Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Allied Health Collection Development Guidelines: Collection Development Plan

Allied Health Collection Development Plan

Program Description:

Through APSU's Department of Allied Health Sciences, you can prepare for in-demand healthcare careers in medical laboratory science, radiologic technology, radiography, radiation therapy, nuclear medicine, and sonography

Accrediting body:

National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology

Degrees offered:

Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Science

Bachelor of Science in Radiologic Technology

Overall Collecting Level Desired:

3: Instructional Support Level (see description of collecting levels)

Target Areas:

  • Medical Laboratory Science
  • Radiologic Technology
  • Radiography
  • Radiation Therapy 
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Sonography

Focus Areas:

  • TBD

Related Subject Areas

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Nursing
  • Health and Human Performance
  • Psychology

Languages:

English

Geographical Emphasis:

United States, South America

Chronological Emphasis:

From 1961 - 

Noted Publishers:

Wolters Kluwer Health, Springer, Elsevier

Preferred Dates of Publication:

From 2011 - present

Types of Resources:

Monographs, handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, anthologies, videos; textbooks may be considered for information not readily obtainable elsewhere

Notes and Other Considerations:

 

Review Sources:

Doody's Core TitlesChoice Reviews Online, Resources for College Libraries

Collection Levels by LC Subject Subdivisions

LC Subject Subdivisions
Call # Ranges Subject Collection Level
RB37-56.5 Clinical Pathology, Laboratory Technique  3
R895-920 Medical Physics, Medical Radiology, Nuclear Medicine 3
RC71-78.7 Radiography 3
RM847-862 Radiation Therapy 1
R855-857 Medical Technology, Biomedical Engineering, Instrumentation (Includes Sonography) 2
RB40

Clinical Chemistry

2
RC633-647.5 Hematology 3

 

Contact Information

Department of Allied Health Sciences

Library Liaison:
Ross Bowron

Faculty Representative:
Dr. Eleanor Jator

General Selection Guidelines

guidelines icon

Health Sciences Liaison

Ross Bowron's picture
Ross Bowron
Contact:
Office: Library 220, Main Floor
Phone: 931.221.7381

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.