Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Trial Access for Electronic Resources & Databases: 2015: November 2015

Dictionary of Old English: A to G online & Web Corpus (Trial Access)

Description: 

The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare.  An essential electronic reference for all scholars of Old and Middle English.

The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) A to G defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English.

Dates Available:  10-28-2015 to 11-30-2015

Price Info: A site license for APSU would be $200.00 (annual subscription) for each product.  See https://www.doe.utoronto.ca/store/index.php?page=corpus

Access:

Feedback for Dictionary of Old English: Web Corpus

Is this resource worthy of purchase for addition to the library's collection of electronic resources?

Feedback for Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus
Yes, please place it on the wish-list of potential resources: 1 votes (100%)
No, it would not be useful for research by APSU students or faculty members: 0 votes (0%)
No, it is inaccurate or difficult to use: 0 votes (0%)
No, it is a useful resource, but too expensive: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1

Feedback for Dictionary of Old English: A to G online

Is this resource worthy of purchase for addition to the library's collection of electronic resources?

Feedback for Dictionary of Old English: A to G online
Yes, please place it on the wish-list of potential resources: 1 votes (100%)
No, it would not be useful for research by APSU students or faculty members: 0 votes (0%)
No, it is inaccurate or difficult to use: 0 votes (0%)
No, it is a useful resource, but too expensive: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 1

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons