LibGuides: Local Information Research Guide: Article Databases

Key Electronic Resources

Try These First!

Leaf Chronicle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic full-text newspaper articles
*Contains electronic full text for articles appearing in The Clarksville Leaf Chronicle

*Includes current articles and archives beginning on November 1999
Tennessee Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clarksville, Nashville, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Knoxville news
The Tennessee Newspaper Collection provides full-text access for newspapers and television news broadcasts from across the state of Tennessee.
- Chattanooga Times-Free Press - NewsBank: April 1, 1995 - present
- Commercial Appeal (Memphis) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Oct. 1, 1847 - present
- Knoxville News-Sentinel - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Feb. 1, 1887 - present
- Leaf Chronicle (Clarksville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Nov. 10, 1999 - present
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Sep. 2, 1812 - 2002
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Jan. 1, 1999 - present (text / html version of paper only)
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Jan. 1, 2010 - recent (full PDF scans of paper with several day delay for most current issues)
Several other local and regional news outlets are also available:
- List of all newspapers and newswires for Tennessee (NewsBank)
- Newspapers.com Southeast Collection (ProQuest)
- Newsstream: US Southeast (ProQuest)
Types of sources in this collection include:
- Blogs
- College/University Newspapers
- Journals
- Newspapers
- Transcripts
- Video

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your APSU single sign-on (OneStop) credentials to login.

If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask the InfoHub.

Browse Article Databases by Title

A-Z List of Databases
List of electronic resources sorted by title with the option to search for a specific database

Welcome

Welcome to the Woodward Library Research Guide for Local Information. Here you will find links to databases with journal articles, images, websites and more. Please contact me if you have any questions about the guide or need assistance in finding your resources.

Founded in 1784 and named for General Rogers Clark, a frontier and Revolutionary War hero, Clarksville was established as a town by the N.C. Assembly in 1785 and incorporated with elected officials in 1819.

Local Information Resources for Research

America's News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news articles from trusted newspapers and news sources from all 50 states
*America's News (2021 edition) provides browsing and searchable full-text for over 3000 newspapers and news broadcasts from across the United States

*contains the full text of articles appearing in some Tennessee newspapers and newswires

*covers local, state, and regional topics

*includes archives and current articles for most titles
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. history
*lists citations and full text for journal articles and books

*covers United States and Canadian historical events from prehistory to the present

*covers items published from 1910 to present
Digital Library of Tennessee (DLTN) This link opens in a new window
Tennessee Digital Collections
The Digital Library of Tennessee provides access to rare and unique primary sources housed in libraries, archives, and museums in the state of Tennessee. Explore photographs, letters, diaries, oral histories, maps, original art, music, material culture, and archival material that documents the cultural heritage of the state of Tennessee from the Pre-Columbian era to the present.
HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Genealogical and historical research, U.S. census records
*includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses

*offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories \

*provides access to more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more
Leaf Chronicle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic full-text newspaper articles
*Contains electronic full text for articles appearing in The Clarksville Leaf Chronicle

*Includes current articles and archives beginning on November 1999
Newsstream: US Southeast This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia
US Southeast Newsstream enables users to search the most recent regional news content, as well as archives which stretch back to the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Southeast Newsstream covers news sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile archive of hundreds of U.S. papers
For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

The collection features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Every aspect of society and every region of the nation is found in the archive -- rural and urban, large cities and small towns, coast to coast, etc. Includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests.

Also included are illustrated papers that bring the nineteenth century to life through the drawings of many artists.

Tennessee papers include:
Chattanooga Daily Gazette (Chattanooga, TN)
Daily Rebel (Chattanooga, TN)
Chattanooga Advertiser (Chattanooga, TN)
Jonesborough Whig, and Independent Journal (Jonesborough, TN)
Memphis Appeal (Memphis, TN)
Nashville Union (Nashville, TN)
Maryville Republican (Maryville, TN)

A selection of other ewspapers included are:
New York Herald (NY)
Lynchburg Virginian (VA)
Pacific Commercial Advertiser (HI)
Rocky Mountain News (CO)
Southern Illustrated News (VA)
Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago)
Milwaukee Sentinel (WI)
The Bee (OH)
The Mountaineer (SC)
PeaySearch This link opens in a new window
Discovery search of all print and electronic items available at Woodward Library
PeaySearch (Primo from Ex Libris) is a discovery service that allows you to find and access information about a wide range of print and electronic resources all from a single search point. With PeaySearch, you can search for books, journals and articles from our subscription databases digital repository (ASPIRE), open access resources, and more, all from one interface.
Tennessean This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic newspaper articles with full scans from 1812 to 2002 and 2010 to present (with a delay of several days)
This online version of The Tennessean offers full-text coverage from 1812 to 2002 and 2010 to present (with a delay of several days). It includes the following options:

*The Tennessean is available online from 2010 to present through ProQuest Recent Newspapers. There is a delay of a few days, so they most recent issues will not be available. These issues include full scans of the physical newspaper in PDF format.

*The Nashville Tennessean is available online from 1812 to 2002 through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Every issue includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. The Tennessean began in publication 1907 but this service includes earlier titles such as the Nashville Whig and the Daily American. These papers reported not only Nashville-area news, but carried stories from around the state and the nation.

The default setting for this link searches both of these platforms together. To search only one option, click on the "Change Databases" link within the database interface.
Tennessee Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clarksville, Nashville, Chattanooga, Memphis, and Knoxville news
The Tennessee Newspaper Collection provides full-text access for newspapers and television news broadcasts from across the state of Tennessee.
- Chattanooga Times-Free Press - NewsBank: April 1, 1995 - present
- Commercial Appeal (Memphis) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Oct. 1, 1847 - present
- Knoxville News-Sentinel - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Feb. 1, 1887 - present
- Leaf Chronicle (Clarksville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Nov. 10, 1999 - present
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Sep. 2, 1812 - 2002
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest U.S. Southeast Newsstream: Jan. 1, 1999 - present (text / html version of paper only)
- Tennessean (Nashville) - ProQuest Recent Newspapers: Jan. 1, 2010 - recent (full PDF scans of paper with several day delay for most current issues)
Several other local and regional news outlets are also available:
- List of all newspapers and newswires for Tennessee (NewsBank)
- Newspapers.com Southeast Collection (ProQuest)
- Newsstream: US Southeast (ProQuest)
Types of sources in this collection include:
- Blogs
- College/University Newspapers
- Journals
- Newspapers
- Transcripts
- Video

Subject Guide

Gina Nigro

Email Me

Contact:

Felix G. Woodward Library

Room 320 - 3rd floor

931-221-7028

Subjects: Art and Design, Culinary Arts, History: U.S., History: World, Local Information, Military Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Student Success

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

Guide to Icons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get a detailed description for the icons listed next to the resources on this page.