Geography Research Guide: Article Databases

*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics

*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, government publications, and books

*covers geology and related disciplines

*covers items published from 1785 to present for North America and from 1933 to present for the rest of the world

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides detailed information on current environmental issues and processes from both a scientific and a social standpoint.

From climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.

Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.

*provides background information, historical context, contemporary stances, and the impact of each of the issues and news events featured

*contains more than 190 country portals that contain country and cultural information, statistics, maps, flags, images, podcasts and more

*includes multimedia elements such as images, podcasts, audio and video

*content spans the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences (including economics)

*Recent editions of Annual Reviews (2009-2019) are provided as well as editions from the Annual Reviews Electronic Back Volume Collection (EBVC).

*Content dates range from 1932-2019

BioOne Complete is BioOne's online database of 200 high quality, full-text, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Nearly 1,500 academic libraries, research institutions, governmental bodies, nonprofit organizations and corporations around the world subscribe to BioOne Complete. BioOne complete Includes:

*Full-text for 200 titles from more than 149 publishers
*151 ISI-ranked titles
*67 titles available online only in BioOne Complete
*Over 150,000 full-text articles, and growing daily
*HTML, PDF, and mobile access
*contains citations and abstracts from scholarly journals
*covers biological, ecological and environmental sciences
* Also contains selected full-text for the specific titles listed at http://libguides.apsu.edu/c.php?g=36164&p=859729

*documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850

*collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists

*brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, letters and images of maps

*maintained by the Collaborating Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED

*search by country of origin or type of disaster

*covers over 12,800 mass disasters from 1900-present

Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides detailed information on current environmental issues and processes from both a scientific and a social standpoint.

From climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.

Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.

Focuses on environmental issues and policies with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.

Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends

Every title within RHO is surrounded with meaningful metadata and abstracts at a chapter level, making it fully searchable and browsable, providing a functionality of greater value to the student and researcher.

Key Features:
-Peer-reviewed content ensures quality of research
-All titles DRM-free
-Content available as HTML and PDF

*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, government publications, and books

*covers geology and related disciplines

*covers items published from 1785 to present for North America and from 1933 to present for the rest of the world

*provides background information, historical context, contemporary stances, and the impact of each of the issues and news events featured

*contains more than 190 country portals that contain country and cultural information, statistics, maps, flags, images, podcasts and more

*includes multimedia elements such as images, podcasts, audio and video

*Lists citations to federal government publications produced by the U.S. Government

*Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).

*Includes a bibliographic citation in each record.

*includes entries for documents published from 1976 to present

*Contains over 1800 full text, peer reviewed journals

*Provides articles from journals in Social & Behavioral Sciences, Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering

*Dates available include issues from the current year back to 1995 for most titles

These pages provide concept definitions and subject overviews for researchers who want to expand their knowledge about scholarly and technical terms.

Each synopsis provides a series of short, authoritative, excerpts from highly relevant book chapters written by subject matter experts in the field.

These topic summaries are derived from Elsevier encyclopedias, reference works and books.

The Springer eJournal collection includes around 2000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.

JSTOR Sustainability is a collection of journals, e-books, and research reports that provide multiple perspectives on environmental issues. The collection covers over 20 disciplines, including the Biological Sciences, Business & Economics, Ecology, Environmental Sciences, Law, Public Health, and Urban Studies.

The Sustainability collection on JSTOR is a growing and highly interdisciplinary set of content. The collection includes:

More than 140 journals in the core disciplines of environmental studies, business & economics, law, environmental science, aquatic and biological sciences, ecology, and urban studies and the built environment.

5,000 research reports from a minimum of 40 leading think tanks around the world (2,000 available now, more coming later in 2017-2018). The often hard-to-find research reports will include policy briefs, technical papers, white papers, and discussion papers from government agencies, non-governmental organizations, corporations, policy institutions, and academic centers.

10 open access journals (two available in early 2017, more coming soon)

More than 350 scholarly ebooks spanning the wide ranges of disciplines in the collection.

*Formerly titled History Resource Center: U.S

*Approximately 100,000 pages of more than 1000 primary documents

*Nearly 100 scholarly full-text journals, as well as citations from 180 titles

*Contains more than 2,000 images and maps

*Lists citations for millions of articles and full-text from over 200 periodicals

*Covers science, technology, medicine, and humanities

*Contains articles from 1996 to date

*Formerly titled History Resource Center: World

*Contains approximately 100,000 pages of more than 1300 primary documents

*Contains nearly 100 scholarly full-text journals, as well as citations from 180 titles

*Covers world history from B.C. to the present

*Contains approximately 1400 images and maps