LibGuides: Literature Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and ebooks from the Gale Virtual Reference Library can be searched individually or simultaneously from within this database.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.

*Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline

*Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature biography, criticism, and journal articles
*Information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more

*Access to full text articles and abstracts published in more than 260 academic literary journals

*Provides access to literary criticism once contained in the Contemporary Literary Criticism database

*5000+ Work Overviews, consisting of plot summaries and explications of prominent works
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, linguistics, and folklore
*Lists international journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies

*Covers topics in modern language, literature, linguistics and folklore

*Covers items published from 1926 to the present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
Cambridge Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference materials related to Shakespeare, including his complete works, historical and contextual information, guides and annotated editions, and multimedia resources.
Cambridge Shakespeare includes:

*The complete bestselling New Cambridge Shakespeare series (41 volumes)
*The New Cambridge Shakespeare: The Early Quartos series (7 volumes)
Shakespeare in Production (14 volumes)
*The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare; over 300 transhistorical, international and interdisciplinary essays on Shakespeare and contexts
*A new version of Emma Smith’s The Cambridge Shakespeare Guide, exclusive to Cambridge Shakespeare
*Multimedia resources for each work, curated by the Folger Shakespeare Library
*The platform will be updated with new content as soon as it is published for no additional cost, ensuring access to the most up-to-date editions

Features & Functionality:

*A curated resource page for each of Shakespeare's works, including:
*A concise guide to the work by Emma Smith
*Introductions
*Annotated edition(s) of the text (New Cambridge Shakespeare, Shakespeare in Production, The Early Quartos)
*Relevant critical essays
*Resources from the Folger Shakespeare Library
*Ability to switch between explanatory, performance-based and textual notes
*User friendly navigation and full-text search
*Ability to toggle notes on and off, presenting an uncluttered and customizable reading experience
*Ability to view and download content in both HTML and PDF formats
*Extensive cross-referencing within and between Shakespeare’s works

Simultaneously search multiple library databases with the Peay Search discovery service

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

APSU Library Mobile Databases

Literature Resources for Research

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video for all subjects
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.

*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON
American Drama,1714–1915‎ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Text of over 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth.
Containing more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century, American Drama 1714–1915 is the largest electronic collection of American dramatic writing of its kind. It provides literary researchers and historians with a comprehensive survey of American dramaturgy from its origins up to the era of sensational melodrama and manners comedy exemplified by the work of such playwrights as David Belasco, Clyde Fitch and William Vaughn Moody.

Early landmark texts represented in the collection include Robert Hunter's satire Androboros (1714), the earliest printed American play, and Thomas Godfrey's tragedy The Prince of Parthia (1765), the first American play professionally performed on an American stage. Highlights from the nineteenth century include George Aiken's stage adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin, one of the most popular dramatic works of its period both in America and Europe, The Escape; or, A Leap for Freedom (1857) by William Wells Brown, and The Octoroon (1859), widely recognized as Dion Boucicault's most important American-themed play.

American Drama 1714–1915 provides exhaustive coverage of the printed record of African American drama to 1915, allowing users to cross-search plays by Ira Aldridge, William Wells Brown, F. B. Coffin, Will Marion Cook, Paul Laurence Dunbar, W. E. B. Du Bois, Pauline E. Hopkins, Jesse Shipp and Katherine Davis Chapman Tillman with the complete canon of American drama.

Frequently-studied plays by major dramatists are placed in the context provided by the dramatic writings of lesser-known contemporaries and canonical authors not primarily remembered for their dramatic works, such as Louisa May Alcott and Emma Lazarus.
American Fiction, 1774-1920 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century
American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I, including thousands never before available online. This landmark digital collection is based on authoritative bibliographies including Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography, widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, and Geoffrey D. Smith’s American Fiction, 1901-1925: A Bibliography, comprising nearly three-quarters of all adult fiction published in the United States during this time period.

The 17,500 titles featured in American Fiction, 1774-1920 include:

Adventure novels, travels and sketches
Tract-like tales
Fictitious biographies
Immigrant fiction
Works by minority writers
Popular genre titles
Politically-motivated works
Short stories collections
Poetry
Works from often-studied and award-winning authors
Local fiction
Romances
Allegories
Social commentaries
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature
*brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information

*begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and progresses to the writings of contemporary playwrights

*collection includes plays by writers of Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian, and Malaysian ancestry

BBC Shakespeare Plays

This link opens in a new window

Streaming video for 37 Shakespeare plays

After clicking on the access link above, click the light blue box labeled "BBC Shakespeare Plays", The " to see a drop down menu containing a list of available videos.

When the BBC first undertook this six-year project, it became the most ambitious undertaking ever attempted on film. This was the first time in the 400 years since they were written that all 37 plays would be preserved on tape. Now they are available to watch online in streaming video. Produced by Cedric Messina and Dr. Jonathan Miller, it includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent. This resource includes performances by Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent, John Gielgud, Ben Kingsley, Claire Bloom, Anthony Hopkins, Michael York and Derek Jacobi. Closed Captions are available for each video.

Permanent links to each individual video are available below (remote access ready). Click on the title to watch the video:

ALL'S WELL THAT ENDS WELL
Michael Hordern, Pippa Guard

ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA
Jane Lapotaire

AS YOU LIKE IT
Ian Charleson, Angela Down, Celia Johnson

THE COMEDY OF ERRORS
Roger Daltry

CORIOLANUS
Alan Howard, Irene Worth

CYMBELINE
Claire Bloom, Helen Mirren

HAMLET
Derek Jacobi, Patrick Stewart, Eric Porter

HENRY IV PART I
Jon Finch, Anthony Quayle

HENRY IV PART II
Jon Finch, Anthony Quayle

HENRY V
David Gwillim

HENRY VI PART I
Peter Benson, Trevor Peacock

HENRY VI PART II
Peter Benson, Julia Foster

HENRY VI PART III
Peter Benson, Bernard Hill

HENRY VIII
John Stride, Julian Glover

JULIUS CAESAR
Richard Pasco, Keith Michell

KING JOHN
Claire Bloom, Mary Morris

KING LEAR
Michael Hodern, John Shrapnel

LOVE'S LABOUR'S LOST
David Warner, Jenny Agutter

MACBETH
Nicol Williamson, Jane Lapotaire

MEASURE FOR MEASURE
Kate Nelligan

MERCHANT OF VENICE
Warren Mitchell, Gemma Jones

THE MERRY WIVES OF WINDSOR
Ben Kingsley, Richard Griffiths

MIDSUMMER NIGHT'S DREAM
Helen Mirren, Peter McEnery

MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING
Robert Lindsay, Cherie Lunghi

OTHELLO
Anthony Hopkins, Bob Hoskins

PERICLES
Mike Gwilym, Amanda Redman

RICHARD II
Derek Jacobi, Sir John Gielgud

RICHARD III
Michael Byrne, Brian Protheroe

ROMEO AND JULIET
Alan Rickman, Sir John Gielgud

THE TAMING OF THE SHREW
John Cleese

THE TEMPEST
Christopher Guard, Michael Hordern

TIMON OF ATHENS
Jonathan Pryce, John Shrapnel

TITUS ANDRONICUS
Eileen Atkins, Trevor Peacock

TROILUS AND CRESSIDA
Anton Lesser, Suzanne Burden|

TWELFTH NIGHT
Alec McCowen, Felicity Kendall

TWO GENTLEMEN OF VERONA
John Hudson, Joanne Pearce

THE WINTER'S TALE
Jeremy Kemp, Margaret Tyzack

Black Authors, 1556-1922 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Works by authors of African or African-American descent over three centuries
* Works by authors of African or African-American descent
* A fascinating look at the creative efforts of black authors over three centuries
* Compiled by the curators of the acclaimed Afro-Americana Imprints collection
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries
Black Drama, now in its expanded third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

*Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print and each play is extensively indexed
Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, African American Studies
*brings together 80,000 pages and an estimated 6,200 works of short fiction produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present
*materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors
*Some 30 percent of the collection is fugitive or ephemeral, or has never been published before
Books & Authors (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Book suggestions, reviews, and author biographies
*Book suggestions for more than 146,000 titles in a continually growing list
*54,000 authors are represented via biographies and other resources
*Locate and read book reviews or see lists of Award Winners in various categories for each year
Cambridge Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference materials related to Shakespeare, including his complete works, historical and contextual information, guides and annotated editions, and multimedia resources.
Cambridge Shakespeare includes:

*The complete bestselling New Cambridge Shakespeare series (41 volumes)
*The New Cambridge Shakespeare: The Early Quartos series (7 volumes)
Shakespeare in Production (14 volumes)
*The Cambridge Guide to the Worlds of Shakespeare; over 300 transhistorical, international and interdisciplinary essays on Shakespeare and contexts
*A new version of Emma Smith’s The Cambridge Shakespeare Guide, exclusive to Cambridge Shakespeare
*Multimedia resources for each work, curated by the Folger Shakespeare Library
*The platform will be updated with new content as soon as it is published for no additional cost, ensuring access to the most up-to-date editions

Features & Functionality:

*A curated resource page for each of Shakespeare's works, including:
*A concise guide to the work by Emma Smith
*Introductions
*Annotated edition(s) of the text (New Cambridge Shakespeare, Shakespeare in Production, The Early Quartos)
*Relevant critical essays
*Resources from the Folger Shakespeare Library
*Ability to switch between explanatory, performance-based and textual notes
*User friendly navigation and full-text search
*Ability to toggle notes on and off, presenting an uncluttered and customizable reading experience
*Ability to view and download content in both HTML and PDF formats
*Extensive cross-referencing within and between Shakespeare’s works
Contemporary World Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context, including 1000 contemporary plays from 2000 to present day
This collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary by geographic location. Listen to DARE fieldwork recordings.
The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) is a multi-volume reference work that documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another place across the United States.

Challenging the popular notion that our language has been "homogenized" by the media and our mobile population, DARE demonstrates that there are many thousands of differences that characterize the dialect regions of the U.S.

DARE is based on face-to-face interviews carried out in all 50 states between 1965 and 1970 and on a comprehensive collection of written materials (diaries, letters, novels, histories, biographies, newspapers, government documents, etc.) that cover our history from the colonial period to the present.

The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases.

A striking feature of DARE is its inclusion in the text of the Dictionary of selected maps that show where words were found in the 1,002 communities investigated during the fieldwork.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary Biographies
*profiles of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights

*contains Dictionary of Literary Biography (vols. 1-347) through 2009

*DLB essays outline the lives and careers of authors in addition to summarizing the critical response to their work
Dictionary of Old English (DOE): A to I Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language
*The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.

*The Dictionary draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.
Dictionary of Old English (DOE): Web Corpus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains at least one copy of every surviving Old English text
*The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date.

*As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare. Compiled as part of the Dictionary of Old English project at the University of Toronto, the texts in the Corpus are XML-encoded and are fully conformant with the Text Encoding Initiative Guidelines (TEI-P5 2007).

*The interface for the Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus was developed by the Humanities Text Initiative at the University of Michigan.
Dissertations and Theses: Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities
Drama Online: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of plays from Aeschylus to the present day, including the renowned Arden Shakespeare Series
APSU subscribes to the core collection and does not receive access to the video or audio versions of plays designated with orange icons. The light gray lock icons represent content that is not available at APSU.

The award-winning Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.

From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover.

Unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.

Invaluable contextual and critical background is also provided through access to an expanding range of annotated student editions, scholarly works and practical guides from renowned publishers and imprints such as Faber and Faber, Bloomsbury, Methuen Drama, and Arden Shakespeare.
Drama Texts Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource is a foundational collection of dramatic texts with full-text for over 14,000 plays that provides a search of multiple drama collections
Drama Texts Collection allows you to search the following Alexander Street Drama Collections simultaneously:

• American Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Asian American Drama
• Black Drama, 3rd Edition
• Contemporary World Drama
• English Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Latin American Drama
• North American Indian Drama, 2nd Edition
• North American Women’s Drama, 2nd Edition
• Twentieth Century Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)
• Twentieth Century North American Drama, 2nd Edition
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America from 1473-1700
*contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America

*Date range for publications is 1473-1700.

*includes prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources

*Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized materials from the eighteenth century
*contains 26 million pages of text from more than 136,000 titles (155,000 volumes)

*contains Canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles

*contains materials ranging from books and directories to Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements
English Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
English Drama contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century - the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments - to the early twentieth. It offers exhaustive coverage of the prodigious dramatic literature of the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods, as well as Restoration plays, medieval morality plays and mystery cycles, and nineteenth-century closet dramas. In addition to works by major dramatists such as Ben Jonson, Aphra Behn, William Wycherley, Oliver Goldsmith, Richard Sheridan, Oscar Wilde and J. M. Synge, English Drama includes the dramatic writings of many more neglected writers long inaccessible in print form.
Films On Demand (TBR Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational videos on various topics
*32 total videos available
*14 video titles available on various topics from American & British literature

*15 video titles available on various topics from history, religion, and theater

These titles were purchased for APSU by the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) starting in 2005.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Master index to the major literature products published by Gale.
*Gale's Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers.

*It combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.

*The referenced products themselves will contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings. You can use Gale's Literary Index as a starting point to locate authors and titles covered in any volumes of the sources list in the help section of this resource.
Gleeditions: Guided Literary E-texts Editions This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interactive, digital editions of great world literature, annotated for seven literary elements. Also includes two performance video collections

NOTE: To use personal features (e.g. Save a note), Sign Up on the site (top toolbar) must be completed at an on campus location. This feature not yet available for off campus users.
(Glee’ dish-uns). A group of professors and instructional technologists with 34 years in academic publishing, the team is best known for its enduring, award-winning Literature and Its Times series (15 vols., published by Gale). For the past eight years, it has been engaged in the development, publication, and field-testing of Gleeditions, a highly endorsed website featuring recommended editions of great literature online.

Gleeditions contains full-text literary works in multiple genres and performance videos:

* Scholarly approved editions of literary classics

• Two e-text collections: Newly Annotated E-texts and Multigenre E-texts

• Two video collections: Shakespeare Videos and Multigenre Videos, featuring premium clips, including alternative performances of the same scene, etc.

• Search site, search text, and user-note taking options

Guided Literary E-text Editions. Interactive, digital editions of great world literature,
annotated for seven literary elements and illuminated by concise, well-illustrated historical context. Also featured on the site is a video library of premium clips. Including dramatic adaptations and readings of great literary works, it covers the site’s e-texts and extends beyond them to other acclaimed literary titles.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Online This link opens in a new window
Latin American language, history, culture & politics
*lists journal articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works

*covers topics in Latin American language, history, culture and politics

*covers items published from 1936 to the present
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities
*Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.

*The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more.

*Coverage dates: Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1984+, “select” Full Text 1994+

*Subjects Covered:
Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ancient Greek and Roman Civilizations
*Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
*Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.

*L’Année Philologique contains more than 1 million records and includes citations to journal articles and books in over 40 languages. Abstracts of journal articles are in English, German, Spanish, French or Italian. Books entries often include tables of contents and book review information.

*The L’Année Philologique database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I (published in 1928).
Latin American Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries
Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and ebooks from the Gale Virtual Reference Library can be searched individually or simultaneously from within this database.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature.

*Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline

*Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature biography, criticism, and journal articles
*Information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more

*Access to full text articles and abstracts published in more than 260 academic literary journals

*Provides access to literary criticism once contained in the Contemporary Literary Criticism database

*5000+ Work Overviews, consisting of plot summaries and explications of prominent works
LitFinder (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Poems, stories, and essays
*Contains many full text poems, short stories, and essays

*Contains author biographies, explanations of works and more
international in coverage
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on over 25,000 journals and book series that cover literature, language, dramatic arts, history of printing, and other topics
The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.

Each journal or series entry provides detailed information, including:

* Publication details, such as publisher, sponsoring organization, ISSN, frequency, and year of first publication

* Editorial policies, such as scope, including subject terms assigned by the directory editor; peer review; average number of readers per manuscript; publication language or languages; acceptance of book reviews, brief notes, abstracts, and advertising; copyright policy; and charges associated with publication

* Contact details for editors, including e-mail addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, and mailing addresses for manuscripts

* Submission requirements, including recommended style and format for article submission, article length, and blind-submission requirements

* Electronic availability, including URLs for article submission and links to open-access online content where available

* Subscription information with full subscription contact information, distributors, subscription rates, and circulation numbers

* Useful statistics, such as the average number of manuscripts of various types submitted to a journal each year and the number published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, linguistics, and folklore
*Lists international journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies

*Covers topics in modern language, literature, linguistics and folklore

*Covers items published from 1926 to the present
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections for the 19th Century (All 12 archives available)
APSU Library has acquired the twelve Archives in this collection published as of 2015. They are:

1. Asia and the West: Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange (including US State Department Consular & Diplomatic Records, British Foreign Office Political Correspondence regarding Japan, missionary journals and correspondence).

2. British Politics & Society (including coverage of major political figures, working class radicalism, the Oxford Movement, etc.)

3. British Theatre, Music & Literature: High and Popular Culture (including British Playbills, 1754-1882; Drury Lane Theatre Archive)

4. Children's Literature and Childhood (provides a wide range of primary sources related to the experience of childhood in the long nineteenth century)

5. Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest (including Colonial, Foreign, and War Offices Papers on Africa; personal narratives of African exploration)

6. European Literature, 1790-184: The Corvey Collection (includes 18,000 volumes with a particular focus on the British Romantic Era, plus thousands of works in French and German)

7. Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature

8. Photography: The World through the Lens (including The Photographic News from 1858 to 1908 and selections from the Photographic Collection of the British Colonial Office)

9. Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform

10. Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925 (including a collection of American Medical Periodicals from 1797-1900 and a collection of 600 monographs on “Evolution and the Origin of Species”)

11. Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Part II

12. Women: Transnational Networks (includes manuscripts from the Mary Braddon Archive, manuscript Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and a collection of Quaker Women’s Diaries from the 18th and 19th Centuries)
North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains over 250 full-text plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century
*Brings together the full text of 200 plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century

*Many of the plays are previously unpublished or hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible.

*Together, the plays demonstrate Native theater’s diversity of tribal traditions and approaches to drama—melding conventional dramatic form with ancient storytelling and ritual performance elements, experimenting with traditional ideas of time and narrative, or challenging Western dramatic structure.

*Begins in the early 1930s and progresses through the 20th century

*The collection represents groups across the United States and Canada
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature, Women's studies, History
*Provides the full text of 1,500 plays written from colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada

*Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays

*The database covers the campaign for voting rights, including propaganda plays, as well as the growing crusade for women’s access to higher education and inclusion in various professions
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
Full-text graduate-level theses and dissertations
*OATD is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

*The full text of all papers lives on the original hosting site, usually the repository of the university that granted the degree.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Etymology and definitions
*The OED is the most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. It traces the development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day.

*The varieties of English covered include British English, American English, Australian English, New Zealand English, the Englishes of the Indian subcontinent, Southern Africa, and the Caribbean, among others.

*The Oxford English Dictionary is not an arbiter of proper usage, despite its widespread reputation to the contrary. The Dictionary is intended to be descriptive, not prescriptive. In other words, its content should be viewed as an objective reflection of English language usage, not a subjective collection of usage ‘dos’ and ‘don'ts’
Play Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre, Literature
*Search over 30,000 plays written from antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present

*Includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama

*Search for plays by title; author; subject, style, genre and cast type
Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections for the 18th and 19th Century (cross-search the Gale products Sabin Americana, ECCO and NCCO)
Gale Primary Sources is a full-text primary source database that cross-searches Gale's Sabin Americana (1500-1926), Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO), and Nineteenth-Century Collections Online (NCCO).
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social sciences, arts, humanities
*Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

*Updated continually.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History of Western Hemisphere (Primary Documents)
*Provides access to 29,000 titles (more than 6 million pages of text) and offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition.

*Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides and documents from sermons and political tracts to legislation and literature.

*Takes works from Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time and makes them available online
Shakespearean Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Volumes 1-126 of the monograph series Shakespearean Criticism
Shakespearean Criticism through Gale Literature Criticism provides students, educators, theatergoers, and other interested readers with valuable insights into Shakespeare’s drama and poetry. Clear, accessible introductory essays followed by carefully selected critical responses allow end users to engage with a variety of scholarly views and critical conversations about Shakespeare’s works as literature and in performance.

Students and teachers at all levels of study will benefit from this series, whether they seek information for class discussion and writing assignments, new perspectives on the works or the most noteworthy analyses of Shakespeare’s legacy.

This detailed series provides comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of the plays and poems of William Shakespeare.

*Volumes 1 through 10 present critical overviews of each play and feature criticism from the 17th century to the present.
*Volumes 11-26 focus on the history of Shakespeare's plays on the stage and in major film adaptations.
*Volumes 27-56 focus on criticism published after 1960 and include topic entries that deliver thematic approaches to Shakespeare's works.
*Starting with Vol. 57, the series provides general criticism published since 1990 and historical criticism not featured in previous volumes on four to five plays or works per volume. Select volumes contain topic entries.
Theatre in Context Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre history through reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards and scrapbooks,
Formerly titled North American Theatre Online.

Experience the history of the theatre through 40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources that offer a glimpse into the productions of the past.

Theatre in Context Collection helps students of theatre, literature, and history draw connections between the people who brought key productions and dramatic stories to life—from the director, to the actor, to the design team. With Theatre in Context Collection, students can understand the historical significance of certain plays, their popularity, and their role in shaping dialogue outside of the world of theatre—creating a complete picture of life on the historical stage.

The collection includes 40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources, including:

*Essential reference works that catalogue historic performances from the Broadway stage
*Archival playbills that document the major players of the day
*Original designs that allow you to reimagine the set
*Decades worth of periodicals that provide contemporary reactions to performances
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of more than 250 complete plays
*Includes more than 500 hours of streaming video

*Contains more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries

*Users may browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields
Twentieth-Century Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bringing together an unparalleled collection of the most important works from the last century from the English-speaking world, Twentieth-Century Drama features plays from over 300 noted playwrights and lesser known dramatists from 1890 to 2008.
Twentieth-Century Drama contains the essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day. The collection's contents range from canonical authors such as George Bernard Shaw, Langston Hughes, Sean O'Casey, Noël Coward, Eugene O'Neill, Harold Pinter, Neil Simon, Tom Stoppard and Thornton Wilder, to off-Broadway experimentation and South African township theatre.

No other electronic collection offers such diversity: Twentieth-Century Drama is a truly global collection, containing an extensive collection of play texts by over 300 principal authors from North America and Canada, Britain and Ireland, India, Africa, Australia and the Caribbean. The collection's breadth of content and powerful search options allow users to open up connections between classic plays such as Bernard Shaw's Saint Joan (1923), Thornton Wilder's Our Town (1938), August Wilson's Ma Rainey's Black Bottom (1984), David Mamet's Speed-the-Plow (1987), Harold Pinter's The Homecoming (1965) or Brian Friel's Dancing at Lughnasa (1990) and less well-known texts drawn from the full range of modern theatrical traditions. Areas such as postcolonial writing, women's theatre, and community theatre are given full representation, and Naturalist, Expressionist and absurdist works appear alongside popular comedies, melodramas, farces and thrillers.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 2000 plays by 419 playwrights from the United States and Canada.
*Contains 2,000 full-text plays from the United States and Canada

*At least 550 of the works have never been published before, in any format – including unpublished plays by major writers and Pulitzer Prize winners

*It contains not only the texts themselves, but also hundreds of playbills, posters, and other ephemera
Understanding American Literature This link opens in a new window
Pick a text and a passage from selected works in American Literature and instantly see articles and chapters quoting that passage.
The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool from JSTOR Labs that connects primary texts with journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts. Building on a previous project, Understanding Shakespeare, this beta release of the Understanding series expands the scope of the tool to include ten key works of American literature.
Understanding British Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pick a text and a passage from selected works in British Literature and instantly see articles and chapters quoting that passage.
The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool from JSTOR Labs that connects primary texts with journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts. Building on a previous project, Understanding Shakespeare, this beta release of the Understanding series expands the scope of the tool to include ten key works of British literature.
Understanding Shakespeare This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the text of Shakespeare’s plays to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about them
Understanding Shakespeare is a collaborative project between JSTOR Labs and the Folger Shakespeare Library. It’s a research tool that allows students, educators and scholars to use the text of Shakespeare’s plays to quickly navigate into the scholarship written about them—line by line. Users simply click next to any line of text in a play and relevant articles from the JSTOR archive immediately load.

The corresponding links to articles on JSTOR were created using a suite of textual analysis tools performed on the JSTOR archive. Understanding Shakespeare is a free resource that is open to the public. The Folger Digital Texts are free to use for all non-commercial uses. Each article title links to the full-text on the main JSTOR website, which is available to people at participating institutions.

The site is expected to be especially useful to upper-level undergraduate and graduate students. It may also be useful to educators teaching these plays, scholars writing about them, and even actors preparing their line-readings.
Understanding the King James Bible This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pick a chapter and verse from a book in the KJV Bible and instantly see articles quoting that passage.
The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool from JSTOR Labs that connects primary texts with journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts. Building on a previous project, Understanding Shakespeare, this beta release of the Understanding series expands the scope of the tool to include the King James Bible.

Subject Guide

Stephanie Bandel

Email Me

Contact:

Felix G. Woodward Library
Room 319

(931) 221-7611

Subjects: Education, Languages, Literature

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.