Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Political Science Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The library collection supports the “Political Science program [which] is designed for students who want to work in campaigns and government; teach government and history in high school; or who want a traditional liberal arts major which prepares them to think critically and enter a wide variety of business and other nongovernmental organizations. Our majors with the legal studies concentration are also prepared for law school and graduate school” (Bulletin).

Accrediting body:

N/A

Degrees offered:

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support (See description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • American institutions and processes
  • International politics
  • Public law
  • African politics
  • Leadership studies
  • Asian politics
  • Political theory
  • European politics
  • Politics and ethics
  • Latin American politics
  • Religion and politics
  • Middle East politics
  • Comparative politics
 

Focus Areas: 

  • Civil Rights and Civil Liberties

  • Constitutional Analysis

  • Legal Research and Writing

Related Subject Areas:

  • Criminal Justice
  • History
  • Philosophy
  • Sociology

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

World, with particular emphasis on United States

Chronological Emphasis:

Top priority is given to materials about the 20th and 21st centuries, with an emphasis on recent materials.

Noted Publishers:

Academy of Political ScienceSAGE Publishing, and Oxford University Press

Preferred Dates of Publication:

Emphasis is on collecting current imprints. Reprints and classic works are acquired as needed, or as replacements for lost or damaged items.

Types of Resources:

Resources are selected in a variety of print and electronic formats, including books, and videos for the study of political science.

Notes and Other Considerations:

N/A

Review Sources:

Choice Reviews OnlineResources for College Libraries 

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
J General legislative and executive papers 3
JA Political science (General) 3
JC  Political theory.  The state.  Theories of the state 3
JC 47 Oriental state 3
JC 49 Islamic state 3
JC 51‑93 Ancient state 3
JC 109‑121 Medieval state 3
JC 131‑273 Modern state 3
JC 311‑314 Nationalism.  Nation state 3
JC 319‑323 Political geography 3
JC 327 Sovereignty 3
JC 328.2 Consensus.  Consent of the governed 3
JC 328.6‑.65 Violence.  Political violence 3
JC 329 Patriotism 3
JC 345‑347 Symbolism 3
JC 348‑497 Forms of the state 3
JC 571‑605 Purpose, functions, and relations of the state 3
JF   Political institutions and public administration 3
JF  20‑1177 General.  Comparative government 3
JF  1338‑2112 Public administration 3
JJ Political institutions and public administration (North America) 3
JK  Political institutions and public administration (United States) 3
JK 1‑9593 United States 3
JK 404‑1685 Government.  Public administration 3
JK 1717‑2217 Political rights.  Practical politics 3
JK 2255‑2391 Political parties 3
JK 2403‑9593 State government 3
JK 9663‑9993 Confederate States of America 3
JL  Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.) 3
JL 599.5‑839 West Indies.  Caribbean Area 3
JL 1200‑1299 Mexico 3
JL 1400‑1679 Central America 3
JL 1850‑3899 South America 3
JN   Political institutions and public administration (Europe) 3
JN  1‑97 General 3
JN  101‑1371 Great Britain 3
JN  1395‑1571.5 Ireland 3
JN  2301‑3007 France 3
JN  3201‑4944 Germany 3
JN  5201‑5690 Italy 3
JN  6500‑6598 Soviet Union.  Russia.  Former Soviet Republics 3
JN  6690‑6699 Russia (Federation) 3
JQ  Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.) 3
JQ 21‑1852 Asia 3
JQ 200‑620 India 3
JQ 1070‑1199 Central Asia 3
JQ 1499‑1749 East Asia 3
JQ 1758‑1852 Middle East 3
JQ 1870‑3981 Africa 3
JS   Local government.  Municipal government 3
JS  55‑68 History 3
JS  141‑163 Executive branch.  Mayor 3
JS  171 Legislative branch 3
JS  221‑227 Elections.  Local elections.  Municipal elections 3
JS  241‑271 Local government other than municipal 3
JS  300‑1583 United States 3
JV  Colonies and colonization.  Emigration and immigration.  International migration 3
JV 1‑5397 Colonies and colonization 3
JV 6001‑9480 Emigration and immigration.  International 3
JX  International law, see JZ  and KZ 3
JX (63)‑(191) Collections.  Documents.  Cases 3
JX (220)‑(1195) Collections, cases, etc.  By country 3
JX (1261)‑(1283) Codification of international law 3
JX (1305)‑(1598) Foreign relations 3
JX (1621)‑(1896) Diplomacy 3
JX (1901)‑(1995) International arbitration, organization, etc. 3
JX (2001)‑(6650) International law 3
JZ  International relations 3
JZ 5.5‑18 Periodicals 3
JZ   Societies, associations, academies, institutes, etc.,  3
JZ 63‑1153 Sources 3
JZ 1249‑1254 Relation to other disciplines and topics 3
JZ 1305‑2060 Scope of international relations. Political theory.  3
JZ 3674‑3875 State territory and its parts 3
JZ 4835‑5490 International organizations and associations 3
JZ 5511.2‑6300 Promotion of peace.  Peaceful change 3
JZ 6360‑6377 Non‑military coercion 3
JZ 6385‑6405 The armed conflict.  War and order 3
JZ 6422‑6422.5 Neutrality.  Non‑participation in wars.  Norms of neutrality 3
JZ 6530 Humanitarian aspects of war  3
KF Law of the United States 3
KF 1‑9827              Federal law.  Common and collective state law 3
KFT 1‑599                 Tennessee 3
KFX 1‑9999              Individual cities, A‑Z 3
KFZ 1801‑2399           Northwest Territory 3
KFZ 8601‑9199           Confederate States of America 3

Contact Information

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

Political Science and Public Management Liaison

Nancy Gibson's picture
Nancy Gibson
Contact:
Office: Library 217
931-221-6166

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.