Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
Provides access to three databases containing more than 6 million abstracts: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and Geophysics, and the arXiv.org preprints in Astronomy
The main body of data in the ADS consists of bibliographic records, which are searchable through our Abstract Service query forms, and full-text scans of much of the astronomical literature which can be browsed though our Browse Service
Click on the Journal Abbreviation List to see a full list of journals and their abbreviations.
The full-text scans available in the ADS can be browsed through the ADS Browse Service.
*SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Network) is an abstract database provided by the American Institute of Physics. It provides the most current indexing and abstracting of major American and Russian physics and astronomy journals.
*Covers items published from 1830 to the present
Subscribed Titles: American Journal of Physics & The Physics Teacher
Contains newspapers, newswires, and transcripts from World news, U.S. news, Tennessee news, college & university newspapers, and more
*This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
*Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Britannica Academic includes the combination of the insightful Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Start with the encyclopedia. Move on to the atlas, biographies, e-books, news, multimedia, and more.
Access to the World Data Analyst databases is also available here, combining detailed statistics with powerful tools for analysis and display. This resource features a unique collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create comparative charts and tables.
*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 161,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.
*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
Electronic Book Collection containing over 100,000 titles as of January 2014. Most can be downloaded to PC, iOS, or Android.
*ebrary is a collection of around 109,000 electronic books provided by Felix G. Woodward Library. The content for this collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and all the titles within this collection can be searched simultaneously. Access is provided to these titles through the link above as well as through the Austin Library Catalog.
Most ebrary titles include unlimited access and can be downloaded by chapter in PDF format or in full through Adobe Digital Editions or apps for iOS and Android. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebrary for more info.
Around 300 titles may have limited access and only allow 1 user to open the the book at a time (download option not available). Follow the guidelines at the bottom of this text for these titles*.
NOTE: To use this web site you must have browser cookies enabled. If you have pop-up blockers installed, you may need to turn them off for "site.ebrary.com", "ebrary.com", and "primis.ebrary.com" or the site may not function properly.
*There is no time limit for reading a limited ebrary book. However, if another user wants to use the book and places it in their queue, it will be passed on to the next user in the queue after 15 minutes of inactivity. (Being active means turning pages, doing full-text searches, making notes, etc).
Records for over 350,000 doctoral theses from UK institutions (many full text)
A cooperative project of the British Library, higher education institutions in Britain, and the Center for Research Libraries, EThOS serves as a gateway to theses written in the UK. The database contains more than 350,000 records, some dating back to the 17th century, and a growing number of theses have been digitized for immediate delivery via the web.
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.
*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource
Multiple Subjects including history, literature, biology, political science, communication, business, and African-American studies
*Contains the full text of articles from scholarly journals
*Articles published from early 1900s to 2 or 3 years ago.
Austin Peay State University currently participates in the following JSTOR Collection(s):
Biological Sciences Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Arts & Sciences I Collection
Arts & Sciences II Collection
Arts & Sciences III Collection
Arts & Sciences IV Collection
Arts & Sciences V Collection
Arts & Sciences VI Collection
Arts & Sciences VII Collection
Arts & Sciences VIII Collection
Arts & Sciences IX Collection
Arts & Sciences X Collection
Arts & Sciences XI Collection
Arts & Sciences XII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIII Collection
Arts & Sciences XIV Collection
Arts & Sciences XV Collection
Austin Peay State University also subscribes to the following individual journal(s):
The American Biology Teacher
The American Mathematical Monthly
The College Mathematics Journal
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education
The Mathematics Teacher
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School
Teaching Children Mathematics
*Provides access to full text articles, page images, article abstracts, and citations from thousands of sources
*Retrospective coverage as far back as 1982, full-text since 1994
*Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
*Website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. It also aims to encourage the development of such online books, for the benefit and edification of all. It lists over 30,000 free books on the Web.
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
*Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Search encyclopedias and dictionaries covering all subjects simultaneously
*Oxford Reference Online contains the full text of 135 reference books from Oxford University Press. The wide range of quality sources cover all subjects.
*Oxford Reference Online is useful for looking up information you would find in encyclopedias and dictionaries (including foreign language dictionaries), as well as finding more in depth information in sources such as The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature and The Oxford Guide to the United States Government.
*Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 500+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Research designed for Junior High and middle school students in grades 6-8
Gale’s Research In Context is a cross-disciplinary resource targeted to Middle Schoolers and supportive to the other ends of the K-12 spectrum spanning literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. Students in grades 6 to 8 will benefit from an interface that delivers the highly visual design and navigation preferred by younger users combined with the authoritative content and user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.
Electronic access to over 800 peer-reviewed, full-text journals on a variety of topics, with content dating back to 1999.
*High-quality, interdisciplinary content – almost two thirds of the content in the SAGE Premier package is ranked in the 2011 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2012)
*15 journals received their first Impact Factor with the 2011 report and 7 journals increased their Impact Factors.
*SAGE is market leader (by number of ranked titles) in 6 key disciplines including Criminology & Penology; Education, Special; Social Issues; Social Sciences, Interdisciplinary; Sociology and Urban Studies.
High School level research on all topics with multimedia
*Student Resources In Context is an excellent general database designed to meet the cross-curricular needs of high school students.
*Student Resources in Context offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards.
*Covering all core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, Student Resources in Context provides a premium selection of reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, reference works, and multimedia (including hours of video, audio clips and podcasts).
*Student Resources in Context provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating a multitude of content, including:
-79,000 reference articles from acclaimed publications like American Decades
-15 million periodical and newspaper articles from the New York Times, U.S. News and World Report, and many others
-4,200 primary sources
-100,000 multimedia records, including charts, graphs, maps and tables
-Video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources
*WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries near your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many kinds of digital content.
*This edition of WorldCat, provided through OCLC FirstSearch, enables users to search multiple terms in specific fields (title, author, subject, etc.) and limit by characteristics such as format, date, or audience level.
A free version is available at http://www.worldcat.org/