Skip to main content

HHP 3410: Home

This guide provides a starting point for students engaged in researching a topic. Library resources and tools that assist students in conducting a literature review, managing & organizing sources, and reporting results are included.

Assistance from an Expert

Try Research Assistance at the RAD, located between Starbucks and the Writing Center.  A more in-depth Research Consultation is also available.

Go APSU Library Mobile!

Gain access to library hours, databases, research guides, and more, as well as chat with a librarian,

Get Started - Select a topic via a review of primary research literature

One way to find information about your health disparities topic is to search Annual Reviews (Electronic Back Volume Collection).  Use the search box in the upper right hand corner to search across all Annual Reviews for information about your topic.  The Trip Database also include numerous review articles in medical fields.

Read the article (chapter) titles and their abstracts to identify current topics.  Each year, the most significant primary research literature is critically reviewed to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.  

Follow up - Find Secondary Sources (Books and Journal Articles)

Start with SocINDEX with Full Text and Social Sciences Full Text, which are linked below.  If you still need resources, then check out the additional ones on the Health & Human Performance Research Guide (third link below)..

NOTE: Remember to use RefWorks to capture citation information for sources that you find as you are searching a database.  Citations may be exported directly into RefWorks from the database as you are conducting your search.

Plan Your Search Strategy before Searching

Plan your search strategy carefully before you begin typing words. 

Do you want to start broad and then sift through lots of results?  Do you prefer starting with a small number of precise results, then use each article's list of article references to broaden retrieval?

Broad - Use All or Full Text search which looks throughout the record and full-text article

Less Broad - Use Keyword search limiting to title, abstract and subject headings

Most Precise (fewest results) Use Subject search limiting to subject headings

Start Smart - Use RefWorks

Spending the necessary time to learn RefWorks on the front-end will save you hours of work later!

Simply stated, RefWorks creates a near-perfect Bibliography/References/Works Cited page from the Library database citations that you import while researching a topic.  You only need follow-up in making minor adjustments. 

Additionally, the Write-n-Cite plug-in allows you to easily format your in-text citations using your imported references as you word-process your paper in Word.

Find Periodicals (Journals and Newspapers)

AP Library Find Periodicals logo

Looking for a specific journal?  Use the search box below to see if Woodward Library has electronic or print access to the title.  Selecting "subject" will allow you to search for a list of journals by subject. 

Off Campus Access

When you are off campus and you select a link to an online resource from the Woodward Library website, you will be prompted to provide your Last name (username) and "A number" (password) to login.

For more detailed information, go to the Off Campus Access guide. If you have any problems accessing resources from off campus, please contact us