Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Science Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Collection Development Guidelines for Computer Science & Information Technology

Computer Science Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

The collection primarily supports the instructional and research needs of APSU students and faculty in the Department of Computer Science & Information Technology (CSIT) in the College of Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (CoSTEM). In addition, it supports the information needs of other faculty, staff, and students of the university. CSIT offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs in a number of concentrations. At undergraduate level, the department offers B.S. degrees with concentrations in information assurance and security focusing on security and data protection; computer systems with an emphasis on programming and algorithm design; systems development focusing on computer applications in business; computer networking with an emphasis on data communication and modern networking technologies; Internet and web technology with an emphasis on development and support of Internet applications and systems; and database administration with an emphasis on the design, implementation, and administration of database systems. In addition, CSIT offers a minor in mobile software technology with a focus on new, popular areas of smartphones and apps. At graduate level, the department offers Master’s degrees with concentrations in data management and analysis, predictive analytics, information assurance and cyber security, mathematical finance, and mathematics instruction. Freshman and sophomore courses are general education cores. 

Accrediting body:

N/A 

Degrees offered:

Bachelor of Science (B.S.), Master of Science (M.S.), Professional Science Master’s (P.S.M.)

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • Software Engineering
  • Information Security, Cyber security
  • Mobile Computing
  • Database Management
  • Programming
  • Data Science
  • Computer Networking
  • Computer Crimes
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Systems Analysis & Design

Focus Areas:

  • Cryptography
  • Web Development & Programming
  • Computer Forensics
  • Computer Ethics
  • Robotics

Related Subject Areas

  • Computer Engineering 
  • Mathematics

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

North American and Europe

Chronological Emphasis:

The collection focuses on latest scholarly computer science materials published within the last five years.

Noted Publishers:

Addison-Wesley, CRC Press, MIT Press, O’Reilly, Sams Publishing, Wiley

Preferred Dates of Publication:

Publications published within the past five years

Types of Resources:

Monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, videos, computer certification exam study guides

Notes and Other Considerations:

N/A

Review Sources:

 ACQWebChoice Reviews Online, Resources for College Libraries 

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
Q 335 Artificial Intelligence  3
QA 75-76 Computer Science 3
QA 76.1 General and Reference Works 3
QA 76.2-.3 Computer science as a profession. Study, teaching & research 3
QA 76.5 -.59 Digital Computers, Data Processing, Multimedia Systems 3
QA 76.6 Programming 3
QA 76.7-.73 Programming Languages 3
QA 76.75-.77 Computer Software & Software Engineering (e.g., expert systems, games, hypertexts, viruses, OSs) 3
QA 76.8 Special Computers, Systems & Microprocessors (e.g., IBM, Macs, Raspberry PI, tablets) 3
QA 76.9 Security, Computer Architecture, Big Data, Algorithms, Encryption, Logic, Computer Mathematics 3
TK 5105.1-.9 Data Transmission Systems, Computer Networks 3
TK7885-7895 Computer Hardware 3
Z 102-3 Cryptography, Special Codes or Ciphers, and Secret Writing & their History 2

 

Dept. of Computer Sc. & IT

Department of Computer Science & IT
Contact department office at 931-221-7038 or email Dr. Leong Lee, Dept. Chair

Library Liaison:
Kebede Wordofa

Faculty Representative:
Dr. Yingbing Yu

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

Library Liaison

Kebede H. Wordofa's picture
Kebede H. Wordofa
Contact:
Library, Office LB 311

Tel. 931-221-7959

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.