Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources on Einstein, Gandhi, and Mughal India: Find Book Reviews

Find Book Reviews by Browsing Journals

Book Reviews can also be located by browsing or searching journals and databases. To find reviews for books about history, you will need to look in history journals. From the Woodward Library website, go to Search & Find, then Find Periodicals, then History: https://browzine.com/libraries/527/subjects/58?sort=title  

You can browse history journals by time period or geographic region, depending on the subject of the book you are reviewing. As with film reviews, book reviews can be identified by looking for review/book review in the article title or by searching for articles that are 1-3 pages long.

 

Find Book Reviews by Searching Journals

You can also search for a specific book title. The process for searching a journal for a review of a specific book is the same as searching for a specific film: click on the journal, then click “See All” under the list of journal issues on the left-hand side of the screen. Click on one of the databases that contain the journal; this will redirect you to the journal’s homepage. From the homepage, there will be an option to search within the journal. In the example for Film Criticism, the search feature was in the upper left-hand corner of the webpage. On the homepage for Indian Historical Review, it is located in the upper right-hand corner of the screen:

If you don’t have any luck finding a review of your book with the method described above, you can consult any secondary-source history database. For book reviews, I recommend:

  • JSTOR
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text
  • Project Muse
  • World History (Gale OneFile)

Different databases will return different results for the same search. A search for reviews of the book Every Step a Lotus: Shoes for Bound Feet by Dorothy Ko will return the following results in the databases listed above:

  • JSTOR – 10
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text – 1
  • Project Muse – 1
  • World History (GaleOneFile) - 0

Need Help? Schedule a Research Consultation

Nicole Wood's picture
Nicole Wood

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device