Skip to main content

Geosciences Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Geosciences Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Department of Geosciences encompasses the study of Geography and Geology. The Geography concentration prepares students for a holistic examination of the earth including ecosystem and atmospheric processes, natural hazards and environmental management, relationships between nature and society, and understanding relationships between events around the world that cause changes in natural and socio-economic systems. The Geology concentration includes the broad study of materials of the earth and processes that affect them, as well as the evolution of life and its impact on earth materials and processes.  

Accrediting body:

N/A

Degrees offered:

B.S. Geosciences with concentrations in Geological Sciences, Environmental Hazards, Geographic Information Science, and Global Environment and Development

Minor in Geography

Minor in Geology

Minor in Water Resources Management

Minor in Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • Biogeography
  • Environmental Geography
  • Geomorphology
  • Physical Geogrpahy
  • Dendroecology
  • GIS
  • Remote Sensing
  • Mineralogy
  • Petrology
  • Paleontology
  • Sedimentology
  • Stratigraphy
  • Structural Geology and Tectonics
  • Hydrology
  • Environmental Geology
  • Glacial Geology

Focus Areas:

  • Hydraulic Geometry
  • Hydrogeology
  • Remote Sensing

Related Subject Areas

  • Agriculture
  • Biology

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

North America and World

Chronological Emphasis:

N/A

Noted Publishers:

American Geosciences Institute, The Geological Society of America, Wiley 

Preferred Dates of Publication:

2009 - present

Types of Resources:

monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere

Notes and Other Considerations:

N/A

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews Online, Resources for College Libraries 

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
  Geology  
QE 1-350 Geology, general 3
QE 351-400 Mineralogy 3
QE 420-499 Petrology 3
QE 500-625 Dynamic and Structural Geology 3
QE 640-699 Stratigraphic Geology 3
QE 701-760 Paleontology 3
QE 761-899 Paleozoology 2
QE 901-996.5 Paleobotany 3
  Geography  
G 1-148 Geography, general 3
G 149-890 Voyages and Travel 2
G 1000.3-3122 Atlases 2
G 3160-3182 Globes 2
G 3190-9980 Maps 2
GA 1-1776 Mathematical Geography. Cartography 3
GB 3-398.7 Physical Geography 3
GB 400-649 Geomorphology 3
GB 651-2998 Hydrology. Water 3
GB 5000-5030 Natural Disasters 3
GC 1-1581 Oceanography 3
GF 1-900 Human Ecology. Anthropogeography 3
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

 

Contact Information

Department of Geosciences

Library Liaison:
Ellen Brown

Faculty Representative:
Dr. Kallina Dunkle
 

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

[Department] Liaison

Ellen Brown's picture
Ellen Brown
Contact:
Office: Library 319
Phone: 931.221.7741

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.