Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Encyclopedias and Reference books
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
There is currently no comprehensive reference work bringing both sports management and sports marketing all together in one place. This encyclopedia is designed to fill this gap in the literature. On the management side, it introduces principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance, leadership, governance, communication, business law and ethics, and human resource practices, all in the sports context. On the marketing side it explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and sport-related products and using sport as a platform for marketing non-sports products, as seen in celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament .
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
The most comprehensive and accessible resource available on sports medicine, this encyclopedia presents state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport by
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Covers the whole world of sport, from major professional sports and sporting events to community and youth sport, as well as the business of sports and key social issues--Provided by publisher.
Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the United States by
Publication Date: 2000-04-30
A comprehensive reference work on the development of athletics in the United States; this encyclopedia examines the sporting experience of Native Americans, African Americans and the immigrant groups of the United States from Colonial times to the present. It includes entries on racial and ethnic groups, ethnic sports, mainstream sports, ethnic and racial institutions and famous sports figures.
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research by
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
Health services research is a highly multidisciplinary field, including such areas as health administration, health economics, medical sociology, medicine, , political science, public health, and public policy. The Encyclopedia of Health Services Research is the first single reference source to capture the diversity and complexity of the field.
Encyclopedia of Family Health by
Publication Date: 2011-01-20
Approximately 350 signed articles written by experts from such varied fields as health and nursing, social and behavioral sciences, and policy provide authoritative, cross-disciplinary coverage. From 'Adolescent Suicide' and 'Alternative Therapies' to 'Visitation during Hospitalization' and 'Weight Problems and Genetics', this work provides coverage of a variety of issues within a family context. Provides a comprehensive summary of theory, research, practice, and policy on family health and wellness promotion for students and researchers.
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging by
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. This one-volume resource captures some of the excitement of the research in the field in terms of new findings as well as conceptual developments guiding research, practice, and policy. With more than 200 entries, it covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system.
Encyclopedia of Public Health by
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
The Encyclopedia examines topics as broad in range as environmental health, drug abuse, epidemiology, nutrition, demographics and bioterrorism. Includes overviews, definitions and biographical entries.
Encyclopedia of Complementary Health Practice by
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
This comprehensive resource of key terms and concepts in complementary health care addresses practices, health conditions, and research-based treatments. Over 300 entries by distinguished contributors to the field explain such alternative therapies as naturopathy, homeopathy, chiropractic, nutrition, and massage. One section is devoted to pertinent issues in complementary health practice including economics, legal ramifications, education, and historical perspectives.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This set provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The "Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, medical lab technology, emergency medical technology, dental assistance, pharmacology and nutrition.