Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agriculture Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Agriculture Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The Department of Agriculture introduces students to high demand disciplines where they will have a global impact. The purpose of the program is to provide students with access to basic skills and principles for the development of intellectual maturity and insight to adapt to a wide range of rapidly changing professions relating to agriculture. 

Accrediting body:

N/A

Degrees offered:

B.S. in Agriculture with concentrations in Agri-Business, Agri-Communications, Agri-Science, Sustainable Development, Pre-Veterinary Medicine, and Veterinary Technology

Minor in Agriculture

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • Animal Science
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Plant Sciences 
  • Soils
  • Agri-business and Agri-economics

Focus Areas:

  • Precision Agriculture
  • Agricultural Economics

Related Subject Areas

  • Geosciences
  • Biology
  • Marketing
  • Management
  • Economics

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

World; United States for gardens, landscape, forestry, and animal culture.

Chronological Emphasis:

N/A

Noted Publishers:

WileyScience Publishers (USA)CABI

Preferred Dates of Publication:

2009 - present

Types of Resources:

monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere

Notes and Other Considerations:

The Department of Agriculture serves as a source to local citizens and government agencies, provides help to agricultural youth organizations, helps with area livestock shows, and operates a 475-acre Environmental Education Center. Other considerations: animal welfare and rights, genetic engineering, pesticides and EPA regulations, and new technologies.

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews OnlineResources for College Libraries 

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
  Agriculture  
S 1-559 Agriculture, general 3
S 560-572 Farm Economics. Farm Management. Agricultural Mathematics 3
S 583-589.6 Agricultural Chemistry. Agricultural Chemicals. Agricultural Physics 3
S 590-627 Soils. Soil Conservation 3
S 631-667 Fertilizers, Soil Improvement 3
S 900-954 Conservation of Natural Resources 3
SB 1-106 General Plant Culture 3
SB 107-112 Economy Botany 3
SB 183-317 Field Crops 3
SB 450.9-480 Gardens and Gardening. Landscape Gardening 3
SD 1-668 Forestry 3
SF 1-90 General Animal Culture 3
SF 105-121 Breeds and Breeding. Exhibitions. Stockshows 3
SF 518-562 Insects 3
SF 600-1100 Veterinary Medicine 3
SH 1-691 Aquaculture 3
SK 1-579 Hunting. Wildlife Management 3
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     

 

Contact Information

Department of Agriculture 

Library Liaison:
Ellen Brown  

Faculty Representative:
Dr. Donald Sudbrink
 

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

Agriculture Liaison

Ellen Brown's picture
Ellen Brown
Contact:
Office: Library 319
Phone: 931.221.7741

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.