Resources on Einstein, Gandhi, and Mughal India: Resources for Mughal India

• Cambridge University’s Digital Himalaya
• Digital South Asia Library
• Fordham University’s Indian History Sourcebook
• Duke University’s Going Global in Mughal India
• The Packard Humanities Institute Persian Literature in Translation
• Digital South Asia Library’s Historical Atlas of South Asia
• Columbia University’s South Asian Literature Primary Sources
• Muktabodha Indological Research Institute
• National Archive of India Online Collection

• Humayun Nama: The History of Humayun by Gul-Badan Begum
• The Akbar Nama & Ain-i Akbari of Abu'l-Fazl
• The Tabaqat-i-Akbari (in 3 Vols.) of Khwajah Nizamuddin Ahmad: 
• The History of India, as Told by Its Own Historians by Henry Miers Elliot edited by‎ John Dowson: 

• Taj Mahal website, Department of Tourism, Government of Utar Pradesh, India
  • “About the Taj” drop down menu
  • Scroll to bottom of page to see links to other constructions, like the Agra Fort and the Akbar Tomb.
• List of archaeological museums in India
• Annotated bibliography compiled by the ICOMOS Taj Mahal Conservation Collaborative 
• Cornell University Library’s “Beyond the Taj”
• Amal-i-Salih (a primary-source account of the life and reign of Shah Jahan)
• Translated extracts of the Padshahnama appear in volume 7 of H.M. Elliot and J. Dowson’s The History of India as Told by Its own Historians and in King of the World: The Padshahnama 
  • Note: An English translation can potentially be ordered through interlibrary loan. However, most library catalog’s that have this text list the language as Persian or Urdu.
• Jahangirnama
• Travels in the Mogul Empire, A.D. 1656-1668, by Francois Bernier 
• Aga Khand Collections

• Memoirs of Gulbadan Banu Begum and her Ahval (incomplete, only one copy exists today): http://www.bl.uk/manuscripts/FullDisplay.aspx?ref=Or_166 ; http://www.columbia.edu/itc/mealac/pritchett/00litlinks/gulbadan/index.html
• Documents like bainama (sale deeds), hibanama (gift deeds), nikahnama (marriage contract) give evidence of women inheriting and controlling property. These might be findable in the National Archive of India’s online portal: https://www.abhilekh-patal.in/jspui/
• A detailed analysis of artwork, writings, and records that depict women, can be used to make inferences about gender. See Professor Kavita Singh’s lecture on the portrayal of women in Mughal paintings for how this can be done: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RcRo5-gJkog&ab_channel=RanaSafvi
• The Proceedings of the Indian History Congress has several articles on this subject that can be used to backtrack to find primary sources, depending on what is needed: http://ezproxy.lib.apsu.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/journal/procindihistcong
  • “’Middle Class’ Women in Mughal India’ 2014, volume 75, p. 295-206
  • “Women and Property in Mughal Inida” 2007, vol. 68, p. 406-415.
  • “Representation of Professional and Working Women in Mughal Miniature Painting (16^th-18^th Century)” 2006, volume 67, p. 307-311
  • “Rethinking Mughal India: Challening of a Princess’ Memoir” 2003, vol. 38, p. 53-65
  • “Property Rights of Muslim Women in Mughal India” 1987, vol. 48, p. 261-270
• Bibliography and appendix of artwork from this thesis
• Rereading the Black Legend: The Discourses of Religious and Racial Difference in the Renaissance Empires, chapter 3: “Hierarchies of Age and Gender in the Mughal Construction of Domesticity and Empire"

• A History of India: Muntakhab-Ut-Tawarikh, Vol. 2 (excerpts)
• Muntakhab-Ut-Tawarikh, Vol. 2 (full text)
  • “The second volume covers the first forty years of Mughal Emperor Akbar's reign from 14 February 1556 to October 1595. Abd al-Qadir Bada'uni was Eye-witness of Akbar's era. This volume is an unusually frank and critical account of Akbar's administrative measures, particularly regarding religion and his conduct. This volume was kept concealed till Akbar's death and was published after Jahangir's accession (approximately in 1605).”
• S.M. Ikrams’ Muslim Civilization in India, Chapter 12: “Religion at Akbar’s Court” 
• The Ain I Akbari
  • Administrative reports from Akbar’s reign
• Dabistan: or, School of manners: the religious beliefs, observances philosophic opinions and social customs of the nations of the East
• The Din-i-Ilahi or The Religion of Akbar

• The Madras Observatory
  • The Madras Observatory: 1792 - 1931
  • Madras Observatory: A Forgotten Page in History 
• Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts “Kerala School of Astronomy and Mathematics: Contributions and Contemporary Relevance”
• University of St. Andrew’s MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
• Primary sources cited in S.M. Razaullah Ansari’s “Introduction of Modern Western Astronomy in India During 18-19 Centuries
• The Met’s Astronomy and Astrology in the Medieval Islamic World
• U.S. National Library of Medicine’s “Islamic Culture and the Medical Arts” (contains primary sources)

Consider resources listed under all other topics – this topic can cover gender, architecture, science, religion, etc.

• S.M. Ikrams’ Muslim Civilization in India, Chapter 17: “Economic and Social Development under the Mughals”: 
• The British Museum’s 7,885 objects related to the Mughal dynasty
• Look up the primary sources cited in:
  • “Akbar and Technology” in Social Scientist, Vol. 2, No. 9/10, p. 3-15
• The Akbarnama, Vol. 3
  • Documents the administrative system of the Moghul Empire, the “Account of the Hindu Sciences,” revenue of the empire, and traditions and culture of its people

• Penn Librarie’s Padshahnama image illustration
• Babur’s The Baburnama (Memoirs of Babur)
• The Tarikh-I Rashidi
• Humayun’s Qanun-I Humayuni (also called the Humayunama)
• Akbar’s The Akbarnama
• Muntakhab-ut-Tavarikh
• Jahangir’s The Tuzuk-i-Jahangiri
• The 'Padshahnama' (Book of Emperors') of Adb Al-Hamid Labhori (illustrations)

Look at sources above for primary sources on Akbar

• Rebel Sultans—Pillai 
• University of California, Berkley’s South Asian Primary Sources Guide
• Project Gutenberg’s Khilji Dynasty
• The Life and Works of Sultan Alauddin Khalji
• The Reign of Alauddin Khilji
• Library holdings for The Reing of Aluddin Khilji

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.