This is the "Faculty" page of the "Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Services  

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.apsu.edu/services Print Guide Email Alerts

Faculty Print Page
  Search: 
 

Woodward Library

Felix G. Woodward Library

Library Hours & Calendar

Contact us: 931-221-7346

Requesting Books and Journals for Purchase

Faculty may nominate books and videos for purchase by the library.  The request will be reviewed by the Departmental Faculty Representative and the Librarian Liaison to be sure the requested title meets selection criteria.

Discover your department's library representative by viewing Liaisons by Department.

Photocopying, Printing, and Microforms

Photocopying: A photocopier for faculty use is located on the first floor of the Library.  To make copies from this machine, one must have a departmental code.  Faculty members should contact their respective academic departments for the proper code.  Copies are charged to departmental accounts at a rate of three cents per page.

Printing: The library does not charge to print from library computers.  Printing costs are paid from student Technology Access Fees.

Microforms:  Microfilm reader/printers are available on the first floor.  There is no charge for microform copies.

Scanner:  A scanner is available on the first floor.  There is no charge for scanning.

Streaming Video

Videos in the VAST collection can be embedded in D2L course content.  Please view this step-by-step procedure for the recommended method to provide access both on and off campus.

Starbucks

Starbucks

Need a boost?  Visit Starbucks!

Borrowing and Lending Information

The Access Assistance Services Desk is located on the 2nd floor as you enter the library.

Identification Cards: Your APSU campus ID card serves as your library card. You must have a valid APSU campus ID in order to use library materials and equipment.  

Loan Periods:  Faculty may check out general collection books and government publications for a period of six months.  Faculty members may checkout items from the Audio-Visual Collection for three weeks.   All library materials are subject to recall after three weeks if requested by someone else.

Renewals:  You will receive a reminder notice by email prior to the due date. In the spring semester, books are due one week before the last day of classes.

Fees for Overdue or Lost Books:   Woodward Library does not charge fines for overdue books except for overdue interlibrary loans which are fined at $1.00 per day per item.  Library users with overdue or lost books are blocked from library privileges. Users cannot check out materials, including reserves, use interlibrary loan services, or access library databases from off-campus until the materials are returned or the lost books are paid for or replaced.

Proxy Service:  Faculty members may designate a borrower as a Proxy to check out library material for them.   Material checked out by a Proxy appears on the authorizing borrower's library record; likewise, all notices go to the authorizing borrower, as do any pertaining blocks. To register a Proxy at the Library Access Assistance Desk, the Library needs the authorizing borrower's and the Proxy's APSU identification cards.  After registration, the Proxy will show his or her APSU identification card at the Access Assistance Desk to check out material for the authorizing borrower.

On-Campus Delivery:  Faculty members can request to have books or audio-visuals (but not periodicals or articles) delivered to their offices.  

Research Instruction

One of the Library's goals is to create students who can successfully negotiate today's information-rich environment, in and out of school.  Please consider arranging advanced instruction for your sophomore, junior and senior level course offerings.  Many teachers find that students produce better finished products after research instruction sessions tailored specifically to the needs of your class.  

      

    Library Reserve

    The Library provides both print and electronic access to certain course materials.  Instructors may place on reserve such materials as class notes, exams, homework assignments, journal articles, book excerpts, videos or CDs.  A print copy of Electronic Reserve materials will remain available at the Access Assistance Desk Desk for students in the class. The electronic version of those materials will be available via the Web 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, for student access.

    Faculty may complete a Reserve Request Form to place materials on Reserve.  For more information, view detailed information on library reserves and the copyright guidelines for print and electronic materials.

    Purchasing Materials

    Collection development at Austin Peay is a collaborative endeavor. All librarians participate in collection development and deselection activities by serving as librarian liaisons to academic departments and programs. (see links below).

    Software Requests

    The Library will install software supporting the curriculum on selected Infocommons PCs. The Library will only accept software that is properly licensed. For inclusion on the designated course-related PCs, faculty and staff are encouraged to submit copies of properly licensed software to the Library Systems Department. Software received by August 5 will be installed for the fall semester and software received by December 5 will be installed for the spring semester. While there is no guarantee, every effort will be made to include software submitted after the designated deadlines.

    Please make sure all submitted software is compatible with the Windows 7 operating system.

    For additional information please see Guidelines for Submitting Software for Inclusion on Library InfoCommons and instruction room PCs

    To request software, please complete the Academic Software Request Form (PDF) and return it to the Woodward Library Systems Department.

    Linking to Articles in D2L

    Are you preparing your lesson plans and need to know how to set up links to articles or other resources from the library databases - for D2L, course web pages, or other locations - so that they work from off-campus? Use the Library Resource Link Generator to make sure your links are accessible to your students from any location. Visit this page to set up a link or get more information.

    Room Reservation: Research Instruction and Meeting Rooms

    Library rooms are typically scheduled only for course-related instructional purposes and library-related activities. Rooms may be scheduled for use by university-related groups or organizations if facilities are not available elsewhere on campus.  Student groups requesting use of library rooms must be accompanied by a faculty member or advisor. No exceptions!  

    To request a reservation, this form must be submitted at least two working days (M-F, 8:00am-4:30pm) prior to the date requested. Exceptions to this policy may be made at the discretion of the Director of Library Services.  

    For more information, contact Teresa Beyke, Library Administrative Assistant to the Director of Library Services, at beyket@apsu.edu or 931-221-7618

    Technology Lending

    iPad:  Pre-loaded with free apps and a number of popular fiction and non-fiction contents.

    Kindles:  9 Kindles come with a cover, USB cable, and power adapter.  Only titles from Amazon.com can be read on the Kindles.

    Wireless Printing:  You can print from any computer connected to the APSU campus network, student wireless network, or faculty/staff wireless network.  You have one hour to retrieve your print job once it has been submitted.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip