*Current editions of Annual Reviews (2009-present) are provided as well as editions from the Annual Reviews Electronic Back Volume Collection (EBVC).
*Content dates range from 1932-present
*The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, and historical sociology.
*All subjects: Over 100,000 online titles
*Books formerly from NetLibrary can only be viewed by one person at a time and can be actively viewed (turning pages, searching within the full-text, etc.) in 15-minute increments. (If you are not actively viewing the item, it returns to the list for someone else to view).
*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 86,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.
*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
*ebrary is a collection of around 109,000 electronic books provided by Felix G. Woodward Library. The content for this collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and all the titles within this collection can be searched simultaneously. Access is provided to these titles through the link above as well as through the Austin Library Catalog.
Most ebrary titles include unlimited access and can be downloaded by chapter in PDF format or in full through Adobe Digital Editions or apps for iOS and Android. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebrary for more info.
Around 300 titles may have limited access and only allow 1 user to open the the book at a time (download option not available). Follow the guidelines at the bottom of this text for these titles*.
NOTE: To use this web site you must have browser cookies enabled. If you have pop-up blockers installed, you may need to turn them off for "site.ebrary.com", "ebrary.com", and "primis.ebrary.com" or the site may not function properly.
*There is no time limit for reading a limited ebrary book. However, if another user wants to use the book and places it in their queue, it will be passed on to the next user in the queue after 15 minutes of inactivity. (Being active means turning pages, doing full-text searches, making notes, etc).
*Encyclopedia Britannica Online contains more than 73,000 articles and provides access to the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year. *
*Additionally, Encyclopedia Britannica Online has an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected that are rated and reviewed by Britannica editors.
A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. The database contains more than 350,000 records, some dating back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.
*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource
*Provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources
*Retrospective coverage as far back as 1982, full-text since 1994
*Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
*Website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. It lists over 30,000 free books on the Web.
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
*Oxford Reference Online contains the full text of 135 reference books from Oxford University Press. The wide range of quality sources cover all subjects.
*Oxford Reference Online is useful for looking up information you would find in encyclopedias and dictionaries (including foreign language dictionaries), as well as finding more in depth information in sources such as The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature and The Oxford Guide to the United States Government.
*Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)
*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.
*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.
*Student Resources In Context is an excellent general database designed to meet the cross-curricular needs of high school students.
*Student Resources in Context offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards.
*Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, Student Resources in Context provides a premium selection of reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, reference works, and multimedia (including hours of video, audio clips and podcasts).
*Student Resources in Context provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating a multitude of content, including:
-79,000 reference articles from acclaimed publications like American Decades
-15 million periodical and newspaper articles from the New York Times, U.S. News and World Report, and many others
-4,200 primary sources
-100,000 multimedia records, including charts, graphs, maps and tables
-Video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources
*WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries near your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many kinds of digital content.
*This edition of WorldCat, provided through OCLC FirstSearch, enables users to search multiple terms in specific fields (title, author, subject, etc.) and limit by characteristics such as format, date, or audience level.
A free version is available at http://www.worldcat.org/