Skip to main content

Finding Book Reviews: Finding Book Reviews

Key Electronic Resources

Key ResourceTry These First!

Guide to Resource Icons

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

 

 If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please contact us

Finding Book Reviews Online

How to Find a Book Review Online

Where to find a book review depends on certain factors such as when the book was published, the subject of the book in question, and the type of review.  Book reviews may be found in both scholarly journals and popular magazines.  Some magazines and journals are devoted to reviewing literature, such as the New York Times Book Review or Book Review Digest.  While it is possible to go to specific journals and magazines to look for book reviews, it is also possible to search these sources in a number of databases that cover a wide variety of subjects. 

The following databases are designed to find reviews:

You can also look through these databases to find book reviews.  They require the user to use specific search limits and qualifiers to ensure that a search finds book reviews.

In addition to finding book reviews in databases that cover multiple areas, you can also find book reviews in resources that cover specific subject areas.  You can search for these reviews in databases listed in the library’s subject guides.

There are two resources for finding older book reviews available in the library's reference collection on the main floor.  

Book Review Digest / Z1219 .C95

Book Review Index / Z1038 .A1

On the third floor of the library, there are also a number of resources available that provide book reviews as well as indexes that tell where to go to find these book reviews.

National Library Service Cumulative Book Review Index / Z1035 .A1 N3

Masterplots

These various resources can be a little difficult to use, so if you need assistance, be sure to ask for assistance at the Research Assistance Desk (RAD).

General Resources for Research on All Subjects

General Resources may also contain many useful articles or other types of information on your topic.
Click the link below for a complete list of General Resources.  

Subject Guide

Ross Bowron's picture
Ross Bowron
Contact:
Office: Library 220, Main Floor
Phone: 931.221.7381

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Browse Article Databases by Title