Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Article Databases and Modifications to Existing Electronic Resources: July 2022

Browse Article Databases by Title

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

Off Campus login screenshot
If you have problems accessing resources from off campus, please call the Library’s Access Services Desk at 931-221-7978 or Ask a Librarian

IEEE-Wiley eBooks Collection

The APSU Technology Access Fee has provided funds to purchase access to the IEEE-Wiley eBooks Collection. 

IEEE and John Wiley & Sons, Inc., have partnered to offer online
access to approximately 1,060 eBooks via the IEEE Xplore digital library.
The IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library focuses on content areas that lead today’s
cutting-edge technologies and help set standards for future advancements.

APSU access includes full-text for all IEEE-Wiley eBooks titles copyrighted in the year(s) 1974-2022 (with more than 67% of titles published since 2007).

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition

Tennessee Electronic Library has provided access to the Newspapers.com Southeast Edition .

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical newspapers from the southeast United States including over 2000 historic and recent newspapers in Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides online access to historical news papers. It offers full-page images with searchable full text of newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Invaluable for researchers, historians, genealogists, educators and students, Newspapers.com Southeast Edition provides enhanced opportunities for longitudinal and comparative analysis of historical events.

Please see a list of titles available for APSU in the Excel Spreadsheet provided below.

Tennessee Newspapers

TEL has made changes to the access they provide for several Tennessee newspapers.

I have reflected these changes on the A-Z database entry for the Tennessean and in a separate entry on the A-Z list called Tennessee Newspaper Collection that lists access and updated holdings for many Tennessee newspapers.

The main change in access involves the Tennessean.  1812-2002 is now provided through ProQuest Historical Newspapers.  2010 – Recent (with embargo of several days) is now provided through ProQuest Recent Newspapers and contains full scans of the newspapers in PDF format instead of just text / html content.  The Tennessean link above searches both of these resources combined.   There is some discrepancy in the embargo information I have been provided.  TEL indicated there should be a 7 day delay on content. ProQuest indicates initially indicated a 3 month delay, but now shows up to present is available.

The 2002 – 2010 holdings gap will be prioritized by TEL and they hope to provide access by 2023. In the meantime, APSU has access to the text/html (no full scans) version of the Tennessean for 1999 to present in the Newsstream: US Southeast database subscription.

Changes in access have also been made to the following papers (now in ProQuest Historical) and I have updated holdings in OCLC Find periodicals for all these titles. 

Knoxville News Sentinel

•             Coverage from 1886 to present

Memphis Commercial Appeal

•             Coverage from 1847 to present

Ask A Librarian

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask a Librarian webpage.

Guide to Resource Icons

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device