Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu Close Go back

Open Access: Research and Scholarship: Publish Your Work

Open access presents a departure from traditional models of publishing, where access to scholarly content is often restricted by subscription fees or paywalls. By embracing open access, researchers and creators are empowering the dissemination of their wo

Support for APSU authors

Archive for Scholarship, Publication, Innovation, and Research Experience (ASPIRE)

ASPIRE is a digital showcase of the scholarly and creative output of the Austin Peay State University Community. Managed by the library's digital services and archives unit, ASPIRE is a digital repository designed to collect, preserve, and distribute materials generated by APSU faculty, staff, and students.

ASPIRE provides APSU faculty, staff and students:

  • A digital storage space for resources. Items deposited in ASPIRE will be:
    • Accessible online
    • migrated to new formats for future accessibility (when possible)
    • digitally preserved and backed up
  • A visible presence for your data, research, and teaching objects on the internet. ASPIRE can:
    • make your research and teaching searchable and findable by web search engines
    • replace the need to maintain a personal website
    • report on how many times your files were accessed
  • More opportunities promote your work. ASPIRE...
    • provides a permanent URL so that objects can always be found
    • helps other researchers and instructors find your work and use it and cite it
    • lets your distribute your work by sending the URL

Submission Guidelines and Instructions

Office of Research and Sponsored Program (ORSP) -- Grant Writing Support

ORSP is dedicated to providing the highest quality support for research opportunities, including pre- and post-award support services to faculty, staff, and administrators for grants and external funding opportunities submitted on behalf of Austin Peay State University or received in connect with a partnering institution/agency.

Author Rights

Why are author's rights important?

  • Authors rights or literary rights are copyrights.
  • Copyrights are granted under federal law to authors creative works at the time of the work's creation in a fixed, tangible form.
  • Authors do not have to file or apply for a copyright.

Only the copyright owner has the authority to:

  • Reproduce the work
  • Prepare a derivative work
  • Distribute copies of the work
  • Publicly perform the work
  • Publicly display the work
  • Publicly perform sound recordings via a digital audio transmission

For more information check out Section 106: Exclusive Rights in Copyrighted Works from the Copy right act.

 

Why are author rights important?

Authors should care about their copyright ownership for several important reasons:

  1. Having control over use and distribution: authority to decide how the work is used, distributed, and shared.
  2. Protecting integrity and attribution: ensure the work is accurately represented and attributed to the author.
  3. Economic benefits: copyright provides potential to monetize the work.
  4. Academic recognition and reputation: retaining copyright allows authors to ensure their work is cited accurately, contributing to their academic reputation and impact.
  5. Long-term control: authors can decide how their work evolves overtime.
  6. Open access and accessibility: for authors who support open access principles, retaining copyright ownership enables them to freely share their work with a global audience. They can choose open access models that align with their values and make their work accessible to a broader community.
  7. Advocacy and public engagement: owning copyright gives authors a platform to advocate for issues related to intellectual property, access to knowledge, and the rights of content creators.
  8. Preventing Exploitation: if a publisher tries to take advantage or an authors' lack of familiarity with copyright terms, retaining ownership helps authors unwittingly relinquish their rights.
  9. Supporting ethical publishing practices: authors who own their copyrights can choose to publish with publishers or platforms that uphold ethical practices.
  10. Preserving legacy and cultural heritage: copyright ownership enables authors to protect their work's legacy and contribute to the preservation of cultural and intellectual heritage for future generations.

Publisher copyright policies

Every publisher has different policies in regards use of your published work. Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and presents publisher and journal open access policies from around the world. Every publisher or journal is reviewed and analyzed by their team who provide summaries of self-archiving permission and conditions of rights given to authors on a journal-by-journal basis when possible. 

Open access repositories

OpenDOAR Repository

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. Each repository record within OpenDOAR has been carefully reviewed and processed by a member of their editorial team. 

arXiv distribution service

arXiv is a free distribution service and open-access archive for 2,314,296 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science and more.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. 

Humanities Commons

Humanities Commons hosts CORE: Open Access for the Humanities this is a nonprofit, interdisciplinary, broad-ranging alternative to commercial networks.