Read more about ProQuest's AI initiatives, especially the Research Assistant feature now available in ProQuest Central and related databases, on their blog.
Doctoral dissertations and master’s theses in full-text from universities in 88 countries
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities
ProQuest Research Assistant for PQDT
Targeted Keywords Searches: Helps users craft a more structured Boolean search, adding relevant terms with a click.
Key Takeaways: The ProQuest Research Assistant for Dissertations & Theses Global uses the same AI technology as eBook Central to generate: the "key takeaway;" brainstorm "related research topics;" and to describe the "important concepts" found within a dissertation/thesis.
Citation Connections (Foundational Research, Similar Documents):
Users will now find Citation Connection features – research tools unique to dissertations – are integrated into the ProQuest Research Assistant.
Foundational Research – Quickly receive a set of highly co-cited sources in a subject area to begin building subject expertise
Similar Dissertations – Accelerate the discovery of additional graduate research related to a topic.
The citations in these features may include a number (with links) showing the number of times cited and the number of shared citations with the original document.
