Coronavirus Research: Databases

Annual Reviews

Relevant review articles:

Peer-reviewed research and research libraries continue to be trusted guides during times of scientific uncertainty. As the world navigates the COVID-19 pandemic, BioOne is proud to share the wealth of relevant content from our publishing partners to provide support for those working on crisis solutions. Visit our COVID-19 resource page.

In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries and the Greater Western Library Alliance, BioOne and our publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access through 2020:

• Avian Diseases (125 articles)
  Publisher: American Association of Avian Pathologists
• Journal of Wildlife Diseases (56 articles)
  Publisher: Wildlife Disease Association
• Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine (34 articles)
  Publisher: American Association of Zoo Veterinarians

Patrons will find additional relevant articles related to the coronavirus and pandemics on BioOne Complete.
 

(updated March 16, 2020)

The BMJ (high impact medical research journal) - collection of coronavirus resources and news.

(updated August 04, 2020)

CDC - Novel Coronavirus Reports

(updated December 17, 2020)

Cell Press Coronavirus Resource Hub

At Cell Press, we recognize the urgent need to quickly share information about SARS-CoV-2, the coronavirus that causes COVID-19. On this hub page, curated by members of our editorial team, you'll find the latest content about he outbreak as it appears in Cell Press Journals.

(updated December 17, 2020)

Clarivate Analytics Get the insights on the Coronaviruses. Research articles and news on COVID-19 pandemic. 

(updated March 16, 2020)

Duke University Press

Amid the worldwide spread of COVID-19, it’s a challenging time, and our thoughts are with those affected by this disease. In support and solidarity, we are providing free access to [a selection of] books and journal articles to help build knowledge and understanding of how we navigate the spread of communicable diseases.

(updated August 04, 2020)

Elsevier - Coronavirus Information Center

Research

The Coronavirus Information Center provides access to the following resources: journal articles (including The Lancet Coronavirus hub), book chapters, early-stage research (preprints on SSRN), and resources for drug discovery. 

The Lancelot Coronavirus Hub

To assist health workers and researchers working under difficult and dangerous conditions to bring this outbreak to a close, The Lancet has created a Coronavirus hub page. This hub brings together new coronavirus content from The Lancet journals as it is published.

(updated August 04, 2020)

We have brought together a number of freely available research resources related to the Coronavirus group of viruses, and epidemics more broadly.

We are making these resources freely available to access. Whilst these materials do not only relate to the current clinical challenges of COVID-19, they may provide relevant context to how the world reacted to other previous Coronavirus outbreaks, notably SARS.

See here for more information.

(updated March 28, 2020)

COVID-19 Support from Gale - resources to support libraries and educators impacted by COVID-19.

(updated March 18, 2020)

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

(updated August 04, 2020)

JAMA Network (Journal of the American Medical Association)

Browse the JAMA Network COVID-19 collection, including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness.

(updated March 16, 2020)

The Lancet

To assist health workers and researchers working under challenging conditions to bring this outbreak to a close, The Lancet has created a Coronavirus Resource Centre. This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus disease (COVID-19) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All of our COVID-19 content is free to access.

(updated December 17, 2020)

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Get access to the NLM's GenBank sequence data at the severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) data hub.

Additional NLM Resources: 

• Clinical Studies related to the coronavirus disease (ClinicalTrials.gov)
• Journal article citaitons (PubMed)

LitCovid - LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 1120 (and growing) research articles in PubMed.

Disaster Lit - Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience. 

(updated August 04, 2020)

Nature Research

Coronavirus Collection - To support urgent research to combat the ongoing outbreak of COVID-19, caused by the novel coronavirus-CoV-2, the editorial teams at Nature Research have curated a collection of relevant articles.

(updated December 17, 2020)

The New England Journal of Medicine - Coronavirus (Covid-19)

A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. All content related to the Covid-19 pandemic is freely available.

(updated August 04, 2020)

Free access to Oxford University Press (OUP) resources on coronavirus and related topics

With the recent coronavirus situation, Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this potential health crisis.

(updated March 16, 2020)

Preprint Servers: 

• bioRxiv - Preprint server for biology. 
• medRxiv - Preprint server for health sciences. SEARCH RESULTS for COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2 preprints from medRxiv and bioRxiv.
• Centre for Mathematical Modeling and Infectious Diseases - COVID-19 - CMMID COVID-19 research repository. 
• Outbreak Science - Rapid PREreview designed to facilitate rapid, open review of preprint related to outbreaks. 
• Science Open - a collection of research on the coronavirus disease COVID-19. It is updated automatically for the terms COVID-2019, SARS-CoV-2, 2019-nCoV. Caution: articles flagged as "preprint" have not yet undergone peer review.
• SSRN - SSRN’s Coronavirus and Infectious Disease Research page provides a curated view into the early-stage research to help researchers, public health authorities, clinicians and the public understand, contain and manage this disease.

Preprints - A preprint is a version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to formal peer review. As soon as it's posted, your preprint becomes a permanent part of the scientific record, citable with its own unique DOI. (PLOS - Public Library of Science).

(updated August 04, 2020)

Ebook Central (Proquest)

The novel coronavirus (COVID-19) is having an unprecedented effect on higher-education institutions across the globe. Many libraries have found they suddenly need to support a new level of distance learning and research – and access to electronic resources is imperative.

To support this urgent need, ProQuest has partnered with more than 50 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons – at no extra charge.

Coronavirus Research Database

Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

(updated August 04, 2020)

Access Coronavirus (COVID-19) Articles from SAGE Publishing

February 12, 2020

Research related to coronavirus is freely available on SAGE Journals. A full list of the open articles includes research both in science, technology, and medicine and in the social and behavioral sciences. SAGE will continue to make new research available related to the virus as it is published.

SPRINGER NATURE  - Coronavirus Resources

Springer Nature encourages early sharing of research submitted to all our journals through preprints, and our In Review preprint service is available for many journals. We strongly urge authors submitting articles related to this emergency to share underlying datasets relating to the outbreak as rapidly and widely as possible. We continue to work with global organisations to support the sharing of relevant research and data and are a signatory on the consensus statement, Sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak as well as supporting the initiative from the White House Office of Science and Technology to make all relevant global research, and data, available in one place.

(updated August 04, 2020)

Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access 

In addition to the articles on [the site above] related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community. On workdays, newly published articles are made free within 24 hours of publication. Articles published after 14:00 (EST) on Friday will be made free the following Monday.

(updated August 04, 2020)