Nursing Research Guide: Article Databases

*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters
*provides full text for 1300 journals, legal cases, and clinical trials
*covers topics in nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, public health and radiology
*covers items published from 1937 to the present

*Current issues are no longer available. Dates from 2013 to 2018 only.

*This exclusive collection provides access to over 80 of today’s top nursing journals used by nurses, nursing students and health professionals around the world on a daily basis.

*Click on the journals tab inside the database to see a list of all available titles.

*Lists citations and summaries of journal articles

*Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and preclinical sciences

*Covers items published from 1966

"Search for Full-Text @ APSU" option is available from the abstract view of each citation

*Full text electronic version of medical dictionaries, manuals and textbooks focused on the subject of nursing.

Title List:
AACN Procedure Manual for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care - 7th Ed. (2017)
AAFP Conditions A-Z (2020)
Access Device Standards of Practice for Oncology Nursing (2017)
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing - 8th Ed. (2018)
Cultural and Religious Sensitivity: A Pocket Guide for Health Care Professionals - 3rd Ed. (2018)
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications - 8th Ed. (2019)
Davis's Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual - 6th Ed. (2019)
Davis's Drug Guide For Nurses® - 17th Ed. (2021)
EBMcalc Complete Edition
Essentials of Perioperative Nursing - 6th Ed. (2017)
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education - 6th Ed. (2021)
Evidence Alerts
Fundamental & Advanced Nursing Skills - 3rd Ed. (2010)
High-Risk & Critical Care Obstetrics - 4th Ed. (2019)
ICD-10-CM: Clinical Modification (2020)
ICD-10-PCS: Procedure Coding System (2020)
Integration of Palliative Care in Chronic Conditions: An Interdisciplinary Approach (2017)
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice - 11th Ed. (2019)
Lippincott Nursing Procedures - 8th Ed. (2019)
Maternal Newborn Nursing Care Plans - 3rd Ed. (2016)
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research - 5th Ed. (2017)
Merck Manual Consumer Version
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales - 14th Ed. (2016)
Nursing Care Plans: Transitional Patient & Family Centered Care - 7th Ed (2017)
Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual, Sparks & Taylor's - 10th Ed. (2017)
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing - 4th Ed. (2017)
Pediatric Nursing: Caring for Children and Their Families - 3rd Ed. (2012)
Perinatal Nursing - 5th Ed. (2021)
Psychiatric Nursing: Assessment, Care Plans, and Medications - 9th Ed. (2015)
Stedman's Medical Dictionary (2016)
Thomson Reuters News Alerts
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care - 3rd Ed. (2021)

Cabells Journalytics, our searchable database of information and insightful metrics for verified, reputable journals, covers 18 academic disciplines and provides intelligence on more than 11,000 international scholarly publications.

Cabells Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors, currently lists more than 13,000 deceitful publications. Through continued partnerships with major academic publishers, journal editors, scholarly societies, accreditation agencies, and other independent databases,

Cabells provides accurate, up-to-date information about academic journals to more than 750 universities worldwide.

Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.


*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON

*content spans the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences (including economics)

*Recent editions of Annual Reviews (2009-2019) are provided as well as editions from the Annual Reviews Electronic Back Volume Collection (EBVC).

*Content dates range from 1932-2019

Cabells Journalytics, our searchable database of information and insightful metrics for verified, reputable journals, covers 18 academic disciplines and provides intelligence on more than 11,000 international scholarly publications.

Cabells Predatory Reports, the only searchable database of predatory journals with detailed summaries of deceptive behaviors, currently lists more than 13,000 deceitful publications. Through continued partnerships with major academic publishers, journal editors, scholarly societies, accreditation agencies, and other independent databases,

Cabells provides accurate, up-to-date information about academic journals to more than 750 universities worldwide.

*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, books, book chapters
*provides full text for 1300 journals, legal cases, and clinical trials
*covers topics in nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, public health and radiology
*covers items published from 1937 to the present

Designed for use in clinical settings, medical libraries and academic medical institutions, a subscription to EBSCO Health's eBook Clinical Collection offers nearly 2,000 hand-selected, quality titles that focus on medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.

*Download options are available on your personal computer for transfer to a mobile device. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world's most widely used index to educational-related literature. Established in 1966, ERIC is supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences.

ERIC is the largest education database in the records of the world-containing millions of journal articles, research reports, conference papers, dissertations, and books.

ERIC lists citations and short summaries of education journal articles and documents, many which contain links to full-text.

Find out how research becomes an ERIC record at http://eric.ed.gov/pdf/ERIC_Records.pdf

ERIC covers all education topics and contains items published from 1966 to the present. It contains an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms.

*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.

*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource

* lists citations and summaries of articles and entire text of some articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and reference books

*covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs

*covers items published in the last four years

*included are:

health/medical journals
health care general interest publications
topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems
PDR Family Guides
Gale encyclopedias
other reference sources

Provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics for students, consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Includes full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries to ensure that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.


*Integrates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals; consumer health magazines; newsletters; pamphlets; newspaper articles; topical overviews; and reference books

*provides access to personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals

*provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

*features access to the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to:

-Encourage collaborations across communities and sectors.
-Empower individuals toward making informed health decisions.
-Measure the impact of prevention activities.

Introducing Healthy People 2030

Healthy People 2030 continues in this tradition with the launch on December 2, 2020 of its ambitious, yet achievable, 10-year agenda for improving the Nation’s health. Healthy People 2030 is the result of a multiyear process that reflects input from a diverse group of individuals and organizations.

Healthy People 2030 strives to:

-Identify nationwide health improvement priorities.
-Increase public awareness and understanding of the determinants of health, disease, and disability and the opportunities for progress.
- Provide measurable objectives and goals that are applicable at the national, State, and local levels.
-Engage multiple sectors to take actions to strengthen policies and improve practices that are driven by the best available evidence and knowledge.
-Identify critical research, evaluation, and data collection needs.
National Data

DATA2030 allows users to explore the latest national data and trends that are available for Healthy People 2030 objectives. Users can further examine the data that are available for demographic population groups such as race and ethnicity, sex, educational attainment, and income, as well as other groups.

Users can search the available data for Healthy People 2030 objectives by Topic Area and/or data source using the Data Search feature. Users can further refine their search to data that are available for demographic population groups of interest. Users can also choose to display Standard Error and Confidence Intervals where available in search results.

Planning is now underway for Healthy People 2040!

*MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

*MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations.

*You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

*Provides full text for nearly 400 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines

*Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975

*Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in CINAHL

*Current issues are no longer available. Dates from 2013 to 2018 only.

*This exclusive collection provides access to over 80 of today’s top nursing journals used by nurses, nursing students and health professionals around the world on a daily basis.

*Click on the journals tab inside the database to see a list of all available titles.

Covers all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing‐focused curriculum.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.

*Premier database for journal articles, books and dissertations in all areas of psychology

*May include material in related disciplines: medicine, education, and social work

*Includes articles from 1872 to present; books from 1987 to present

*Can be searched simultaneously with PsycARTICLES and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

*Lists citations and summaries of journal articles

*Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and preclinical sciences

*Covers items published from 1966

"Search for Full-Text @ APSU" option is available from the abstract view of each citation

*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.

*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles

The Springer eJournal collection includes around 2000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.

*Full text electronic version of medical dictionaries, manuals and textbooks focused on the subject of nursing.

Title List:
AACN Procedure Manual for High Acuity, Progressive, and Critical Care - 7th Ed. (2017)
AAFP Conditions A-Z (2020)
Access Device Standards of Practice for Oncology Nursing (2017)
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing - 8th Ed. (2018)
Cultural and Religious Sensitivity: A Pocket Guide for Health Care Professionals - 3rd Ed. (2018)
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications - 8th Ed. (2019)
Davis's Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual - 6th Ed. (2019)
Davis's Drug Guide For Nurses® - 17th Ed. (2021)
EBMcalc Complete Edition
Essentials of Perioperative Nursing - 6th Ed. (2017)
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education - 6th Ed. (2021)
Evidence Alerts
Fundamental & Advanced Nursing Skills - 3rd Ed. (2010)
High-Risk & Critical Care Obstetrics - 4th Ed. (2019)
ICD-10-CM: Clinical Modification (2020)
ICD-10-PCS: Procedure Coding System (2020)
Integration of Palliative Care in Chronic Conditions: An Interdisciplinary Approach (2017)
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice - 11th Ed. (2019)
Lippincott Nursing Procedures - 8th Ed. (2019)
Maternal Newborn Nursing Care Plans - 3rd Ed. (2016)
Measurement in Nursing and Health Research - 5th Ed. (2017)
Merck Manual Consumer Version
Nurse's Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales - 14th Ed. (2016)
Nursing Care Plans: Transitional Patient & Family Centered Care - 7th Ed (2017)
Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual, Sparks & Taylor's - 10th Ed. (2017)
Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing - 4th Ed. (2017)
Pediatric Nursing: Caring for Children and Their Families - 3rd Ed. (2012)
Perinatal Nursing - 5th Ed. (2021)
Psychiatric Nursing: Assessment, Care Plans, and Medications - 9th Ed. (2015)
Stedman's Medical Dictionary (2016)
Thomson Reuters News Alerts
Translation of Evidence into Nursing and Health Care - 3rd Ed. (2021)

Note: When APSU is selected as your institution in account settings, search for full-text links are provided underneath search results for articles.

Initially, Trip stood for Turning Research Into Practice. Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content.

As well as research evidence, Trip also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.

*The Sigma Repository (formerly the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository) is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses around the world. It is an open digital academic and clinical focused service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types.

*This is the realization of Sigma Theta Tau International’s goal to offer nurses, in all roles around the globe, online access to reliable nursing information.

*Lists citations for millions of articles and full-text from over 200 periodicals

*Covers science, technology, medicine, and humanities

*Contains articles from 1996 to date