Culinary Arts Research Guide: Article Databases

*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, government publications, and books

*covers agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and plant sciences

*covers items published from 1970 to present

Focuses on all aspects of cooking and nutrition with thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications covering the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.

*lists citations and summaries of journal articles, government publications, and books

*covers agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and plant sciences

*covers items published from 1970 to present

*provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from hundreds of sources
*covers agriculture, biology, ecology, botany, zoology, food science, and more
*retrospective coverage as far back as 1983, full-text since 1997

Focuses on all aspects of cooking and nutrition with thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.

*includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more

*provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records

*The ability to "search for full-text" at Woodward Library is enabled

* lists citations and summaries of articles and entire text of some articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, pamphlets, and reference books

*covers fitness, medicine, nutrition, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs

*covers items published in the last four years

*included are:

health/medical journals
health care general interest publications
topical overviews from Clinical Reference Systems
PDR Family Guides
Gale encyclopedias
other reference sources

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications covering the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.

Gale InfoTrac Power Packs are subsets of periodicals found in the Academic OneFile and General OneFile Databases. Each subject specific PowerPack Collection has the content needed by a unique category of researcher. This collection also contains some unique content not available within the databases listed above.

The Springer eJournal collection includes around 2000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.

*The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection is comprised of all the electronic titles from the publisher ABC-CLIO for which Austin Peay State University has purchased access.

*The "Search" option in the upper-left enables you to search through the text in all the listed volumes.

*You can also can click on any individual title to browse the contents or conduct a search.

*contains indexing for 8,200 publications

*contains full text for more than 4,650 titles

*PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over 100 journals

Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, history, business, counseling, dance, ethnic studies, gay and lesbian studies, film, opera, religion, theatre, and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. Publishers include A&E, Bullfrog Films, HISTORY®, Sony Pictures Classics, BroadwayHD™, 60 Minutes, PBS, BBC, Milestone Films and many more.


*Complete details for Academic Video Online: Premium including a full bibliography can be found at www.alexanderstreet.com/avon . A guide is available at http://proquest.libguides.com/AVON

Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

CQ Researcheris an award winning publication that’s been around for more than 90 years. It provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research

*contains articles reviewing the history, statistics, and pro/con viewpoints of current-interest topics

*covers a wide variety of topics and the Issue Tracker feature allows you to track the progress of an issue through several decades

*articles published 1923 to present

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Subject coverage
• Business and Economics
• Medical Sciences
• Science
• Technology
• Agriculture
• Social Sciences
• Arts
• Humanities

*links to journals with free full-text articles

*covers all subjects

*covers articles from the mid-1990's to the present

*Formerly known as ebrary, eBook Central (Academic Complete) is a collection of around 134,000 electronic books provided by Felix G. Woodward Library. The content for this collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and all the titles within this collection can be searched simultaneously. Access is provided to these titles through the link above as well as through the Austin Library Catalog.

Most eBook Central titles include unlimited access and can be downloaded by chapter in PDF format or in full through Adobe Digital Editions or apps for iOS and Android. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebrary for more info.

Around 300 titles may have limited access and only allow 1 user to open the the book at a time (download option not available). Follow the guidelines at the bottom of this text for these titles*.

*There is no time limit for reading a limited ebrary book. However, if another user wants to use the book and places it in their queue, it will be passed on to the next user in the queue after 15 minutes of inactivity. (Being active means turning pages, doing full-text searches, making notes, etc).

*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 161,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.

*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks

A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. The database contains more than 350,000 records, some dating back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.

*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.

*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource

One-stop source for magazine and journal articles covering general interest topics along with reference, newspaper, and audio content. With millions of articles available, Gale General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

*General OneFile lists citations and summaries of most articles and entire text of many articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. All subjects are covered.

*Periodicals included are:

social science journals
humanities journals
science and technology journals
national news periodicals
general interest magazines
The New York Times

Use this link to access Google Scholar and links to "Search for Full Text at APSU Library" will be available in the search results.


Features of Google Scholar:

*Search all scholarly literature from one convenient place
*Explore related works, citations, authors, and publications
*Locate the complete document through your library or on the web
*Keep up with recent developments in any area of research
*Check who's citing your publications, create a public author profile

*Lists citations and summaries from over 18,000 English language periodical articles

*Covers all subjects

*Articles from 1988 to date

*Most articles available by fax at your own expense, or free from another library using the ILL service

*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals

*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.

Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection

Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
19th-Century Music
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Ethnomusicology
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
Mathematics Magazine
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Social Problems
Teaching Children Mathematics

*Provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources

*Retrospective coverage as far back as 1982, full-text since 1994

*Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.

*Website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. It lists over 30,000 free books on the Web.

*OATD is an index of over 1.6 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

*The full text of all papers lives on the original hosting site, usually the repository of the university that granted the degree.

*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art, or liberal arts courses.

*Gale InfoTrac PowerPack collection that provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course.

*The date range for this database is 1980 to present.

Chosen by public library search results, titles are
compiled by what users are searching for
most. Six hundred of the more than 1,000 titles
are recommended in Bowker’s Magazines for
Libraries.

*Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.

*Updated continually.

Gale’s Research In Context is a cross-disciplinary resource targeted to Middle Schoolers and supportive to the other ends of the K-12 spectrum spanning literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. Students in grades 6 to 8 will benefit from an interface that delivers the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users combined with the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.

*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)

*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.

*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.

*9 journals ranked #1 in their categories.

The Springer eJournal collection includes around 2000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering, medicine, business, philosophy, and the social sciences.

*World Book Online provides access to the following sections:

Early Learning,

World Book Kids,

World Book Discover,

World Book Student,

World Book Advanced,

World Book Timelines,

World Book EBooks,

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

*WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries near your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many kinds of digital content.

*This edition of WorldCat, provided through OCLC FirstSearch, enables users to search multiple terms in specific fields (title, author, subject, etc.) and limit by characteristics such as format, date, or audience level.

A free version is available at http://www.worldcat.org/

WorldCat Discovery is a search system that helps researchers find resources available at APSU Library and in libraries worldwide through a single search. It offers search results similar to what can be found in Google Scholar, but it has more advanced searching features and customized options for APSU library holdings. Features of the service include:

*Single entry point for searching many library databases at once, including the APSU Library catalog (Austin)
*Searches also include results from the WorldCat central index of over 3 billion journal articles and 40 million eBooks (along with many other types of content).
*Results can be limited to only contain materials with print and electronic full-text available from APSU library
*Ability to limit searches by date, source type, subject, and content provider
*Option to limit search results for peer reviewed articles
*The WorldCat provider (OCLC) works with more than 370 publishers and content partners from around the world, including ProQuest, EBSCO, Gale, and Elsevier.