Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessibility and Accommodation in the Library: Accessible Databases

Accessibility Information for Selected Databases

In addition to the assistive technology available to you on the library's computers, many of the databases available through our website already contain built-in accessibility features. View the list of electronic resources with read-text-out-loud technology to review an alphabetical list of databases with this built-in technology. Below, you will find a description of how to access the read aloud features within these resources. 

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO databases allow articles in HTML full-text to be to be read aloud and downloaded in MP3 format using the ReadSpeaker text-to-speech service. No built-in read aloud options exist for articles which are only available in PDF. Refer to the assistive technologies tab to learn how to use the "Read Out Loud" feature in Adobe Acrobat or Acrobat Reader. 

For a complete list of the EBSCO databases we subscribe to, go to the library's A-Z list of EBSCO databases. 


How to Access the ReadSpeaker Text-to-Speech Service in EBSCO:

First, find an article with the HTML Full Text option:

Highlighted HTML Full Text button at the bottom of the entry for an academic journal article in the EBSCO databases.

Then, click on the link to the HTML Full Text. The page should navigate to the full text of the document.

At the beginning of the article, there is a ReadSpeaker tool built-in to the article. If you click the play button, the tool will begin reading the article for you.

Example of ReadSpeaker located at the beginning of an article in the EBSCO databases.

Gale Databases

Gale databases allow all articles available in full-text to be read aloud and downloaded in MP3 format using the ReadSpeaker text-to-speech service.

For a complete list of the Gale databases we subscribe to, go to the library's A-Z list of Gale databases. 


How to Access the ReadSpeaker Text-to-Speech Service in Gale:

First, find a full-text article in one of the Gale databases. Then, click on the title of the article:

Highlighted title of a full-text article at the top of the entry for an academic journal article in the Gale database.

You will be navigated to the full-text of the article. At the beginning of the article, there is a ReadSpeaker tool built-in to the article. If you click the play button, the tool will begin reading the article for you. 

Example of the ReadSpeaker tool located at the beginning of an article in the Gale databases.