LibGuides: COMM 2045: Public Speaking: Course Resources

Library Databases for Topic Ideas (Step #1 - Choosing a Topic)

CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current issues and news topics
CQ Researcheris an award winning publication that’s been around for more than 90 years. It provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research

*contains articles reviewing the history, statistics, and pro/con viewpoints of current-interest topics

*covers a wide variety of topics and the Issue Tracker feature allows you to track the progress of an issue through several decades

*articles published 1923 to present
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple viewpoints on controversial topics
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Library Databases with Reference Sources (Step #2 - Conducting Background Research)

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects (Encyclopedias & Reference)
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.

*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource

Peay Search Discovery Tool (Steps #4 & #5 - Identifying Resources and Collecting Data)

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Subject Librarian

Christina Chester-Fangman

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Library 317, Third Floor
Phone: 931.221.1267

Subjects: Communication, Theatre and Dance

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request