Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Your Fit by
Publication Date: 2016-10-20
Master the new world of work. You want--no, you need--a new job. But not just any job. The job. So you polish your resume till it shines. You apply for countless openings, tailoring your message to each. You search for the hidden job market, although it remains very well hidden. And the response? Well, it's underwhelming. To top things off, maze-like online application systems appear designed to keep you and the perfect job apart. What's going on? How people successfully land jobs has changed. You need help from a pro, someone who navigates career data, the labor market, and hot jobs with ease.
Publication Date: 2017-05-25
ReSearch: A Career Guide for Scientists is a career planning guide and practical tool for graduate students and postdocs. This book provides step-by-step processes for the assessment of career goals and the actions that can be taken in order to achieve them. ReSearch includes chapters on the basics of career planning, determining unique selling points, and navigating work-life concerns.
Taking Charge of Your Career by
Publication Date: 2017-01-12
The world of work is changing dramatically and jobs for life have become a thing of the past. Even people moving up the corporate ladder are questioning their choices and considering new possibilities, such as work/life balance or portfolio working. If you want to take charge of your career but don't know where to start, change can feel unobtainable - a pipe dream.This action-oriented and pragmatic book will help you overcome the barriers to deciding on a career and changing career, giving you a proven roadmap to achieve your goals. Taking Charge of Your Career will lead you step-by-step through the process of building your career strategy and making it happen. Full of exercises and self-assessment tools to help you make the right choices, it also includes real-life stories of successful career changers.
Technical Career Survival Handbook by
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Technical Career Survival Handbook: 100 Things You Need To Know provides the information needed to survive a technical career, enabling prospective technical career candidates and those currently in technical careers to explore all technical education possibilities, industries, disciplines, and specialties. This handbook better equips the reader to deal with the tough situations and decisions they have to make throughout their career. Topics include preparing for the workforce, employment challenges, and dealing with on the job situations. This book is a practical guidebook for scientists, engineers, and technicians who apply the principles of science and mathematics to develop practical solutions to technical problems. Offers insights on how to pursue and navigate a technical career Discusses job searches, interviews, offers, and counteroffers Includes day-to-day, in the trenches, job situations that may arise and best practices on how to address them
You Are Hired - Resumes and Interviews by
Publication Date: 2015
This book focusses on the six steps towards getting hired. They are as follows: 1. How to Approach Job Search? 2. Designing your Resume 3. Cover Letter Drafting 4. Image Projection 5. Group Discussions 6. Interview Handling Techniques Each of these steps is explained in detail to ensure that you will be able to implement them in getting your dream job.
APSU Career Services
APSU Students and Alumni resources.
Career Prep (Peterson's)
Choosing a career path doesn't come easy. Whether you're heading straight into the workforce or you're entering college first, our career tools help you get a handle on what you're interested in, the skills and training you'll need, and what you can expect from your career path. Discover which careers suit you best, research potential career options, and explore the requirements and outlooks for the occupations you're interested in.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Government database to assist one with making career decisions. The information provided describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, and the training and education needed for a wide range of occupations.
What Can I Do with this Major?
Whether you’re exploring majors or searching for information about your chosen field, this website will help you connect majors to careers. Learn about typical career areas and types of employers that hire people with each major, as well as strategies to make you a more marketable candidate. Continue your research through the websites provided.
Ask A Librarian
To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.
Off Campus Access
When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.
If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask a Librarian.