Biology Research Guide: Internet Resources

Free resource from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology. Guide to birds and bird watching with information on the identification, life history, and sound of bird species.

Connects people around the world by synthesizing and sharing information about amphibians to enable research, education, and conservation.

Online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history, built through contributions from students, photographers, and many others.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

Educational resources for topics in biology developed by the University of Arizona.

Database of key numbers in molecular biology.

Resource with images, videos, and processes of cells from a variety of organisms.

Global access to knowledge about life on Earth.

Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.

Online biology textbook.

Map of Life aims to support effective and global biodiversity education, monitoring, research and decision-making by assembling and integrating a wide range of knowledge about species distributions and their dynamics over time.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

The Division of Mammals houses a world-class collection of roughly 590,000 preserved specimens.

The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).