Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's and Gender Studies Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

This guide serves to educate readers on the library's collection development plan for the department of Women's and Gender Studies.

Women's and Gender Studies Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Women's and Gender Studies Program provides a space for students to develop as social justice activists in their homes, workplaces and communities. Students develop as writers, speakers, and critical thinkers and learn to apply an intersectional lens when exploring and researching topics addressing gender, race, sexual orientation, ethnicity, class, and physical and mental abilities in personal, local, national, and international contexts. 

Accrediting body:

N/A

Degrees offered:

Undergraduate minor

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • Feminism/Feminist Theory
  • Gender
  • Women's Rights

Focus Areas:

  • Intersectionality
  • Sexual Minorities
  • Social Justice

Related Subject Areas

  • African American Studies
  • Art
  • Education
  • Health & Human Performance
  • History
  • Literature
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

United States; global emphasis on feminism

Chronological Emphasis:

1900 - present

Noted Publishers:

Aunt Lute, SAGE Publishing, Women Make Movies

Preferred Dates of Publication:

2010 - present

Types of Resources:

monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere

Notes and Other Considerations:

Due to the interdisciplinary nature of women's and gender studies, many resources are collected under other disciplines. See collection development plans for related subject areas.

Review Sources:

ACRL WGSS Core BooksChoice Reviews Online, Resources for College Libraries

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
BF  Psychology   
BF 692-692.5 Psychology of sex. Sexual behavior 3
BF 697-697.5 Differential psychology. Individuality. Self 3
BJ Ethics  
BJ 1395 Feminist ethics 2
BL Religions. Mythology. Rationalism  
BL 458 Women in comparative religion 3
BL 460 Sex worship. Phallicism 2
CT Biography  
CT 3200-3830 Biography of women (Collective) 3
GT  Manners and customs (General)  
GT 1-7070 Manners and customs (General) 3
HD Industries. Land use. Labor  
HD 6050-6305

Classes of labor. Including women, children, students, middle-aged

and older persons, minorities

3
HM Sociology  
HM (1)-1281 Sociology 3
HQ The Family. Marriage. Women  
HQ 12-449 Sexual life 3
HQ 1075-1075.5 Sex role 3
HQ 1101-2030.7 Women. Feminism 3
HQ 1871-2030.7 Women's clubs 2
JF Political institutions and public administration  
JF 799-1177 Political rights. Political participation 3
LC Special aspects of education  
LC 212-212.863 Discrimination in education 3
LC 212.9-212.93 Sex differences in education 3
LC 213-214.53 Educational equalization. Right to education 3
LC 1390-5160.3 Education of special classes of persons 3
UB Military administration  
UB 416-419 Minorities, women, etc. in armed forces 3

Contact Information

Women's and Gender Studies Program

Library Liaison:
Jenny Harris

Faculty Representative:
Dr. Jill Eichhorn

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

Women's and Gender Studies Liaison

Jenny Harris's picture
Jenny Harris
Contact:
Library 317
931.221.7914

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.