Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historical and Archival Resources
The Library of Congress is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world, with millions of items including books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
The Library provides Congress, the federal government and the American people with a rich, diverse and enduring source of knowledge to inform, inspire and engage them and support their intellectual and creative endeavors.
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only a small number are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by NARA forever. Those valuable records are preserved and made available to the public.
Search the NARA Catalog.
Search the NARA Guide to Federal Records.
Access to Archival Databases (NARA)
Searches some of NARA's electronic records holdings. There are databases and indexes from more than 30 archival series, including over 350 data files totaling well over 50 million unique records; this number will continue to grow. Search by person, geographic areas, organizations, or dates.
Avalon Project (Yale University Law Library)
Primary source collection housing digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation (Library of Congress)
Assembles the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress (1774-1875).
Core Documents of our Democracy (GPO)
Provides direct online access to the basic federal government documents that define the nation’s democratic society. These titles contain information about the democratic process that are critical to informed citizens.
CyberCemetery (GPO, University of North Texas)
Provides permanent public access to the websites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions.
National Historical Geographic Information System
Provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.
Our Documents (NARA)
Invites all Americans to participate in a series of events and programs to get us thinking, talking and teaching about the rights and responsibilities of citizens in our democracy. At the heart of this initiative are 100 milestone documents of American history
SIRIS (Smithsonian Institution)
Manages, describes, and provides access to research resources held primarily by the Smithsonian Institution's libraries, archives, and research units.
Virtual CD-ROM/Floppy Disk Library (GPO, Indiana University)
Offers public access and preservation services for the nearly 5,000 CD-ROMs, DVDs, and floppy disks distributed by the GPO under the FDLP. Access to some documents restricted to Indiana University users.