JSTOR website, which is available to people at participating institutions.

The site is expected to be especially useful to upper-level undergraduate and graduate students. It may also be useful to educators teaching these plays, scholars writing about them, and even actors preparing their line-readings.