LibGuides: History (U.S.) Research Guide: Find Books

Find Books and Videos

CLASS E-F - HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

Class E

E11-143 -- America
E51-101 -- Pre-Columbian America. The Indians
E101-135 -- Discovery of America and early explorations
E186-199 -- Colonial history (1607-1775)
E201-298 -- The Revolution, 1775-1783
E300-453 -- Revolution to the Civil War, 1775/1783-1861
E311-320 -- Washington's administrations, 1789-1797
E331-337 -- Jefferson's administrations, 1801-1809
E333 -- Purchase of Louisiana, 1803.
E381-385 -- Jackson's administrations, 1829-1837
E401-415.2 -- Mexican War, 1846-1848
E456-655 -- Civil War period, 1861-1865
E456-459 -- Lincoln's administrations, 1861-April 15, 1865
E461-655 -- The Civil War, 1861-1865
E482-489 -- Confederate States of America
E714-735 -- War of 1898 (Spanish-American War)
E756-760 -- Theodore Roosevelt's administrations, September 14, 1901-1909
E766-783 -- Wilson's administrations, 1913-1921
E806-812 -- Franklin Delano Roosevelt's administrations, 1933-April 12, 1945
E813-816 -- Truman's administrations, April 12, 1945-1953
E835-837.7-- Eisenhower's administrations, 1953-1961
E841-843 -- Kennedy's administration, 1961-November 22, 1963
E846-851 -- Johnson's administrations, November 22, 1963-1969
E855-861 -- Nixon's administrations, 1969-August 9, 1974
E872-875 -- Carter's administration, 1977-1981
E876-880 -- Reagan's administrations, 1981-1989

Class F

F1-975 -- United States local history
F1-105 -- New England
F106-206 -- Atlantic coast. Middle Atlantic States
F206-295 -- The South. South Atlantic States
F296-350.4 -- Gulf States. West Florida
F350.5-395 -- Mississippi River and Valley. Middle West
F396-475 -- Old Southwest. Lower Mississippi Valley
F431-445 -- Tennessee
F476-550 -- Old Northwest. Northwest Territory
F590.3-596.3 -- The West. Trans-Mississippi Region. Great Plains
F721-785 -- Rocky Mountains. Yellowstone National Park
F786-850 -- New Southwest. Colorado River, Canyon, and Valley
F850.5-951 -- Pacific States

For a complete listing of all LC Call Numbers, go to the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search libraries around the world
*WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries near your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also discover many kinds of digital content.

*This edition of WorldCat, provided through OCLC FirstSearch, enables users to search multiple terms in specific fields (title, author, subject, etc.) and limit by characteristics such as format, date, or audience level.

A free version is available at http://www.worldcat.org/

WorldCat

WorldCat
Search libraries around the world

Resources with Electronic Books

Many of the books in these collections will appear in search results from the catalog search above. They may also be searched individually using the links provided below.

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of Electronic Books on various subjects
*The ABC-CLIO eBook Collection is comprised of all the electronic titles from the publisher ABC-CLIO for which Austin Peay State University has purchased access.

*The "Search" option in the upper-left enables you to search through the text in all the listed volumes.

*You can also can click on any individual title to browse the contents or conduct a search.
eBook Collection: EBSCO (Academic Collection, TBR subject collections, and titles formerly in NetLibray COMBINED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
*This growing subscription package (EBSCO Academic collection) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 161,000 titles are included in this package, and additional titles are added to the package each month. Also included in this collection are thousands of previously purchased NetLibrary eBooks from the SoliNet shared collections. NetLibrary was purchased by EBSCO in 2010.

*Books in the Academic Collection have unlimited access and many can be downloaded for offline viewing. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebsco_ebooks
Ebook Central (Academic Complete) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic Book Collection containing over 134,000 titles as of October 2016. All titles can be viewed online and most downloaded to PC, iOS, or Android.
*Formerly known as ebrary, eBook Central (Academic Complete) is a collection of around 134,000 electronic books provided by Felix G. Woodward Library. The content for this collection covers a wide variety of subject areas and all the titles within this collection can be searched simultaneously. Access is provided to these titles through the link above as well as through the Austin Library Catalog.

Most eBook Central titles include unlimited access and can be downloaded by chapter in PDF format or in full through Adobe Digital Editions or apps for iOS and Android. See http://libguides.apsu.edu/ebrary for more info.

Around 300 titles may have limited access and only allow 1 user to open the the book at a time (download option not available). Follow the guidelines at the bottom of this text for these titles*.

*There is no time limit for reading a limited ebrary book. However, if another user wants to use the book and places it in their queue, it will be passed on to the next user in the queue after 15 minutes of inactivity. (Being active means turning pages, doing full-text searches, making notes, etc).
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America from 1473-1700
*contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America

*Date range for publications is 1473-1700.

*includes prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations, almanacs, calendars, and many other primary resources

*Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All subjects (Encyclopedias & Reference)
*Gale Virtual Reference Library delivers a wealth of electronic reference content in a database format.

*The sources that Gale Virtual Reference Library offers in eBook format include multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.

*A list of titles accessible to APSU is available within the resource
World Book Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia
*World Book Online provides access to the following sections:

Early Learning,

World Book Kids,

World Book Discover,

World Book Student,

World Book Advanced,

World Book Timelines,

World Book EBooks,

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

Ask The InfoHub

To view chat hours, submit an e-mail question, or view other contact options, please visit the Ask the InfoHub webpage.

Research Appointment

Are your searches not yielding the results you expected? Are you having trouble finding the information you need? You may schedule a private consultation with a librarian to obtain assistance with developing strategies for your research.

Research Consultation Request