Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Biology Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Department of Biology provides an intellectual and motivational environment where students can build their skill set to become competent and compassionate individuals while working toward careers in biology. Students can pursue training in field biology and zoology, animal and plant physiology, microbiology, and environmental assessment. 

Accrediting body:

N/A

Degrees offered:

B.S. Biology

B.S. Biology with Professional Education minor

M.S. Biology (Thesis and Non-Thesis option)

Minor in Biology

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • Genetics
  • Ecology
  • Cell Biology
  • Systematics
  • Evolutionary biology
  • Organismal physiology
  • Microbiology
  • Botany
  • Zoology
  • Human anatomy and physiology
  • Environmental education

Focus Areas:

  • Conservation biology
  • Aquatic ecology
  • Plant systematics
  • Biofuels

Related Subject Areas

  • Education
  • Agriculture
  • Chemistry and Biochemistry

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

North America and World.

Chronological Emphasis:

N/A

Noted Publishers:

Pearson 

Preferred Dates of Publication:

2009 - present 

Types of Resources:

monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere

Notes and Other Considerations:

Elementary and secondary teachers and students, as well as extended education programs use the collection. 

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews Online, Resources for College Libraries 

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
  Natural History  
QH 1-278.5 General 3
QH 75-77.3 Nature Conservation. Landscape Protection. Biodiversity Conservation. Endangered Species and Ecosystems. Habitat Conservation. Ecosystem Management. Conservation Biology 3
QH 82-82.3 Edible Plants and Animals. Wild Food Gathering 2
QH 84-199.5 Geographical Distribution. Biogeography. Phylogeography 3
QH 201-278.5 Microscopy 2
  Biology  
QH 301-705.5 General 3
QH 315-320 Study and Teaching. Research 3
QH 426-470 Genetics 3
QH 471-489 Reproduction 2
QH 501-531 Life 2
QH 540-549.5 Ecology 3
QH 573-671 Cytology 3
QH 705 Economic Biology 3
  Botany  
QK 1-639 Botany  
QK 640-673 Plant Anatomy 3
QK 710-899 Plant Physiology 3
QK 900-989 Plant Ecology 3
  Zoology  
QL 1-739.8 Zoology 3
QL 750-799.5 Animal Behavior 3
QL 801-950.95 Anatomy 3
QL 951-991 Embryology 2
  Human Anatomy  
QM 1-695 Human Anatomy 3
  Physiology  
QP 1-363.5 Physiology 3
QP 364-495 Neurophysiology and Neuropsychology 2
QP 501-801 Animal Biochemistry 2
QP 901-981 Experimental Pharmacology 2
  Microbiology  
QR 1-74 Microbiology, general 3
QR 74.5 Protista 2
QR 74.8-99 Bacteria 3
QR 100-177 Microbial Ecology, Microbiological Chemistry, Microorganisms, Virulence, and Drug Resistance  3
QR 180-189.5 Immunology 2
QR 335-500 Virology 2

 

Contact Information

Department of Biology

Library Liaison:
Ellen Brown
Faculty Representative:
Dr. Carol Baskauf
 

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

[Department] Liaison

Ellen Brown's picture
Ellen Brown
Contact:
Office: Library 319
Phone: 931.221.7741

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.