Over 153,000 thesis and dissertation citations published from 1902 to the present on all topics. Includes access to subset of American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955.
EBSCO Open Dissertations is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discover-ability of ETD research.
This new collaboration extends the work started in 2014, when EBSCO and the H.W. Wilson Foundation created American Doctoral Dissertations which contained indexing from the H.W. Wilson print publication, Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933-1955. In 2015, the H.W. Wilson Foundation agreed to support the expansion of the scope of the American Doctoral Dissertations database to include records for dissertations and theses from 1955 to the present.
*American Doctoral Dissertations has been expanded to offer greater coverage of 20th Century research as well as access to full text.
*The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
*The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed such as OhioLINK.
*The subset of this database, American Doctoral Dissertations, 1933-1955, provides electronic access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations completed during that time period, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. Containing twenty-two years of dissertation research and amounting to nearly 100,000 citations, this index was compiled annually for the National Research Council and The American Council of Learned Societies by the Association of Research Libraries.
*an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research
*includes a portfolio of over 130 journals
*research articles can be browsed and viewed without registering, but if you wish to search the BioMed Central site, you do need to register
The Digital Library of Tennessee provides access to rare and unique primary sources housed in libraries, archives, and museums in the state of Tennessee. Explore photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, maps, original art, music, material culture, and archival material that documents the cultural heritage of the state of Tennessee from the Pre-Columbian era to the present.
Digital collections of primary sources on the history of women in the US
*simplifies access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States
*collections range from Abigail Franks' letters to her son from the 1730s to the late 20th century
*researchers can browse the database by subject (150+ entries), place (i.e., states), time period, and primary source type.
*Ultimately, the Encyclopedia of Life will provide an online database for all 1.8 million species now known to live on Earth.
*Series of websites that unites mammal, bird, bug, plant, bacteria, etc. in one location, providing in-depth, scientifically valid information
*Students and educators will be provided with a wide variety of tools for using the information on the species pages as well as for feeding their own information back into the system
Records for over 350,000 doctoral theses from UK institutions (many full text)
A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. The database contains more than 350,000 records, some dating back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
Open Research publishing platform for life scientists, offering immediate publication of articles and other research outputs without editorial bias. All articles benefit from transparent refereeing and the inclusion of all source data
F1000Research publishes articles and other research outputs (e.g. posters and slides) reporting basic scientific, translational and clinical research within the life sciences and medicine. F1000Research is a scholarly publication platform set up for the scientific research community; each article has at least one author who is a qualified researcher or clinician actively working in the life sciences and who has made a key contribution to the article.
Articles must be original (not duplications). All research is suitable irrespective of the perceived level of interest or novelty; we welcome confirmatory and negative results, as well as null studies. F1000Research publishes different type of research, including clinical trials, systematic reviews, software tools, method articles, and many others. Reviews and Opinion articles providing a balanced and comprehensive overview of the latest discoveries in a particular field, or presenting a personal perspective on recent developments, are also welcome.
F1000Research is an Open Science platform: all articles are published open access; the publishing and peer review processes are fully transparent; and authors are asked to include detailed descriptions of methods and to provide full and easy access to source data underlying the results to improve reproducibility.
F1000 Faculty Reviews are commissioned from members of the prestigious F1000 Faculty. Peer review is fully transparent (the referees are listed on the article), but it takes place before publication and only the final version is published.
F1000Research also publishes other research outputs, collectively called documents, such as policies, guidelines, workflows and others, that vary in formats and often differ from traditional scholarly publications. They are always linked to a specific collection (see below) and published by researchers associated with a collection as a service to the wider research community.
Posters, slides and documents are not peer reviewed and do not appear in bibliographic databases such as PubMed.
Free access to over 350,000 music scores and 40,000 music recordings.
The International Music Scores Library Project (IMSLP) was created in 2006 by Edward W. Guo.
Based in Canada, the project seeks to make public domain musical scores freely available on the internet through the Petrucci Library. The digital library holds 350,000 scores, from works by well-known masters such as Sibelius and Verdi, to exciting new compositions shared by the IMSLP community; the library also holds 40,000 recordings that stream on the site.
IMSLP follows Canadian copyright laws because the two main IMSLP servers are physically hosted in Canada.
*Website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. It lists over 30,000 free books on the Web.
*OATD is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
*The full text of all papers lives on the original hosting site, usually the repository of the university that granted the degree.
Published international literature on traumatic stress and PTSD
PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
PTSDpubs has unique features that set it apart from other databases. This database offers:
*A custom PTSD and trauma focused thesaurus to help you create a precise search. This unique thesaurus includes specific PTSD symptoms, like hypervigilance, as well as terms such as PTSD (DSM-5) and PTSD (ICD-11) to help you search by diagnostic criteria.
*A detailed listing of tests and measures. Each record in PTSDpubs lists all instruments used within the publication, and you can search for publications that use a specific test or measure.
*A comprehensive range of publication types, including journal articles, books, reports, newsletters, and dissertations.
*Cross-disciplinary coverage of all publications relevant to PTSD and psychological trauma. PTSDpubs does not limit its coverage to selected journals, but tries to include all relevant publications.
Medical search engine with emphasis on evidence based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines, including content from Cochrane and Bandolier.
Note: When APSU is selected as your institution in account settings, search for full-text links are provided underneath search results for articles.
Initially, Trip stood for Turning Research Into Practice. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content.
As well as research evidence, Trip also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
*The Sigma Repository (formerly the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository) is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses around the world. It is an open digital academic and clinical focused service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types.
*This is the realization of Sigma Theta Tau International’s goal to offer nurses, in all roles around the globe, online access to reliable nursing information.
*Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries
*The African names database identifies over 67,000 Africans aboard slave ships using name, age, gender, origin, and place of embarkation.
*Look for particular voyages in this database of documented slaving expeditions. Create listings, tables, charts, and maps using information from the database.
