Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives Unbound Collections
Gale Archives Unbound is a suite of collections, each devoted to a particular topic, from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century. The collections include primary, unpublished historical documents and draw from institutional sources, governmental sources, and private collections.
APSU subscribes to the following collections within Archives Unbound: Holocaust Studies, LGBT Studies, and Southeast Asian Studies. Databases within each collection are listed for individual search on the tabs above. All collections and databases may be searched simultaneously using the link below.
Southeast Asian Studies Collection (Individual Databases)
Ambassador Graham Martin And The Saigon Embassys Back Channel Communication Files, 1963-1975
Consists of State Department telegrams and White House backchannel messages between U.S. ambassadors in Saigon and White House national security advisers, talking points for meetings with South Vietnamese officials, intelligence reports, drafts of peace agreements, and military status reports. Subjects include the Diem coup, the Paris peace negotiations, the fall of South Vietnam, and other U.S./South Vietnam relations topics, 1963 to 1975.
Cambodia: Records of the US Department of State, 1960-1963
This collection provides a window into the political, social, and economic development of Cambodia, the rapidly maturing “modern” state in the heart of Southeast Asia. It is an essential resource for the study of Southeast Asian history and the U.S. role in the war in Vietnam.
European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Colonialism and Nationalism in the Dutch East Indies, 1910-1930
This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Dutch colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.
Indochina, France, and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the U.S. State Department, Part 1: 1945-1949
Comprising records of the State Department’s Central Classified Files, this collection contains records relating to the internal affairs of Indochina, during the period 1945-49.
Intelligence Reports From The NSCs Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975
Primarily Department of State cables and CIA intelligence information cables concerning South and North Vietnam. Topics include the Vietnam War, U.S.-South Vietnam relations, South Vietnam’s political climate, opposition groups, religious sects, ethnic groups, labor unions, corruption, press censorship, the North Vietnam’s military and economy, peace negotiations, and events in Cambodia and Laos.
Laos: Records of the US Department of State, 1963-1966
This archive treats the political affairs of Laos in the 1960s, when the United States supported the government of Souvanna Phouma in the face of North Vietnamese aggression.
Observer: News For The American Soldier In Vietnam, 1962-1973
The Observer was a weekly newspaper published by the Command Information Division of the U.S. Military Assistance Command’s Office of Information. It was the official organ of the Military Assistance Command, and it carried official news about and for American troops in Vietnam
South Vietnam: Records of the Office of the Defense Attaché, 1973-1975
This collection comprises the DAO’s Historian’s Office files, including the official DAO History and the background files used in its compilation. The background files consist of serial reports, program memoranda and correspondence, operational and planning historical reports, intelligence summaries, briefing papers, press releases, and documents on the ceasefire.
Sukarno and the Army-Pki Rivalry in the Years of Living Dangerously, 1960-1963
The records in this collection cover the internal and foreign policies, personalities, and events in a pivotal period of Indonesian history. They consist of essential memoranda, correspondence, telegrams, memoranda of conversations, reports, and news articles and cover all aspects of U.S. relations with Indonesia, Indonesian internal affairs, and Indonesia’s relations with its neighbors.
U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort in Vietnam: US Operations Mission, 1950-1954
This collection consists of unique records of U.S. agencies established to intervene in Vietnam, the country U.S. foreign policy deemed a lynchpin in the free world’s fight against communism. The Subject Files from the Office of the Director, U.S. Operations Missions, document the myriad concerns and rationales that went into the control and direction of U.S. economic and technical assistance programs, as well as the coordination of mutual security activities, with respect to Vietnam.
U.S. Civilian Advisory Effort In Vietnam: US Operations Mission, 1954-1957: Classified & Subject Files of the Executive Office
This collection consists of unique records of the U.S. Operations Mission established to intervene in Vietnam-the country U.S. foreign policy deemed a lynchpin in the free world’s fight against communism.
U.S. Military Advisory Effort in Vietnam: Military Assistance Advisory Group, Vietnam, 1950-1964
This collection features a wealth of information necessary for research in Southeast Asian and Asian Studies, Vietnam Conflict Studies, Military History, Diplomatic History, International Affairs, Political Science and Political Economy.
U.S. Relations and Policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958: Records of the Office of Southeast Asian Affairs
This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of U.S.-Southeast Asia relations between 1944 and 1958, and places them in the context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes that have fashioned the American role in Southeast Asia.
Electronic Resources Librarian