Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acropolis Museum, Athens, Greece
The Acropolis monuments endured catastrophes both in ancient times and in the Middle Ages. Until the 17th century, foreign travelers gave an intact image of the monuments, and this was the situation until the middle of the same century, when the Propylaea, which had been converted into a barracks, were blown up. Thirty years later, the Ottoman conquerors dismantled the neighboring temple of Athena Niki to use its material to strengthen the fortification of the Acropolis. The gloomy year for the Acropolis was in 1687, when many architectural members of the temple scattered around the rock of the Acropolis due to a Venetian bomb. Foreign visitors searching through the ruins took ancient fragments as souvenirs. In the 19th century, Lord Elgin removed architectural sculptures from the frieze, metopes and pediments of the Parthenon.
Accademia Gallery, Florence, Italy
The birth of the Gallery dates back to 1784, when the Grand Duke of Tuscany Pietro Leopoldo reorganized the Academy of the Arts of Design, founded in 1563 by Cosimo I de'Medici, in the modern Academy of Fine Arts. The new institution occupied the rooms of the fourteenth century Hospital of San Matteo and those of the convent of San Niccolò di Cafaggio. The museum was enriched with the suppression of churches and convents ordered by Pietro Leopoldo in 1786 and by Napoleone Bonaparte in 1810. The decisive event in the history of the museum was the transfer of Michelangelo's David from Piazza della Signoria in August 1873. The most famous sculpture in the world waited nine years, kept in a wooden case, the conclusion of the construction of the Tribune designed by the architect Emilio De Fabris to welcome it.
Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art
The Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art is situated in the Plaça dels Àngels, in El Raval, Ciutat Vella, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain. The museum opened to the public on November 28, 1995
Bargello Sculpture Museum, Florence, Italy
This is a listing of the 72 museums in Florence.
British Museum, London, England
The British Museum was founded in 1753, the first national public museum in the world. From the beginning it granted free admission to all 'studious and curious persons'. Visitor numbers have grown from around 5,000 a year in the eighteenth century to nearly 6 million today.
Capitoline Museums, Rome, Italy
The creation of the Capitoline Museums has been traced back to 1471, when Pope Sixtus IV donated a group of bronze statues of great symbolic value to the People of Rome. The collections are closely linked to the city of Rome, and most of the exhibits come from the city itself.
Louvre Museum, Paris, France
The Louvre is the national museum and art gallery of France, housed in part of a large palace in Paris that was built on the right-bank site of the 12th-century fortress of Philip Augustus. It is the world’s most-visited art museum, with a collection that spans work from ancient civilizations to the mid-19th century.
The history of the museum, of its building is quite unusual. In the centre of Paris on the banks of the Seine, opposite the Tuileries Gardens, the museum was installed in the former Orsay railway station, built for the Universal Exhibition of 1900. So the building itself could be seen as the first "work of art" in the Musee d'Orsay, which displays collections of art from the period 1848 to 1914.
Museum of Anthropology, Vancouver, BC, Canada
MOA is committed to promoting awareness and understanding of culturally diverse ways of knowing the world through challenging and innovative programs and partnerships with Indigenous, local and global communities. The Museum of Anthropology was established in 1949 as a department within the Faculty of Arts at the University of British Columbia. In 1976, it moved to its current home, an award-winning concrete and glass structure designed by Canadian architect Arthur Erickson with the grounds landscaped by Cornelia Oberlander. The building houses the Museum as well as the Laboratory of Archaeology, its laboratories and storage facilities. To widen its role as a public and research institution, MOA completed a major expansion and renovation in 2010. This initiative increased MOA’s size by 50 per cent, enhancing its public spaces and its research infrastructure adding laboratories, collections storage, research rooms and the Library and Archives featuring an oral history language laboratory. In 2017, MOA opened a new Gallery of Northwest Coast Masterworks and is currently working on expanding its facilities for programming and performances. Since its inception, MOA has been at the forefront of bringing Indigenous art into the mainstream by collecting and curating traditional and contemporary Indigenous art in a way that respects the artists and the cultures from which this work comes. MOA resides on the traditional and unceded territory of the Musqueam people and works by Musqueam artists welcome visitors to the site...
National Archaeological Museum, Naples, Italy
The National Archeological Museum is one of the most ancient and important museums for the abundance and uniqueness of its heritage and for the contribution it offered the European cultural survey. The origin and the constitution of its collections are connected with Charles III of Bourbon, on the throne of the Kingdom of Naples since 1734, and his cultural policy. The king promoted the exploration of the Vesuvian towns buried by the eruption of 79 AD (started in 1738 in Herculaneum, in 1748 in Pompeii) and looked after the carrying out of a “Museo Farnesiano” in the town, transferring from the palaces of Rome amd Parma part of the rich collection inherited from his mother Elizabeth Farnese. His son Ferdinando IV stimulated the project for the joining together in the present building, constructed at the end of the 16th century as a riding school and from 1616 till 1777 seat of University, both the Farnese Collection (Collezione Farnese) and the collection of Vesuvian findings already exhibited in the “Museo Ercolanense” inside the Royal Palace in Portici. From 1777 the building was subjected to a long series of renovation works and extension plans entrusted to the architects F. Fuga and P. Schiantarelli. In the decade of the French domination (1806-1815) the first works were carried out and with the return of the Bourbons to Naples in 1816 the building was denominated “Real Museo Borbonico”. Conceived as a Universal Museum, it housed institutes and laboratories (Real Biblioteca, Accademia del Disegno, Officina dei Papiri…), subsequently transferred to other seats in 1957. The collections of the Museum, become National in 1860, went enriching by the acquisition of findings coming from the excavations in the sites of Campania and Southern Italy and from private collections. The transfer of the Picture-Gallery to Capodimonte in 1957 determines its present characterization of Archeological Museum.
National Gallery, London, England
The National Gallery is an art museum in Trafalgar Square in the City of Westminster, in Central London. Founded in 1824, it houses a collection of over 2,300 paintings dating from the mid-13th century to 1900.
Prado Museum, Madrid, Spain
The building that today houses the Museo Nacional del Prado was designed by architect Juan de Villanueva in 1785. It was constructed to house the Natural History Cabinet, by orders of King Charles III. However, the building's final purpose - as the new Royal Museum of Paintings and Sculptures - was the decision of the monarch's grandson, King Ferdinand VII, encouraged by his wife Queen Maria Isabel de Braganza.The Royal Museum, soon quickly renamed the National Museum of Paintings and Sculptures and subsequently the Museo Nacional del Prado, opened to the public for the first time in November 1819.
Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice, Italy
Peggy Guggenheim was dedicated to the advancement of 20th century art. Palazzo Venier dei Leoni, where Peggy Guggenheim lived and which is now the location of her museum, is an unfinished 18th century Grand Canal palace.
Staatliche Museum of Archaeology, Berlin, Germany
The Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, with its many museums, falls under the umbrella of the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation). The other organizations that fall under the auspices of the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz (SPK) are the Staatsbibliothek (state library of Berlin), Geheimes Staatsarchiv (an archive of Prussian state documents), the Ibero-Amerikanisches Institut (a specialist library of Spanish- and Portuguese-language literature), and the Staatliches Institut für Musikforschung (a musicological research institute which has its own museum: the Musikinstrumenten-Museum). The SPK was founded in 1957 to preserve and continually enrich the cultural artefacts belonging to the former state of Prussia. The SPK is funded by the federal German government and all 16 of Germany’s individual states. With its numerous institutions that have evolved over generations, the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin constitutes an encyclopaedic museum, spread over many different sites, that aims to preserve, research, and display art treasures and cultural artefacts dating from all human history, and educate the public about their importance. The Staatliche Museen zu Berlin’s collections encompass the fields of European and non-European art, archaeology and ethnology from virtually all nations, cultures, and periods.
State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia
The State Hermitage Museum is a museum of art and culture in Saint Petersburg, Russia. The second-largest art museum in the world, it was founded in 1764 when Empress Catherine the Great acquired an impressive collection of paintings from the Berlin merchant Johann Ernst Gotzkowsky.
Tate Museum, London, England
When Tate first opened its doors to the public in 1897 it had just one site, displaying a small collection of British artworks. Today we have four major sites and the national collection of British art from 1500 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art, which includes nearly 70,000 artworks.
Uffizi Gallery, Florence, Italy
The Uffizi Galleries first brought together three extraordinary museum complexes in 2014. Together, these three structures contain the core of the collections of art, precious artisan-made objects, books, and plants belonging to the Medici, Habsburg-Lorraine and Savoy families. It is a stunning collection of treasures dating from Antiquity to the 20th century, and over the years, it has contributed to the fame of the Uffizi, Pitti Palace and Boboli Gardens. Since the Renaissance, these three museum sites have been connected to one another by an ingenious construction, the Vasari Corridor, and together they form one of the most important, most visited culture hubs in the world.
Vatican Museums, Vatican City/ Rome, Italy
"The Vatican, the Museum of Museums," not only houses the extensive collections of art, archaeology and ethno-anthropology gathered by the Popes over the centuries, but also contains some of the Apostolic Palace’s most extraordinary and artistically significant rooms. Any history of the museums' collections should rightly begin with the history of the rooms that the Popes over the ages chose as places of residence or private prayer and reflection. The first ones, in chronological order, are the Niccoline Chapel and the Borgia Apartment. In the first year of his papacy, Pope Nicholas V (Parentucelli), one of the greatest humanists of the time, called on Fra Angelico to decorate the private chapel of his apartments in the Apostolic Palace with a cycle of frescoes dedicated to St Stephen and St Lawrence. Fra Angelico, a renowned artist as well as a Dominican friar, depicted scenes from the saints' lives, drawn from the "Acts of the Apostles."
The decorations, richly detailed and full of meaningful allusions, make the Niccoline Chapel a perfect example of the link between religious and humanistic thought in fifteenth-century painting. A masterful restoration of Fra Angelico’s works was carried out in 1995 and 1996. Nicholas V's successor, Pope Alexander VI (Borgia) elected to live in the Apostolic Palace's most exclusive wing, and commissioned its decoration by Bernardino di Betto, better known as Pinturicchio. In 1494 the work was complete, a stunning cycle of frescoes decorating the various interconnecting rooms. The rooms were left empty following the Pope's death, and it was not until the end of the nineteenth century that the Borgia Apartment was open to the public. Today most of Pope Alexander VI's rooms are used to display the Collection of Contemporary Art inaugurated personally by Paul VI in 1973.
Victoria and Albert Museum, London, England
The V&A is the world’s leading museum of art and design, housing a permanent collection of over 2.3 million objects that span over 5,000 years of human creativity. The Museum holds many of the UK's national collections and houses some of the greatest resources for the study of architecture, furniture, fashion, textiles, photography, sculpture, painting, jewellery, glass, ceramics, book arts, Asian art and design, theatre and performance.
Ask A Librarian
To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.
Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.