This is the "Get Started" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology  

This Guide will help you find scholarly resources for researching a topic in your Psychology courses.
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2014 URL: http://libguides.apsu.edu/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find full-text articles, streaming videos, and e-books

Start your research by clicking on the Article Databases Tab to view a list of e-resources for this subject.

 

Essential Reference (eBook)

Review the DSM-V content before it is published in May 2013.

Cover Art
DSM-IV-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: Available Online
ISBN: 9780890420256
Publication Date: 2000
This Text Revision incorporates information culled from a comprehensive literature review of research about mental disorders published since DSM-IVĀ®was completed in 1994.

 

Videos on Psychology

Videos are located on the 2nd floor near the Research Assistance Desk.

 

New Books in Psychology

Cover Art
SPSS for Psychologists - Nicola Brace; Richard Kemp; Rosemary Snelgar
Call Number: BF39 .B73 2012
ISBN: 9781848726000
Publication Date: 2012-07-23

Cover Art
An Introduction to the Psychology of Paranormal Belief and Experience - Tony Jinks
Call Number: BF1031 .J56 2012
ISBN: 9780786465446
Publication Date: 2011-10-19
This study offers a balanced and accessible analysis of various explanations for the paranormal. It clarifies the relationship between the field of psychology and the supernatural.

E-resources Formatted for Your Mobile Device

 

Psychology Research Guide

Psi

Welcome to the Woodward Library Research Guide for Psychology.  Here you will find links to databases with journal articles, a database with reviews of psychology tests, and online videos in the areas of psychology and counseling.  

Please contact me using the information at the right if you have questions concerning any of the resources provided in this guide.  If you have ideas about resources to add to this guide, please use the feedback form at the bottom of this page.

Tips:

  • Books provide a thorough treatment of a subject, historical perspectives, and classic psychology literature.
  • Journal articles contain more in-depth research and current research in psychology. 
  • Browse in the Reference Collection and General Book Collection for call numbers starting with BF or RC.

Mobile version availableOn the Go? Get this guide on your Mobile device.

Reviews of Psychology Research

Annual Reviews
An Annual Review article is a gateway to essential research. It critically examines and qualifies the wide array of primary research material (books, articles, and other sources) relevant to a particular area of research and evaluates each important idea.

 

"This is Psychology" (APA Video series)

Related Guides or Course Specific Info May Be Available

Browse APSU Research Guides
by Michael Hooper - Last Updated Feb 13, 2014
Browse guides by subject, source type, research level, or specific course
4,657 views this year
 

Essential Book for Undergraduates

Cover Art
The Insider's Guide to the Psychology Major - Amira Rezec Wegenek; William Buskist
Call Number: BF80.7 .U6 W44 2010
ISBN: 9781433808159
Publication Date: 2010
Psychology is one of the most popular undergraduate majors. To gain an edge and get ahead, current and prospective psychology majors need access to insider knowledge.

 

Graduate Study

Cover Art
Graduate Study in Psychology - American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF77 .G73 2010
ISBN: 9781433810671
Publication Date: 2010
Graduate Study in Psychology is the best source of information related to graduate programs in psychology and provides information related to approximately 600 graduate programs in psychology in the U.S. and Canada.

View this resource in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the Library. (Library Use Only)

 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Electronic Resources Librarian

Profile Image
Michael Hooper
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: Library 324
Phone: 931-221-7092
Send Email
Subjects:
Music, Psychology
My favorite books are:
The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings series by J. R. R. Tolkien
 

Ask A Librarian


To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options please visit the Ask A Librarian Page

Citing Sources

 

APA Style (6th Edition)

Available in Reference Collection (2nd Floor)

Research Appointment

APSU undergraduate and graduate students may schedule a consultation with a Librarian to obtain assistance with your in-depth research or thesis topic.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip