LibGuides: Woodward Library Resources with AI Features: HeinOnline Academic

HeinOnline Academic

Hein Online Overview
AI Article Summaries

HeinOnline Academic

HeinOnline now includes AI Article Summaries. Created by HeinOnline’s internal AI team and trained exclusively on our own datasets, these concise 200-300-word overviews help you:

Grasp the central thesis of an article at a glance
Identify the key issues, methods, and findings
Quickly determine whether an article is worth a deeper read

Watch a video on how to use AI summaries
Read more information about the new article summaries feature

HeinOnline Academic
Retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials. Includes federal laws, regulations, case law, and reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General

The HeinOnline Academic package was specifically created so universities may replace existing resources for a fraction of the cost. The academic research package features more than 100 million pages of content and covers more than 100 subject areas. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Unveil the history of America with the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, equipped with unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content.

Includes U.S. Federal & State Case Law

HeinOnline Academic also includes Fastcase, a leading next-generation legal research service that features powerful “best-case-first” tools that make research faster than ever. This service provides subscribers access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and enables users to access the full text of cases through their HeinOnline subscription without the hassle of using multiple research databases.

See https://home.heinonline.org/academic/ for a list of all collections included in the Hein Academic Package.

Subjects Include:
Political Science
History
Criminal Justice
Religious Studies
International Relations
Women’s Studies
Pre-law
Business/Economics

Because the Hein Online Law Journal Library is so large, Article Summaries are being rolled out in batches, beginning with the most-cited and most-accessed articles first. You can spot them in three different places.

1. Search Results

By default, summaries display within your search results. Toggle to switch between summaries and matching text pages.

search results displaying Article Summaries

Click Read More to expand and view the full summary.

2. Document Viewer

When viewing an article in the document viewer, select the AI Summary icon in the image toolbar. The summary will open in a panel for quick reading.

AI Summary icon in the image toolbar for the document viewer in HeinOnline

3. PDF Download

When downloading an article PDF, the summary with automatically appear on the second page, right after the citation page.

PRO TIP: Need to copy the summary? Select the copy function in the upper right-hand corner for quick sharing.