Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finance 4400 Research Guide: Home

This guide provides a starting point for students engaged in researching a topic. Library resources and tools that assist students in conducting a literature review, managing & organizing sources, and reporting results, are included.

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Get Started - Select a topic via a review of primary research literature

One way to find a topic to research is to scan the available issues of Annual Review of Financial Economics listed at the very bottom of Annual Reviews (Electronic Back Volume Collection) along with other economic-related annual reviews; go to the direct link at http://www.annualreviews.org/loi/financial 

Read the article (chapter) titles and their abstracts to identify current topics.  Each year, the most significant primary research literature is critically reviewed to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.  

Follow up - Find Secondary Sources (Books and Journal Articles)

Use the Business Research Guide to find, access, manage, and organize your sources.  Under the Article Database tab you will find business-related databases (e.g., ABI/INFORM Complete) to search.

NOTE: Remember to use RefWorks to capture citation information for sources that you find as you are searching a database.  Citations may be exported directly into RefWorks from the database as you are conducting your search.

Plan Your Search Strategy before Searching

Plan your search strategy carefully before you begin typing words. 

Do you want to start broad and then sift through lots of results?  Do you prefer starting with a small number of precise results, then use each article's list of article references to broaden retrieval?

Broad - Use All or Full Text search which looks throughout the record and full-text article

Less Broad - Use Keyword search limiting to title, abstract and subject headings

Most Precise (fewest results) Use Subject search limiting to subject headings

Start Smart - Use RefWorks

Spending the necessary time to learn RefWorks on the front-end will save you hours of work later!

Simply stated, RefWorks creates a near-perfect Bibliography/References/Works Cited page from the Library database citations that you import while researching a topic.  You only need follow-up in making minor adjustments. 

Additionally, the Write-n-Cite plug-in allows you to easily format your in-text citations using your imported references as you word-process your paper in Word.

Business Librarian

Kristy Cunningham's picture
Kristy Cunningham
Contact:
Library 324
931-221-7017
Subjects:Business

Find Periodicals (Journals and Newspapers)

AP Library Find Periodicals logo

Search the APSU Library Collection of Print and Electronic Journals

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

 

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please contact us