Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

This guide serves to educate readers on the library's collection development plan for the Eriksson College of Education.

Education Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Eriksson College of Education is dedicated to preparing students for professional careers as teachers at the pre-service and in-service levels as well as curriculum supervisors and administrators. The college offers undergraduate and graduate programs with emphasis on professional preparation of teachers and other school personnel. It is divided into major instructional areas including Interdisciplinary Studies (PreK-3, elementary and middle graders), Special Education, and various secondary education and K-12 specialty fields. The Professional Education minor is required for all initial teacher licensure programs. Teacher licensure is available at undergraduate, post-baccalaureate, and graduate levels. Advanced graduate programs are also available in Educational Leadership Studies, Curriculum and Instruction (with specialization in special education, instructional technology, mathematics, and advanced studies), and Reading.

Accrediting body:

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation

Degrees offered:

  • B.S., Education
  • B.S., General Studies
  • B.S., Special Education
  • Ed.S., Educational Specialist 
  • M.A., Education
  • M.A.Ed., Curriculum and Instruction
  • M.A.Ed., Educational Leadership Studies
  • M.A.Ed., Reading
  • M.A.T., Teaching
  • Graduate Online Certificate, Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

Doctoral Degree:

  • Ed.D., Educational Leadership

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

4: Research (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • Critical Pedagogy
  • Curriculum Instruction
  • Distance Education
  • Diversity
  • Early Childhood Education
  • Educational Leadership
  • Instructional Technology
  • K-12 Education
  • Literacy
  • Middle School
  • Special Education

Focus Areas:

  • Educational Leadership
  • Inclusive Education
  • Leadership

Related Subject Areas

  • African American Studies
  • History
  • Law
  • Psychology
  • Mathematics
  • Social Sciences
  • Technology
  • Women's and Gender Studies

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

United States; global emphasis for Ed.D. Program

Chronological Emphasis:

1961 - present

Noted Publishers:

Corwin, Jossey- Bass, Routledge, Rowman & Littlefield, Sage, Teachers College Press

Preferred Dates of Publication:

2008 - present

Types of Resources:

monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere

Notes and Other Considerations:

See also subject collection development plans for more in-depth coverage of some areas listed in collection levels.

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews Online, Resources for College Libraries

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
L Education (General)  
L 7-991 Education (General) 3
LA History of Education  
LA 5-2396 History of Education 3
LB Theory and Practice of Education  
LB 5-45 General 4
LB 51-885 Systems of individual educators and writers 3
LB 1025-1050.75 Teaching (Principles and practice) 4
LB 1050.9-1091 Educational psychology 3
LB 1101-1139 Child study 2
LB 1139.2-1139.5 Early childhood education 3
LB 1140-1140.5 Preschool education. Nursery schools 3
LB 1141-1489 Kindergarten 3
LB 1501-1547 Primary education 3
LB 1555-1602 Elementary or public school education 3
LB 1603-1696.6 Secondary education. High schools 3
LB 1705-2286 Education and training of teachers and administrators 4
LB 2300-2430 Higher Education 3
LB 2799-2799.3 Educational Consultants and Consulting 3
LB 2801-3095 School administration and organization 4
LB 3201-3325 School architecture and equipment. School physical facilities. Campus planning 2
LB 3401-3495 School hygiene. School health services 2
LB 3497-3499 Hygiene in universities and colleges 2
LB 3525-3575 Special days 2
LB 3602-3640 School life. Student manners and customs 2
LC  Special Aspects of Education  
LC 8-6691 Special Aspects of Education 3
LD Institutions; United States  
LD 13-7501 Institutions; United States 3
LE Institutions; America (Except U.S.)  
LE 3-78 Institutions; America (Except U.S.) 2
LF Institutions; Europe  
LF 14-5627 Institutions; Europe 2
LG Institutions; Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific islands  
LG 21-395 Institutions; Asia 1
LG 401-961 Institutions; Africa, Indian Ocean islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific islands 1
LH College and School Magazines and Papers  
LH 1-9 College and School Magazine and Papers 1
LJ Student Fraternities and Societies  
LJ 3-165 Student Fraternities and Societies 1
LT Textbooks  
LT 6-501 Textbooks 0

Contact Information

Eriksson College of Education

Library Liaison:
Jenny Harris

Faculty Representatives:
Dr. Dana Christman, Educational Specialties

Dr. Benita Bruster, Teaching and Learning

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

Education Liaison

Jenny Harris's picture
Jenny Harris
Contact:
Library 317
931.221.7914

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.